We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A very special place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mar de Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chacala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mar de Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation
Save
You added Mar de Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chacala
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very special place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Everyone and everything at Mar De Jade lends to a mellow stay.Quiet and peaceful at the pool,beach or in the rooms. The food is local organic and delicious.if you want a relaxing recharge vacation this place is perfect.
But you can fish, whale watch or hike to the dormant volcano if you need a break from the R&R!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrambler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    21
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
34
42
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I spent a week at an educational retreat and found that it was incredibly well suited to be in a nourishing and nurturing setting aesthetically, as well as personally. The staff is very competent warm and helpful. The rooms simple but very clean and tastefully decorated. The organic food plentiful and delicious. Having a ocean right there to swim or take a walk on the beach was such a constant reminder of being away from the stresses and strains of daily life. Safe and secure!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Mar de Jade twice and will be returning in November. Mar de Jade is truly a gem in a setting out of paradise.

Fabulous food, excellent accommodations, and service from a staff that is attentive while not be being intrusive.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, the garden suite is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dg2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I've traveled for the better part of the last 30 years and stayed in some truly exceptional properties....but nothing prepared me for this. Beautiful location, wonderful staff, health restoring food, juice, yoga classes etc..... I'm already planning my next trip back. If truly laid back, comfortable stress free is your vacationing vibe - then this is your place and you should hurry to try and get a reservation. Also - while I ordinarily like to avoid meeting folks on vacation....I've met 3 like minded folks on this trip that I'm sure will remain friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our women's yoga group of 8 just spent a week at Mar de Jade. All of us are experienced travellers and we have been to quite a few retreats. Mar de Jade tops them all. The beautiful uncrowded beach, peaceful surroundings and lovely accommodations impressed us very much, but the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was even more amazing. "Dr. Laura" has done a fantastic job with the place and the people she employs. The food was superb - a very generous buffet every day with great variety, all very healthy, and - yes - there was meat too. Wonderful fresh vegetables, juices, soups and fruit. There are beautiful yoga and meeting rooms overlooking the ocean - couldn't think of a more restful place.
Ellen S

Room Tip: The garden rooms are very lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was my second stay at Mar de Jade. It's a lovely spot, and the staff is extremely helpful and personable. The resort funds a day care center in a nearby town, and runs its own organic farm. The food is delicious, although definitely tilted toward the veggie crowd. Our retreat was great and I look forward to the next visit.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lachlan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I went to Mar de Jade for the first time in Feb. 2012 for a woman's retreat and was so impressed by the ambiance and spirit of the place that I returned with my husband just 10 months later to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Mar de Jade is unspoiled, thoughtfully laid out and designed. ... a true escape from the hectic pace of daily life. Tasty healthy food served in a family friendly atmosphere. Plenty to do and see as well as support for quiet, meditation, yoga and pampering if needed. Highly recommended for singles, couples and families in need of a restful, relaxing, restorative vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chacala
9.7 mi away
Las Cabanas del Capitan
Las Cabanas del Capitan
#2 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
21.7 mi away
Hotel Casa San Pancho
Hotel Casa San Pancho
#2 of 5 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
9.4 mi away
Las Casitas
Las Casitas
#12 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
3.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hotel Decameron Los Cocos
Hotel Decameron Los Cocos
#1 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
4.0 of 5 stars 898 reviews
21.7 mi away
Hotel Cielo Rojo
Hotel Cielo Rojo
#1 of 5 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
9.5 mi away
Casa Margarita Hotel
Casa Margarita Hotel
#7 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
4.5 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar de Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar de Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation

Property: Mar de Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation
Address: Mar de Jade #1, Chacala 63715, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Chacala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chacala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mar de Jade (Sea of Jade) is a Retreat, Wellness and Vacation Center hidden away between the tropical jungle and the pristine sandy beach of Chacala, Mexico. This is an open home that offers wellness vacations, transformative retreats, healing Spa treatments, romantic weddings and getaways, and volunteering and learning programs with the local community. "A place to awaken, nurture & share the best within us..." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mar De Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation Hotel Chacala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing