We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Al Castello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Al Castello
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Torri del Benaco
limerick
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel is a 5 minute walk intoTorri De Benaco town if you go to the right and down by the tower, and if you go to the left and over by the Lido hotel there is a nice lakeside area to bring a sunbed and sit down. The bus stop is 5 min walk from the hotel and will bring you to any town on the lake and the ferry is also close by. The hotel staff were very helpful especially Claudia and Nadia and the airport collection they arranged for a small cost was great. You can have a room with a view of the lake if you are prepared to have some noise from the road in front of the hotel as this is the main road around the lake, we had a room at the back which was really quiet and had a view of the trees at the back. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was lovely with a good choice of pastries etc. I know some people wonder about mosquitoes by the lake I brought mosquito repellent and even though I used it and my partner didn't I was bitten twice and he wasn't, while eating out in the evening in the town. We visited in July and we had the aircon on for almost all the time we were there as it was so hot. Overall we were very happy with the hotel and would definitely stay there again.Thank you again to Nadia and Claudia

Room Tip: While the rooms at the back are definitely quieter if you want a lakeside view be prepared for some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elizabethOF-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    17
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

A nice hotel just a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Torri del Benaco. Our room was a good size and had a view over the lake. The breakfasts were very good and there was always freshly prepared fruit and sweet and savoury pastries as well as the usual stuff.

The highlight however was the service, the staff were very friendly and helpful, they kindly kept the reception open late for us because we were arriving late, they found a bigger room for us (although there was nothing wrong with the original room) and they even phoned round other hotels to find accommodation for our relatives.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nick_271828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

We showed up here unannounced and they were able to get us in for 2 nights. I dont know the owner womans name but she was wonderful. Spoke good english and was able to send us to some good places to eat. The rooms were small but clean. Free breakfast everyday was nice. Free WiFi in the lobby. The hotel was just a few minute walk into the town square/harbor. We both absolutely loved this area of italy and hope to go back sometime. Highly Recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank medlhuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

Staff was lovely and friendly. Very fast free wi-fi internet. Best breakfast buffet around. TV-room with sky channels. We had a spacious room with a large balcony, view to the castle and the lake (behind the main street). Location close to the castle and the ferry to Maderno. Good value - definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

Absolutely fantastic hotel! Daria couldn't have been more helpful, rooms were great, roomy and very clean, breakfast was lovely, we even got fresh strawberrys! At the end of the day you can have a drink in the cosy lounge after strolling around beautiful Torri! Perfect location and amazing value for money, what more could you want from a 2* hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2009

stayed at this lovely little hotel for a week, to attend a wedding. we have never been to italy before the resort itself is beautiful . the hotel is wonderful the rooms are basic but spotless and the family are great nothing is too much trouble for them and they go out of their way to make sure you have a good holiday.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzileeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

We stayed at Hotel Al Castello for three days in early July. It was great.

The hotel's location is perfect, easy walking distance into Torri del Benaco for dinner every night. It was also directly across from the ferry pier that runs across the lake to Maderno. It's a simple hotel, nothing too fancy, always very clean. Oh, they have a nice little (free) parking lot.

The family who runs the hotel is really what makes it special. Whether we had a question about town, or needed extra towels...or anything...they were always helpful and nice. My wife speaks Italian, but I don't--so whenever they noticed I was interested in the conversation--they would switch to English for my benefit. Very nice.

Breakfast deserves special mention--it was fantastic. They cater to a mostly German crowd, and had the usual juices, fresh breads, jam, meats and cheese buffet set-up. In addition to that, every morning there was a fresh fruit, yogurt and granola table where you could make your own bowl.

They would always come out and offer you an egg (soft boiled or scrambled) and coffee however you wanted it. Being in Italy, the cappuccinos were fantastic.

The town itself was perfect, not as crazy as some of the larger resort towns around Lago di Garda. There were some great restaurants and pizzarias and the sunsets from the Torri side of the lake are spectacular. There are lots of places to sit and enjoy the "scene". One of the nearby piazzas had live music every night--we'd always sit and have a drink at a cafe in the evening.

Also walking distance from the hotel is a brand new "beach walk"...a nicely paved sidewalk that runs south out of town along the shore. It was a great place to explore, and we always found nice little private areas where we could swim in the lake relatively alone.

The whole experience was perfect, I'd recommend Hotel Al Castello to anyone looking for a great little place.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BodenseeAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torri del Benaco hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gardesana
Hotel Gardesana
#1 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
2.4 mi away
Albergo del Garda
Albergo del Garda
#18 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Pai
Hotel Pai
#2 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baia dei Pini
Hotel Baia dei Pini
#10 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garni Marina
Hotel Garni Marina
#3 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Fraderiana
Hotel Fraderiana
#21 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Castello

Property: Hotel Al Castello
Address: Via Gardesana 58, 37010 Torri del Benaco, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Torri del Benaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torri del Benaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Castello 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Al Castello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Castello Hotel
Hotel Al Castello Torri Del Benaco, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing