We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A welcome early holiday.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ristorante Benacus

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torri del Benaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ristorante Benacus
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Torri del Benaco
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A welcome early holiday.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

First visit to Lake Grada & found it enchanting. Easy to get round made all the easier by the position of Hotel Benacus. Easy flat walking didtance to the centre & bus stops. Family run hotel with excellent food & plenty of it. Good wine list too (most important) The family went out of their way to assist & as my husband had a short session of labarynthitus he HAD to stay in bed. They looked after him well as he insisted I went out. Wonderful lake indeed, lovely pool & the staff were friendly the whole of our week, nothing was too much. Next time I visit (& there will be a next time) I will book a rear room though, as the road is somewhat noisey at the front. We did go out to eat 1 night for a change(always do) but wished we had stayed at the hotel. A trip to the Dolomites is a MUST if you only go on 1 trip, make it that - oooh & a trip rpound the lake oooh & a visit to other towns, oooh & a visit to the castles - ok enough. Its a GREAT place to go in my opinion.

Room Tip: I shall choose a rear room when I return.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Iginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have been to this hotel for the past 4 years holidays and enjoyed our stay very much. The family are hard working and friendly.The menu at mealtimes is varied and changes daily.Torri is well situated at the east side of lake Garda, and is close to the larger towns of Malcesine, Bardaleno,and Garda.The bus service is frequent and it is easy to travel to Verona or even Venice. The swimming pool is well maintained and kept spotlessly clean. The town harbour is a lovely setting and nice to stroll around in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomas f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Lovely hotel and would recommend it in a second to anyone who was considering staying on Lake Garda. Stayed here in August and have to say fantastic family owned hotel. Lake view absolutely wow so the extra cost well worth it. This is the first holiday we have stayed half board and have to say that if we thought the food would be up to this standard again then definitely a consideration for the future. Staff very friendly and service first class. The family who own this hotel must be so so proud. Most other reviews mention the lack of air conditioning, the busy road and swimming caps so you know what you're getting.
Lake Garda itself absolutely beautiful and couldn't believe how clean it is. Nothing better than watching the local kids fishing and swimming on the lake. Thoroughly recommend a holiday here. One of the prettiest places we have ever been and public transport great for getting about.

Room Tip: Lake view a must but can be a bit noisy from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LYNN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Sodbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

My sister and I stayed at this hotel and our holiday was fantastico! The hotel is within 5 minutes flat walk of Torri del Benaco, a lovely town with a small picturesque harbour on the east side of the lake. The main part of town is traffic free with lots of cafes/bars to enjoy with a good walkway overlooking the lake. We explored other towns via the ferries, buses and taxis, walked for miles and thoroughly enjoyed bargaining in the markets! The hotel is run by two very hard working families who are all very friendly and extremely helpful. The home cooked food is superb with a 4 course dinner (good choice and variety) and a plentiful buffet-style breakfast. The terrace is very pretty, lovely to sit in and relax at any time of day. The pool and garden are also very pleasant. The hotel is very clean and has a tranquil ambience. I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return. Thank you to everyone at the hotel for making our holiday so enjoyable.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front overlook the lake but face the sun (no a/c) and are near the road. The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AJHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and we had a great experience! We were really pleasantly surprised as soon as we stepped into the hotel entrance. Very clean, Well presented and a lovely traditional style. The man on reception was very friendly and showed us to our room. We chose a lake view room, which, although wasn't massive, was perfectly adequate. (besides, who spends their time at lake Garda in their hotel room the whole time?!). We read reviews before we booked, so were fully aware that there wouldn't be air con. So we came fully prepared and packed a portable fan with us, which helped. We stayed in mid-August, so the temperature was in the late 20's. The food at the hotel was fantastic. We were given a choice every morning as to what we would like for our 2 courses and we made our selection for that evening. There were a variety of choices each time to choose from. The food was well presented, very tasty, and we can safely say we enjoyed every single meal we ate at the hotel. We tried some very traditional dishes, as well as some adventurous ones too! We could not fault the table service, always efficient, friendly and polite. Dessert was yummy, with a wide selection to choose from.

Because we had a lake view, you could hear the traffic noise from the main road outside. But as mentioned before, we were fully prepared for this from reading reviews beforehand. The noise wasn't too bad. And did not keep us up at night. We both believe that having a stunning lake view and mountain scenery to look out onto, completely compensated for a bit of traffic noise.

The pool was a good size, and was nice and quiet. We didn't mind wearing the swimming caps as it meant the pool was more hygenic. The pool was higher than the road, and was very well sheltered, so we were not overlooked by the cars.

The hotel location was excellent. Only a short walk to the main promenade. The main road diverts off and so the promenade is free from traffic and noise. There is lovely harbour and castle. And lots of benches along the paths to sit and admire the beautiful scenery. There are lots of lovely cafes and restaurants too. The main part of the town is very traditional, with lots of side streets and quirky archways and alleys... which looks beautiful when the paths are lit up at night.

We booked 2 excursions prior to arriving in Lake Garda. They were early starts, and the hotel staff allowed us to come down to breakfast earlier than the set time. They were very accomodating, and had breakfast prepared ready for us.

The first excursion was to the dolomites. The coach picked us up directly outside the hotel. It was a long coach trip, but we had a couple of stops on the way, which allowed us to take in some sites away from Lake Garda. The coach trip was definitely worth it. When we got to the dolomites, we took a cable car up to the highest point (3000 metres above sea level). It was breathtaking and absolutely stunning, we would definitely recommend this excursion! It was a long day though, so be prepared! (7.40am - 7pm)

Our second excursion was a day trip around Lake Garda. Our coach picked us up directly from the hotel and we stopped at 4 places. The tour guide was fun, and informative. We had plenty of time at each stop, to explore the area and to grab a bite to eat.. Having driven around the lake, we both agreed that Torri was definitely the most beautiful place to stay. It is a lot smaller than most of the other towns, and although the other places were not touristy, Torri comes across very much more traditional and quieter.

On the last day our coach transfer to the airport was an early one.. 7am! The hotel staff approached us, as they were aware of the early time and said unfortunately they were unable to provide breakfast, but offered to make a packed lunch for us both to take with us. They made us cheese and ham sandwiches, we had some fruit, and yoghurts. Which was great personal service.

We had a fantastic time here, and the hotel service made it even better. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Only book a lake-view room if you are prepared for some road noise. In our opinion, it is definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SwindonGr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I spent a week in this hotel in July 2012 and what a wonderful experience it was! The family who run this hotel makes guests feel so welcome. We had booked a room with a lake view and on arrival were shown TWO and asked to choose which one we wanted. (How's that for service?) The food was plentiful and delicious.
Torri is a beautiful little town; traffic-free with lots of cafes round its charming little harbour. We have travelled extensively and thought it one of the prettiest places we've visited.
I admit there is traffic noise from the busy road in front of the hotel, but do what I do: Take a box of wax earplugs (available from most chemists) they cut out all noise.
We will be visiting Torri next year and staying at Hotel Benacus.

Brian & Isabel McCann. Scotland.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CannoLanarkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Myself and 2 friend are all 60 this year so we decided to go with our partners to Lake Garda for a week of early celebrations. We picked this hotel as it is a family run hotel and within walking distance to the town. The rooms were very nice and large although if we had visited during the hot summer months we would have probably struggled with the heat as there is no air conditioning, but actually we didn't have a problem. Our room had a balcony and the views across the lake was stunning. Unfortunlatey the rooms at the front are directly onto the main road and the noise can be very disturbing, although we didn't let it upset our holiday. The rooms the back of the hotel are fine so it might be a good idea if the owners installed double glazing to mask the noise. The food was great and we were very impressed. Its a pity there was no tea and coffee facilities in the rooms but this was a minor point. The family themselves were really very nice and helpful.

We did find it strange that the hotel didn't take credit cards (which we didn't know beforehand) and we had to pay our final weeks drinks bill with cash, which did make it very difficult for one couple as they had to draw money from the cash machine.

The pool is quite small but adequate, although it was a bit bizarre that everyone had to wear a swimming cap - not very flattering!! The owners allowed us to take our room towels to the pool which they later replaced with clean towels.

Torri itself is a beautiful small town and easily accessible. The one problem is that the ferry boats only stop there twice a day so you need to take the bus to Garda if you want to go out of the early morning times. The buses only run once an hour and can get very full, so if you can't get on it, there is another hour wait until the next bus. We really enjoyed travelling around the lake on the buses and the ferries but some people may prefer to have the use of a car.

We had a fabulous time and really enjoyed our 60th birthday celebrations, especially as our four other friends had never been to Lake Garda before - this was our third visit. I would definintely go back to this hotel again as its in a very lovely town on the Lakes, although I'd probably book a rear facing room.

Room Tip: If you don't like road noise then I would suggest booking a rear facing room, but then you would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wontstoptravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torri del Benaco hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gardesana
Hotel Gardesana
#1 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Baia dei Pini
Hotel Baia dei Pini
#10 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Al Castello
Hotel Al Castello
#12 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#19 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Pai
Hotel Pai
#2 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Garni Marina
Hotel Garni Marina
#3 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ristorante Benacus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Benacus

Property: Hotel Ristorante Benacus
Address: Via Gardesana, 28, Torri del Benaco, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Torri del Benaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Torri del Benaco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Torri del Benaco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Torri del Benaco
#5 Family Hotel in Torri del Benaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ristorante Benacus 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Hotel Ristorante Benacus Torri Del Benaco, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing