We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, extremely nice people and great service”
Review of Hotel Al Castello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Al Castello
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Torri del Benaco
Reviewed July 30, 2009

We stayed at Hotel Al Castello for three days in early July. It was great.

The hotel's location is perfect, easy walking distance into Torri del Benaco for dinner every night. It was also directly across from the ferry pier that runs across the lake to Maderno. It's a simple hotel, nothing too fancy, always very clean. Oh, they have a nice little (free) parking lot.

The family who runs the hotel is really what makes it special. Whether we had a question about town, or needed extra towels...or anything...they were always helpful and nice. My wife speaks Italian, but I don't--so whenever they noticed I was interested in the conversation--they would switch to English for my benefit. Very nice.

Breakfast deserves special mention--it was fantastic. They cater to a mostly German crowd, and had the usual juices, fresh breads, jam, meats and cheese buffet set-up. In addition to that, every morning there was a fresh fruit, yogurt and granola table where you could make your own bowl.

They would always come out and offer you an egg (soft boiled or scrambled) and coffee however you wanted it. Being in Italy, the cappuccinos were fantastic.

The town itself was perfect, not as crazy as some of the larger resort towns around Lago di Garda. There were some great restaurants and pizzarias and the sunsets from the Torri side of the lake are spectacular. There are lots of places to sit and enjoy the "scene". One of the nearby piazzas had live music every night--we'd always sit and have a drink at a cafe in the evening.

Also walking distance from the hotel is a brand new "beach walk"...a nicely paved sidewalk that runs south out of town along the shore. It was a great place to explore, and we always found nice little private areas where we could swim in the lake relatively alone.

The whole experience was perfect, I'd recommend Hotel Al Castello to anyone looking for a great little place.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BodenseeAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 70 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2009

This hotel is run by mother and daughter....very nice people. The location is perfect (across from the pier) and in front of the Castello. Our rooms were in front of Lake Garda.!Beautiful at night!!! The staff at Al Castello made our stay very pleasant. Good foot.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HildaMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights attending a wedding in Torri. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough, from the welcome we received when we arrived, to the handshake and goodbye we received when we left, we were so well treated I can't thank Daria enough.
We booked this hotel directly, and at 35 Euros per person per night, this is a bargain for the area. They also book your airport transfers for you if you require them.
Upon arrival, Daria greeted us and knew exactly who we were and had us checked in quickly.
Our room was fairly basic but had everything we needed, but the view was amazing, you can see the lake and the castle. Also you spend very little time in the room as there is plenty to see and do.
On our second morning we were late to breakfast as it was the morning after the wedding, but Daria was still insistent that we should have something before we went out and put on some food and drink for us, we have not been to a hotel like that before!
The resort is very much family orientated and also makes for a very romantic location, defiantly the best of both worlds.
Overall Torri is an amazing place, very relaxing, it has plenty to do and see and the people there are very welcoming, but the hotel and Daria made this trip so much more special

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2009

Have just returned from a week in Torri del Benaco staying at the Hotel al Costello. What a fanastic resort & what a fantastic hotel! This may only be a two star hotel but I doubt you will find a better one in this part of the world unless you spend a huge amount more. Why? Well the staff running the hotel could not be more helpful or friendly; the food is absolutely terrific itallian home cooked fayre; the location is perfect close to the lake, resort centre & the rooms are clean airy & comfortable. What more could you want?
We had a room on the top floor (308) that has a balcony & a great view so if I stay again I would ask for a room on the upper floor.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luxexterior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2008

Having read the reviews of this hotel we were looking forward to staying here but thought perhaps the reviews were a little optimistic. How wrong could we be - the hotel was absolutely great, although basic, but what do you expect for a 2* establishment. It was clean and bright, very welcoming and friendly. The family who own and run the Al Castello were charming and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our flight was delayed but they kept meals for us all (a delicious artichoke lasagne and pannacotta for desert) even though it was well outside their dining hours. The food was excellent throughout and the portions were more than adequate - in fact 3 courses were occasionally too much! The whole experience represented good value for money - it was close to all amenities - and we would certainly recommend the Al Castello to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

I have never written a review on a web site before, but having come back from our brilliant holiday in Torri and stayed at Hotel Castello I really wanted to let other people know considering staying there how great it was.

It isn't a five star luxury hotel, but it is a friendly, family run hotel, the rooms are cleaned every day to a high standard, we were on a half board package and the food was great both at breakfast and dinner including service.

The hotel is centrally located, near waterfront, restaurants and bus routes and the air conditioning is great. I labour this point becuase we went to Torri for a friends wedding so there were a number of guests staying in various hotels in torri some who were paying £200 a night and their air conditioning was switched off at mid night and they were roasting. We had to switch ours off because it was too cold.

The only point i would say is that there are no fridges in the room and when the tempatures are as hot as we expereinced that would have helped, but over all we had a great holiday, the accomodation was great, torri is brillinat and i can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirstyM04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

Having stayed in many 3, 4 and 5 star hotels we werea little concerned about this being a 2/3 star residence, but we need not have been concerned at all the hotel was very clean, staff and owners very friendly, nothing was too much trouble and the food to die for especially mamas home made deserts!!!!! exquisite. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and resort 100%.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandHarrogate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torri del Benaco
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gardesana
Hotel Gardesana
#1 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garni Marina
Hotel Garni Marina
#5 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garni Al Caval
Hotel Garni Al Caval
#15 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Menapace
Hotel Menapace
#20 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Porto
Hotel del Porto
#7 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
126 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Gardenia al Lago
Hotel Gardenia al Lago
#3 of 19 in Gargnano
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Castello

Address: Via Gardesana 58, 37010 Torri del Benaco, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Torri del Benaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torri del Benaco
Price Range: $97 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Castello 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Al Castello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Castello Hotel
Hotel Al Castello Torri Del Benaco, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing