We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Slice of Shangri-La”
Review of Casa de Tortugas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chacala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Tortugas
Ranked #4 of 10 Chacala B&B and Inns
Florence, Montana USA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Slice of Shangri-La”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I honestly want to keep this little paradise to myself, but in the interest of promoting business for Casa de Tortugas and the village of Chacala, I have to admit that this is a superb place to stay. The landscaping is so beautiful and the pool is lovely. The rooms are whimsical and artistic. The palapa rooftop patio was a nice, breezy place to do my yoga practice every morning with a fantastic view. We enjoyed the short walk along the beach path to the restaurants and shops. The food in Chacala was very enjoyable and everyone seemed to be friendly and helpful. We can't wait to return, perhaps with friends or more of our family.

Room Tip: The suites are great for one or two people. Any more, and you'd want to rent the first-floor ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pegspony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I adore Casa de Tortugas! I have rented the entire villa to host yoga retreats for the past three years. Everyone has loved the comfortable home on the hillside above the sea and everyone has adored the town. This is charming Mexico where families live the simple life and welcome you with open arms. Tortugas is a welcome change to a hotel with its lush gardens, outdoor balconies and upstairs palaypa (we do yoga up there and watch sunset over the water), infinity pool, comfortable bedding and we all love the outdoor kitchens. This is a place to experience all the comforts at home and feel like a queen. The staff is super friendly and Mari can cook up some of the yummiest local food I've ever had. The staff checks in daily to see if all our needs are taken care of and if we need anything brought back from the big city. All of my students have returned to Chacala and Tortugas for personal vacations. This is a rare find waiting to be enjoyed!

Room Tip: the upstairs king rooms with balconies are all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coloradohotmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

We spent three wonderful days at Casa de Tortugas. It totally exceeded all of our expectations. The room was very clean and comfortable and the bathroom was beautiful. We used the outdoor kitchen and really appreciated everything that was provided for dishes and cookware, basics like salt and napkins, and soap to wash up. The pool was awesome and so clean. I loved the garden. One day we had a friendly giant lizard come sun itself on a rock while we lay in the sun.

Chacala the town was lovely too. Everyone was really nice and we enjoyed eating at Chico's, Las Brisas, and Chac Mool. On Saturday and Sunday the beach filled up with Mexican families and kids. It was cool to experience a place that still seems relatively untouched by large scale tourism, as oppposed to the other towns we visited (San Pancho and Sayulita). I really enjoyed reading the Chacala Story and learning more about the town's history. Nice to leave a copy in the rooms for guests.

We were the only guests during our stay and we felt really lucky to get to have the whole place to ourselves for three days, but I hope and can only imagine that is a rare exception. We honestly could not have asked for a more beautiful and affordable place to unwind and relax for a few days in Mexico.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilyramen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

We loved everything about the trip. The house, room, pool and grounds were beautiful and comfortable. The beach and Marina are a stone’s throw from the house. The town is an easy 5 minute walk from the house. The town is quiet and layed back. The local restaurants and seafood were awesome. The locals are very friendly and helpful with everything from whale watching tours and petroglyph tours to picking a good restaurant. It was great getting up in the morning and the toughest decision to be made is, do I swim in the ocean or the pool?

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2008

Love this place. This was the second time we went for a visit. Took this time some friends of ours from that never been to Mexico. Very relaxing place, very affordable and if you want to get away from the crazy hectic lifestyle of the Bay Area, this is the place for you. I suggest renting the top floor, rooms are spacious, clean and air conditioned with an awesome deck. The house is great to hang out with a group of friends and the pool is what makes this place top notch. If you like to eat, make sure you visit Las Brisas for breakfast/lunch, very friendly people and Mula's for lunch/dinner (Lobster is Super Cheap and EXECELLENT). The last two years family vacations have been to Chacala because the experience at Casa de Tortugas was so relaxing and a great experience for my young daughter to learn about the culture.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Mosquitos
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank abermude17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2008

We spent 10 days here in August and had a great time. Chacala is a gem, probably on the verge of being discovered. But for now, this sleepy little beach village is a treat. The beach and water were un-crowded and wonderful.

Casa de Tortugas was a great place to stay. We had two of the upstairs rooms. They are modern, air conditioned, and nicely designed. The maid came daily and kept everything spotless. When our 10 year old wasn't at the beach, she was in the pool.

There is plenty to do, or you can just hang out and relax. Swimming, snokeling, fishing (have one of the locals take you in a panga!), and surfing are all available. The local restaurants are excellent (we tried them all).

We had a car so could enjoy some of the other sites in Niyarit. We especially enjoyed a day trip to San Blas and the river trip. Great bird watching and even saw some crocodiles.

  • Liked — Location and views.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoveDrums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino,CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2008

Our reservation was confirmed. We paid in advance, in full, to the (wonderful) rental agent. Very shortly before our vacation, she emailed us to say the (unconcerned) owner had rented the house to his friends. They had our money & we had no place to stay. She offered to find us other accomodations, but that close to our departure there really wasn't anything comparable or appealing in our price range in Chacala. She apologized & returned our money, but we had to scramble to rearrange our itinerary & find another place to stay. So beware, it could happen to you, too.

  • Disliked — the owner
Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank elizhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timetoexplore, Public Relations Manager at Casa de Tortugas, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Just a note that since this review, Casa de Tortugas was purchased by new, very involved and customer-service oriented owners. It changed hands in August 2009, and underwent an extensive remodel and upgrade. The owners, the wonderful property manager Javier, and caring housekeeper Mary work very hard to make sure guests have an outstanding experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chacala
0.0 mi away
Decameron Los Cocos
Decameron Los Cocos
#2 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
1,031 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Chacala
Casa Chacala
#2 of 10 in Chacala
23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Brisas Hotel - Restaurant - Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Pacifica B&B
Casa Pacifica B&B
#1 of 10 in Chacala
32 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Tortugas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Tortugas

Property: Casa de Tortugas
Address: Chacala 63715, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Chacala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Chacala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best location in Chacala! Enjoy beautiful ocean views from nearly every room of this lovely, 3 level beachfront property. the first level is a 3-bedroom, 2-bath unit with a large living/dining area and complete kitchen. The 2nd level has 3 units, one-bedroom King suites each with mini fridges, microwave and coffee makers, and a shared lovely outdoor kitchen and large patio with amazing views. Large, gated property with spacious outdoor areas and lovely tropical gardens. Infinity-edge pool with ocean view, beach towels and lounge furniture. Huge top level palapa-covered patio with comfortable Mexican furnishings and sitting areas. New ownership as of August 2009. Entire property underwent a substantial remodel in November 2009. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing