We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel, whenever we visit lake Garda in future this is the hotel we'll stay at”
Review of Hotel del Porto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel del Porto
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Torri del Benaco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Stayed here for a week as was getting married in Torri and were having our reception on the hotels jetty in the evening.

We stayed in room 219 ( a suite) and it was amazing!!! You could sit on the balcony and people watch all day and when lying in bed you overlook the lake. Great way to wake up, with an amazing view of sunshine and mountains. The rooms were very clean and the bathrooms were very modern.

The staff were really friendly and helpful which definitely makes the stay nicer. The freshly cooked omelette in the morning was a great way to start the day. The food at the wedding reception was unbelievably good, all freshly cooked using fresh ingredients. we dined in the restaurant a couple of times and the food was equally as perfect.

Will definitely be staying at this hotel again. Can't praise it and the staff enough.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and have a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete0784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 126 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

This hotel is really nice but very pricey for what you actually get.

The location is great, right on the lake front and in the middle of the action. The rooms were very quirky and beautifully styled especially the bathrooms but some of the junior suites were not as advertised and were very small, so beware when booking.

The restaurant is very nice in the hotel but is again very expensive for what you get. The restaurants along from this hotel provide just as good a lake views and the meals are very nice in those too, so I would suggest eating in one of those.

Breakfast is the usual continental one and is very nice when looking out over the lakes.

One of the reception staff in particular was very rude and often had what looked to be her son running around in the lobby and behind the main desk which wasnt very professional.

All in all its a nice hotel but does have its issues and is probably a bit expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: Hotel Gardensa around the corner looked a better option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Theboymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I'm very surprised by the nice comments I read about this hotel.
Staff is just polite but not very friendly. Our room was very very dark and had no view over the lake.
Bedside tables were slightly dusty.
They generously give you 2 bottles of water for you stay (2 people/5 nights!) The minibar is otherwise absolutely empty.
Breakfast is a complete mess. Tables outside are not very numerous and very close to each other so around 9:30 the first mission is to find a clean table. Tables inside are simply not prepared for breakfast.
We are generally not too fussy with hotels but for this price, it's normal to expect more.
Would certainly not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sissynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Stayed here for our son's wedding. Right on the waterfront. Comfortable, very good food and wide breakfast selection. Nothing was too much trouble for the very friendly staff. Efficient air con but Italy in August was too hot for us. My son got married in the lemon grove at the castle and the evening reception was on the waterfront served by the hotel.

Room Tip: We had family room on top floor. Ideal for us grandparents as we had safe balcony and wonderful view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maryclio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Tori is not in many guides but is a lovely village on the edge of the lake with a lot of character but equally relaxing.

The hotel is situated on the waters edge and clearly has been refurbished to a high standard recently. The room was of a good size and well equiped.

The staff were all very helpful, friendly and efficient.

The food in the restaurant was of a very high standard and the head waiter (Christian) managed the whole operation with great efficiency.

My only complaint was that the service in the bar in the evening was not that good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bendaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We paid €640 for 4 nights B&B here and felt that rate was appropriate for the time of year. Be warned that the train/bus station at Peschiera del Garda is 25 Km away and taxi will cost you €60. There is however a bus service which will take longer but cost you a fraction of the taxi cost, so consider that when booking. The taxi trip took about 40 minutes.

The hotel location couldn't be nicer. The hotel is in an old traditional building yet the internal decor is very smart and stylish.
It overlooks lake garda as it is right on the lakeside and is just 2 or 3 mins walk to the nearest ferry terminals (there are two). It is also just a two minute walk to the wonderful Castello Scaligero. The €3 entrance fee is well worth it for the surrounding views from the ramparts alone and the lemon grove is very special. So by using the ferries or even the bus you have a very good range of places to visit when you are in Torri Del Benaco.

We arrived pretty late (10pm) and even though the restaurant was about to close there was no bother arranging food and wine for us which was delicious. Thank you Romina for arranging that. You get a 10% discount at the restaurant if you are a guest and the food there is excellent. I would say it is probably one of the best restaurants in Torri del Benaco. In the four days we stayed there we did not find any others to surpass it apart from Le Gemme di Artemisia (but that one is not really in Torri, so it does not count in this review)

The room on the second floor was modern, clean, with a seperate dressing room and bathroom. It also had very good air conditioning !! There is no lift to this floor, but that did not matter to us. The view was directly out over the hotels small rooftop terrace and onwards over beautiful Lake Garda. There is a little balcony with two seats and a small coffee table. Perfect !
The room was very well maintained when we were there for 4 nights. On arrival they had left a lovely bottle of Prosecco on Ice for us and on departure they kindly gave us some lovely local wine, some olive oil and a bottle of Limoncello.
There is a fridge in the room which you can use. The hotel has three very good bicycles which are free for use of the guests on a first come, first served basis.
The rooftop terrace can only be accessed by a spiral staircase, but it is a lovely place to sunbathe and watch the world go by.

Staff were friendly, some more than others. Some thought we were German, and this was quite un nerving at times. It is a VERY popular destination for our German "neighbours".

Breakfast was the usual buffet affair with the added element of fresh omlettes cooked right there in the breakfast room by the chef. While this treat was delicious, there was always a queue for it so after day two we stopped asking for it. Coffee was superb, and I drooled every morning in anticipation of my first pot.

We ate in the lakeside restaurant on two nights. On both nights the waiter went out of his way to seat us at a table right beside the water. I could not fault the food or the service. Thank you to the waiters there who were very nice and friendly without being over the top.

In the evening we had some very well made cocktails from the bar and service there was friendly too. For some reason however, after a certain hour at night you cannot charge to your room, which didn't make sense to me, and I had to rely on cash in that case. That is a policy the hotel should re consider.

Overall, I would higly recommend the Hotel del Porto to you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Just had a 5 night stay overall I would say the experience was very good. We arrived by car and used the underground car park 5 mins walk away, we were met on arrival by a hotel porter with a 4 seater golf trolley who carried us and our luggage to the hotel. The hotel location is excellent, right on the front with no traffic, facing west so gets lots of sun and great views over the lake. We had a 3rd floor junior suite with balcony which I thought was fairly priced. The room was a good size, comfortable bed, large bathroom and a nice balcony. Breakfast was good, not excellent and the bar was very reasonably priced. We didn't use the restaurant but thought the menu looked a bit limited, however you get a 10% discount at two restaurants belonging to the hotel in the old town. The Osteria just off the harbour was superb, offering more than the usual tourist menus found elsewhere. I found the staff to be friendly and obliging. Overall I would definitely recommend the Hotel del Porto.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paolos74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torri del Benaco
0 mi away
Hotel Gardesana
Hotel Gardesana
#1 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
295 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
1,195 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hotel Ideal
Hotel Ideal
#3 of 33 in Torbole
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Hotel Acquaviva del Garda
Hotel Acquaviva del Garda
#9 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
850 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hotel Benaco
Hotel Benaco
#8 of 33 in Torbole
232 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#18 of 71 in Malcesine
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Porto

Address: Lungolago Barbarani, 37010 Torri del Benaco, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Torri del Benaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Torri del Benaco
#11 Romantic Hotel in Torri del Benaco
Price Range: $75 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel del Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Porto Torri Del Benaco, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing