We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Karla is a wonderful host”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chacala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Caballito del Mar
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Chacala
Bucerias, Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Karla is a wonderful host”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was my second stay at Casa Caballito. The accommodations are clean, comfortable and welcoming. I travel with 2 goldens and they were as welcomed as me. Karla is a great source of info on the area. I will definitely return for another relaxing stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buceriassally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Chelsea, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

What a place. We had a small apartment with everything you ever needed. Even fresh orange juice brought to us every morning. Beach with hardly nobody there. Lots of little restaurants on the beach. A must see. 8 days of ready and doing nothing....what a pleasure

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We loved Casa Caballito del Mar. The place is clean and very comfortable. We stayed at the Azteca Suite. We really liked it because, even though is a small room, it has everything, AC, clean bathroom, very well decorated. I would definitely go back there. I think the owner, Karla, is a great person, very kind and pleasent.

Room Tip: I recomend it, no doubt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KyleComc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2010

Staying at Karla's Casa Caballito del Mar is the place to begin your first visit to Chacala or spend extended time. It is convient to what is happening in Chacala. Karla is excellent about providing information regarding the places to visit, local activities and the place to meet other visitors to and locals in Chacala.
The rooms are clean and well kept and and an enjoyable place to share her beautifully maincured garden of local flowers, shrubs and trees.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank BKB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Very nice, very clean, nicely decorated suites. Fabulous upstairs patio with great views. The owner, Karla, is truly one of the nicest people I've ever met. She has a lot of knowledge about the area and is happy to share. There are Friday night get togethers, so you can meet the locasl and other fellow travelers. Chacala is blessed to have Karla and Casa Caballito Del Mar as part of the community.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank barbdivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

We spent 2 weeks at Casa Caballito del Mar in Chacala Mexico and had a super relaxing time. The Mexicana Suite we stayed in was roomy and comfortable. We had coffee every morning out on the deck outside our suite or up on the rooftop. The gardens were beautifully kept with native trees and plants. Our accommodations were a couple blocks from the beach where we spent hours every day in the warm water and building the obligatory sand castles. The beach was never too crowded and of course the bars/restaurants were conveniently right there on the beach so when we had enough sun we could escape to the shade for cold margaritas. All in all it was one of the most relaxing vacations we've had and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PatandJody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

This hotel is fantastic. Clean, friendly, great location, afforedable, "off the beaten path," The owner, Karla, also helps us "gringos" in obtaining a shuttle, restaurant info, and other attractions.

The location is not a tourist trap! It is laid back and down to earth. Relaxation and seeing and hanging out on the ocean beach everyday is heaven.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank smittyjost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chacala
10.4 mi away
Las Cabanas del Capitan
Las Cabanas del Capitan
#2 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
316 reviews
10.1 mi away
Las Casitas
Las Casitas
#13 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
21 reviews
10.7 mi away
Decameron Los Cocos
Decameron Los Cocos
#1 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hotel y Bungalows Estancia San Carlos
Hotel y Bungalows Estancia San C...
#7 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
26 reviews
22.2 mi away
Hotel Casa San Pancho
Hotel Casa San Pancho
#2 of 4 in San Francisco
49 reviews
22.0 mi away
Apart-Hotel San Pancho
Apart-Hotel San Pancho
#3 of 4 in San Francisco
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Caballito del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Caballito del Mar

Property: Casa Caballito del Mar
Address: Islas Marias # 14, Chacala 63708, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Chacala
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Chacala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful inn surrounded by lush tropical plants featuring three well-appointed suites and rooftop terraza with spectacular vistas of Chacala. The on-site owner and staff are involved in the community, knowledgeable of the local area and provide professional, personalized service to their guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing