We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pizza Night is Great!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chac Mool Cafe

Chac Mool Cafe
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Chacala
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Chac mool its a beach club restaurant on the hart of Chacala Nayarit, Mexico we are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. come and enjoy a truly traditional mexican gourmet food from this pacific ocean with our particular twist.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pizza Night is Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

The Wednesday pizza night is a great deal. This homemade thin style pizza is offered at regular price for the first one and only an additional 50 pesos (just over 4 dollars) for a second or a free goats cheese tossed salad. It's right on the beachfront of Chacala and lots of fun as it attracts a crowd.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank igualla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    39
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food with good service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

For breakfast, lunch and dinner, Chac Mool always has something for everyone. We live in Chacala and we never get tired of it. Friendly and helpful wait staff and everything on the menu is very good. Great place to meet up with many of the local gringos in the morning for coffee. This is really a special place. Millie and Arturo are great hosts. I love the breakfast burrito.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Yummy food, warm hosts, a beautiful spot on a gorgeous bay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

We've just visited Chac Mool at the end of our trip to Nayarit this week.
Emilia was the first person we saw and spoke to when we pulled into this tiny town. She was very friendly and welcoming - since it's off season and there were hardly any visitors around (and no other gringos at all!) she sat and chatted to us about life there for quite a while and it was great to hear about the experience of living there (and since I am a Brit, a lovely surprise to meet another one, so far from home)
The bar is in a gorgeous spot at the end of the beach - there are tables out on the sand under a large palapa. We sat all afternoon just enjoying the views, the sounds of the waves and some drinks and delicious food.
We'll be back! I want to try that coffee - it was much too hot at this time of year for that!
And besides that, we really want to spend more time in Chacala, which is the loveliest bay I think I've ever seen.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rosegrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A very friendly, quality, fair priced restaurant with a big future.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

Emilia and Arturo (co-owners) of Chac Mool are the consummate hosts. Their small family-like staff adds to the friendly bi-lingual atmosphere of this coffee shop/lunch/dinner specials small restaurant. Currently with just six small tables they plan to move to a new large space beachside building in the spring of 2011. They serve the best coffee drinks in Chacala. Along with killer burritos and burgers they have occasional dinner specials including chile rellenos and pasta carbonara. Wednesday is pizza night. Besides coffee they offer beer, good wines and great scratch margaritas.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChewelahBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

We went back a couple of times in our short stay in Chacala because we enjoyed Chac Mool so much. Not only was the food and coffee great but the owners and staff were as well. I repeat: Really good coffee, which is sometimes hard to come by in Mexico! I find myself wishing I could have another huevo ranchero or breakfast burrito from these guys now that I'm back home. Also, I agree with the previous reviewer who said that the owners were special and welcoming people.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mandita3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chac Mool Cafe also viewed

Chacala, Riviera Nayarit
 
Chacala, Riviera Nayarit
Chacala, Riviera Nayarit
 
Chacala, Riviera Nayarit
Chacala, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Chac Mool Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing