We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful retreat”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chacala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mar de Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chacala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Mar de Jade is a wonderful retreat center on a glorious beach... The rooms are beautiful, the food is fresh, healthy and delicious, much of it grown on a local farm. The studios for meditation, dance, yoga and whatever overlook the ocean ... Truly beautiful! It is run by a woman doctor who uses the proceeds to fund medical projects in the area... IT is truly a magical place...

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LizaDq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 210 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2011

This hotel was the site of a yoga retreat that I took with about 12 other students. It is Mexico, so it won't surprise you that it's kind of a hassle to get to the hotel. Expect delays, confusion at the airport, bumpy roads, crazy drivers, etc. But once you are at the hotel, the staff takes care of all your needs. My luggage didn't arrive until the next day, but the owner brought down clothes for me to wear, yoga outfits, sundresses, etc. She is sooooo nice! The owner's daughter also works there, and her husband (Jorge) was our bartender and "go-to" person. It is a very loving, peaceful place. I highly recommend Mar de Jade. The rooms are very "mexican" in decor, clean and pretty. Tile, wood, bright colors, nice sheets, comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-4 are all king or queen beds with the best views. They all have tubs and showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Had a great stay at Mar de Jade. The food was delicious and healthy. Rooms were nice. If staying, ask for a room with an ocean view--it is worth it. The grounds were beautiful. A great place to relax. Highly recommend the spa at this place.

Room Tip: Ask for Oceaview room. Bring own hair dryer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenbaygirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

arrange the ride from the airport as a share or you could really find it expensive. We split the van with 6 people.

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livingjoyus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

This is my second time coming to Mar de Jade. Sitting at the base of an extinct volcano, it truly is the most wonderfully magical place to come for retreat and rejuvenation of mind, body and soul. The staff is warm, welcoming and always willing to help with anything that you may need. The food is fantastic, mainly vegetarian, all organic and grown on their own organic farm, They accommodate for any food allergy or intolerance. The grounds are well kept and beautiful. 'Jade of the sea'...it is a gem sitting at the edge of the Pacific with it's own beautiful sandy beach where you can walk and play in the surf or ride on the waves having a blast. The yoga room sits on the second floor overlooking the ocean. The spa and body work available is impeccable!

Room Tip: rooms with a patio and ocean view are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnniebellHartford_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Mar de Jade is a passion of its owners and has been for years. That passion resonates in every aspect of the beautiful grounds, delicious organic culinary delights, and incredible friendly service. Oh, and did I mention its right in the middle of paradise. The experience is more like being invited to someone's home and treated with the upmost hospitality.

Mar de Jade also devotes significant resources to community projects and truly embraces the local people and culture. I've been twice and plan to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable and very clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GingaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

The location, the peaceful energy of the place, the philosophy of giving back... these things and more make Mar de Jade a vist that feeds the soul. From the gourmet healthfilled meals to the senic surroundings and ever helpful attitude of the staff, this resort provides respite for body, mind and spirit! We will be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyandLeslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chacala
9.7 mi away
Las Cabanas del Capitan
Las Cabanas del Capitan
#1 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
541 reviews
9.5 mi away
Casa Margarita Hotel
Casa Margarita Hotel
#17 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
15 reviews
10 mi away
Decameron Los Cocos
Decameron Los Cocos
#2 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Hotel Cielo Rojo
Hotel Cielo Rojo
#1 of 4 in San Francisco
190 reviews
24.5 mi away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sayulita
267 reviews
9.7 mi away
Las Casitas
Las Casitas
#12 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar de Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar de Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation

Address: Mar de Jade #1, Chacala 63708, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Chacala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chacala
Price Range: $90 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mar de Jade (Sea of Jade) is a Retreat, Wellness and Vacation Center hidden away between the tropical jungle and the pristine sandy beach of Chacala, Mexico. This is an open home that offers wellness vacations, transformative retreats, healing Spa treatments, romantic weddings and getaways, and volunteering and learning programs with the local community. "A place to awaken, nurture & share the best within us..." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mar De Jade Retreats Wellness Vacation Hotel Chacala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing