We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay in the jungle and near the beach”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chacala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Majahua Hotel Selva
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chacala
Reviewed November 6, 2010

This is a beautiful, artistic and adventurous place located on a mountainside inside the jungle and near the beach. It is not your typical resort without soul, but rather a place which is truly alive with it's gorgeous surroundings and very much a part of the community in which it resides. When we arrived, the owner had been out planting trees in the nearby village and is clearly a well-respected, integral member of his community. The food was outstanding and we enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancemonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 88 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2010

If you are after a resort with 'make-your-own-omelets', stay in Puerto Vallarta. If you are after a romantic escape that is off the beaten track, this is the place for you. Well appointed on the peninsular overlooking the bay, Majahua is a boutique hotel set amongst the canopy of the trees. The hotel's earthen architectural features compliment the surrounds which features a wonderful restaurant (notify the staff if you intend to dine at night). The owner was charismatic and helpful. Highly recommended for couples you want a romantic and peaceful retreat.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitenoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

It's an incredible place for relaxing and perfect for going with your partner. If you're looking for extreme adventure probably this is not what your looking for, but if you like nature and your wish is to find an exclusive place in an exotic environment, Majahua is just perfect. We came back home really relaxed. My husband and I had been dreaming of having vacations like these for a long time.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hellenmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Majahua in Chacala, Nayarit, Mexico at http://www.majahua.com was a disappointment. We've stayed in +100usd accommodation in Mexico before, but Majahua is run-down and unfriendly. Majahua is not worth the money, although the owner "thinks" he's running a 5 star retreat. The room we had was probably nice when it was built but it needs renovation and deep cleaning. The owner seems nice at first but there are under-laying issues that arose during our stay. We managed to stay the 3 nights which we had paid for up front in cash. Once again don't stay at Majahua. Mar de Jade next door seems a much better option. On a positive note: the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank voyageur336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Pure relaxation and culture. If you're looking for a wild time or great pool scene, no it's not for you but try it, you may love it as much as we did. We had a fantastic time with the peace and quiet. GREAT STAFF/GREAT FOOD! We brought our own wine/drinks to our room and sat outside all night as though we were at our own home.
TIP: bring insect repellent..cocktails, snacks. The town does close fairly early. ALSO, a flashlight.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mama96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2009

This place was very warn out, out of the way and inconvenient to get to the beach, but most importantly the rooms were just unclean and unpleasant. About $150/night was ridiculously overpriced, it was a dirty mexican hotel that shud cost $20. They pretend that its a spa but all that means is that the owner will massage you with her dirty hands for over a $100! The breakfast was horrible, fried eggs on some cheap oil that stunk! my wife asked for a vegetarian omelette - they fried some lettuce for her! Chacala is very nice, stay at a new nice hotel/retreat place next door. it was soooo much nicer!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank borusya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2008

Majahua is a small inn designed by a very creative architect. You can barely see it from the water, but the views from our room were spectacular! Staying at Majahua gives one both a jungle and beach experience. The staff is warm and gracious, and Happy Hour with Jose made for our most happy memories!
Just be prepared for some uphill walking. But it is so worth it - everywhere there are private terraces to gaze out on the blue water, sip a drink, or just read a book. The wildlife just parades by.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chacala
9.6 mi away
Las Cabanas del Capitan
Las Cabanas del Capitan
#1 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
531 reviews
9.6 mi away
Las Casitas
Las Casitas
#13 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
21 reviews
24.4 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sayulita
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Casa Margarita Hotel
Casa Margarita Hotel
#17 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
15 reviews
9.9 mi away
Decameron Los Cocos
Decameron Los Cocos
#2 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
1,052 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Cielo Rojo
Hotel Cielo Rojo
#1 of 4 in San Francisco
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majahua Hotel Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majahua Hotel Selva

Address: | South end of Chacala Bay, Chacala 63715, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Chacala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chacala
Price Range: $118 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Majahua is located by the sea at the south end of Chacala bay built into the flank of the hill. It has magnificent views of the ocean being within a few steps from the sandy beach. In its construction, a mindful effort was made to disturb the natural environment as little as possible.Colored in tones of ochre so that they blend into the terrain;the rooms are constructed so as to follow and fit into the natural inclines of the terrain.Majahua is situated on about 2.5 acres,an exclusive setting for its six guest quarters, their terraces, our restaurant,the Gallery of the Jungle, and an intimate, splendid spa.The jungle-like forest surrounding the buildings has been preserved.The guest quarters provide guests with an ideal place for resting, reading, writing, or meditating without interruptions.Their design is playful and arty, reflecting the whimsy of their creators. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Majahua Hotel Chacala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing