We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay...with a great view and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Ca del Lago
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay...with a great view and great staff”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed 4 nights early October and had a fantastic stay. Accommodation was spotless and the staff very friendly and happy to assist.

We paid 10euros each for the breakfast on our first day as a treat - it was a continental breakfast with fresh fruit, yoghurt, cheeses, meats and fresh bread to chose from. We did then opt to visit the local bakery and buy own bread,cheese yoghurts etc and make our own at half the cost-but that is down to personal choice and as you're on holiday you may wish to treat yourself every day !!! We enjoyed our breakfast on our balcony soaking up the magnificent lake view.

The boats in October are minimal with only the car ferry running which you can use to get across to the other side of lake and visit Maderno - sorry cant comment on Maderno as never took the trip.

As there is a limited boat service, the bus service is excellent. We took the bus to Verona which was just over 1 hour and cost less than 10euro's each return - its best to buy your tickets in advance at the local tobacco shop which is right at the bus stop. Verona is well worth a visit.

We also took the bus to Malcesine (20-25mins) which is another popular place to visit in Lake Garda, there are many coffees shops and bars/restaurants to chose from to just sit and admire the view from. You can also take a boat trip from Malcesine over to Limone.

Torri is quieter than the likes of Malcesine and Garda but has a certian charm to it - and I would highly recommend a visit.

The hotel is up a steep hill but it is a short hill and everyone with a standard fitness level will be able to manage it with no problems. It is a 5min walk down the hill to the lake side where there are again many bars/resturants to chose from to have your pizza/pasta and of course your glass of Aperol Spritz !!

The hotel itself only offers snack food at the bar which was only open till abt 9pm - food includes pizza, panini's and the classic lasagne.

All in all, a pleasant stay, in a quieter location - but with excellent public transport services to be able to go and visit other places nearby if you so wish.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norwichcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    32
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
62
78
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were looking for a family friendly location given we have a 13 month old and were extremely happy with the residence. Positives include Sarah the manager and her team, nothing was too much trouble and they constantly enquired after us, arranged taxi transfers etc.
The residence itself is a 7-10 min walk away from the lake and the restaurants, shops etc. The residence and rooms are reasonably well equipped with baby friendly facilities (ask for high chair, travel cot plus rooms have kitchenette with fridge, cutlery, crockery, two hobs and microwave which made heating milk, preparing baby meals much easier). The residence also has free wi-fi, a small fitness area and washing machine which were all useful. The only minor downsides we found was is that there is no restaurant on site but breakfast can be provided at 10 euro per person which was fine for us as we spent most lunches and dinners out in the town. Additionally, the pool is on the smaller side and unheated but would be fine in summer months.
All in all excellent if you want a relaxed, quiet self catered apartment near the lake and we would recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms are either garden or lake facing so check on booking and checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonTravellerX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Me and my boyfriend have just come back from 4 night here and have to say we would go back! :-) Beautiful hotel.
Staff were amazing! very helpful and friendly.
Rooms were lovely and clean, very spacious. They dont ask for deposits on the safes which was really nice.
Hill was pretty steep but we didnt mind, it helped us work off all the lovely italian pizza and pasta!

Area is lovely and quiet. 5 minute walk down the round and you are right in the middle of the town with little shops and beautiful resturants.

We didnt get into the pool but it looked lovely and relaxing. We didnt get a chance to use the free bikes or sauna though, so cant review on that.

Go here! you will love it :-)

Room Tip: The rooms with a view are beautiful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drcurtis10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here for four nights in early September, a gem of a hotel. Stunning views from the pool and bar, we wished we'd stumped up for a lake view room now!
Nice room, modern and clean with everything we needed.
Just a two minute walk down the hill into Torri del Benaco - a gorgeous little town with loads of bars and restaurants.
Would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

my husband and I stayed a week at Residence Ca del Lago and loved it. We had a balcony with a view, albeit partly obscured by this years growth on the olive trees in front of it. Very friendly service. We liked the bikes that were free to use and fun to cycle to the neighbouring villages. I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: I think the rooms with balcony rather than terrace are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABPH59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We chose this hotel for a number of reasons 1. Location (central to both north and south of lake and ease of getting ferry to west of lake) 2. Italian feel hotel ( prefer when in Italy to feel like I am in Italy and not a busy, noisy commercialised hotel). 3. The view (set back from the coastal road up a hill, so no road noise), 4. Room with view and a balcony (we stayed in a studio lake view which was big enough although storage was lacking a little, needed more draws)

We loved this hotel as it matched all of our requirements above, but the real bonus were the staff, they were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us, they took pride in their work and just want to ensure the customer is happy, also a very personalised and consistant service by all.

If you have the same requirements as above then I would definitely recommend this lovely, clean and friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Number 18 had a big balcony with view and with sun loungers on and sun for most of the day and all e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We booked this hotel because it had only excellent and very good scores on Tripadvisor. We were disappointed.
Here's why:
1. Though we had booked a room with a view, we were offered one without a view, or a shuffle between view/non-view during our stay. Makes quite a difference here, where the view is everything.
2. Pool area quite small and very crowded.
3. The hill you walk up and down to town is very, very steep. Not for the faint hearted, and difficult pushing a small child. And since there is no restaurant on site, and no oven in the rooms, you must walk to town for lunch and dinner. Driving to town is not an option as parking fees are steep.
4. Rooms and fittings are average and nowhere near five star as has been suggested in other reviews.

All that said, the staff were very helpful and friendly. We just can't see what all the fuss is about as this place was just average in our opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - and hope for the best...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mellowdigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torri del Benaco
20.3 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
940 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gardesana
Hotel Gardesana
#1 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
242 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Enjoy Garda Hotel
Enjoy Garda Hotel
#1 of 28 in Peschiera del Garda
881 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Brenzone
Hotel Brenzone
#2 of 29 in Brenzone
297 reviews
20.5 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 33 in Torbole
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Ca del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Ca del Lago

Property: Residence Ca del Lago
Address: Via Gabriele d'Annunzio 17, 37010 Torri del Benaco, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Torri del Benaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Torri del Benaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Ca del Lago 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Residence Ca del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Ca Del Lago Hotel Torri Del Benaco
Residence Ca Del Lago Torri Del Benaco, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing