We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The GO, mini club and the show are amazing”
Review of Club Med Yabuli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Yabuli
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Shangzhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

During the 3 nights we stayed in clubmed YBL, our 5 years old got a temperature. With GO Tina and GO Nancy's help , she recovered quickly and enjoyed a really good time. These GOes really made us feel like family. The program in the miniclub for the kids is a wonderful choice for families in which parents and kids have different agenda. My daughter learned how to ski and really enjoyed the sports. When night come, the whole family could enjoy the show at the palace. The actors are simply GOs, but very talented. It is great fun to see these familiar faces both on stage and at daytime.When my daugter found GO Tina being a great hostess on stage, she became more excited, engaged and willing to participate. In sum clubmed YBL is a good match for us, even though there is stil room for improvement.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiliangZHU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 440 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

The thought of "Club Med" sent shivers down my spine.... until i went to Club Med Yabuli! Amazing holiday and amazing experience. There were 8 of us in our party. What made the holiday were the fantastic ESF Ski Instructors. NOTE DO NOT GO TO CLUB MED YABULI AFTER SECOND WEEK OF FEB 14! as all the French ski instructors leave. The hotel is Ok and a great ski location. The children were looked after superbly and the GO's were fantastic. Given the remote location and the temperatures the hotel was well run - the food was excellent, fresh hot and lots of choice. But lots of the same every day.. day in day out. The Bar staff were very friendly and i thought it was like "cheers"!! very funny very friendly and a great crew. Teh entertainment was really good each night. The acrobats form Jamaica were brilliant (very brave to do this act in China!) but they pulled it off with aplomb! Had a wonderful time and the hot choclolate drinks on tap only 30 m aways form the slopes was a great stop when it got really rteally cold.
Advice... Yabuli is quite remote.. the slopes are OK and well pisted, but they are not to the same standards as Europe or USA. PLEASE PLEASE wear a helmet.
Only disappointment was that the hotel charged my bill to may card and told me it hadn't gone through and then charged another card.. i then found that both bills have gone through and its taking a long time to get a refund!! The standard of English from the reception staff is not good and a lot was lost in translation!!!. But these things do happen so don't let it put you off a great holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTaskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Journey to the resort was painful due the bad flight schedules arranged by club med singapore. Folks who arranged their own flights via Korea to Mudanjiang had a better trip to the resort.

Flight Schedule: Singapore=> Shanghai=>Qingdao=>Mudanjiang. We landed in Shanghai at 4.30am and had to wait 6 hours in this very cold airport for the next flight to qingdao and mudanjiang(one hour stopover at qingdao). Club med staff in singapore told us that the luggage will be removed and re-checked in at Shanghai, but it was checked in all the way to Mudanjiang and i did not have any winter clothes in hand. You better have a winter jacket in hand when you land in Mudanjiang Airport as there is no gangway bridge and one have to get off the plane and walk in freezing temperatures. (-15) Land Transfer: Mudanjiang to resort by bus took 2 hours, which was bearable. Total Time from Singapore Airport to Club Med Yabuli was around 18 hours. Note* that Mudanjiang is a better option compared to Harbin, which takes 4 hours land transfer.
* On the return Journey from Mudanjiang, the luggage might be checked in to shanghai only. They do not allow, lighters, matches on checked and carry on luggage. * Smokers note. Smoking rooms in Shanghai and Mudanjiang provides lighters. *no smoking in Qingdao on transit. Advise in Shanhai, go to the departure gates as quickly as possible as it's warmer there.

If you are planning on skiing, there are three things you need to do on arrival. (1) Go to the reception and exchange your Credit card details for a white card. The resort is cashless and requires this card for ski rental or spa, etc (2) Next, Go to the ski lesson registration counter at level one and collect the ski pass and register your lesson for the next day. you can chose language for the lesson as English only, English/Mandarin or Mandarin Only. you don't always get what you asked for! (3) for ski rental, proceed to level -1, which is run by Private operators. They DO NOT speak english and there are No GOs to assist you. Try to look for signs that say "club med ski rental" as they speak a little english in that counter (still private operators). Get you Ski Boots fitted First, then proceed to clothing. Ski Boots fitting is very very important and it will hurt your shin and ankles if it's the wrong size. * you will still get shin pain, even if the size is correct, as this is part and parcel of skiing. Total cost for ski boots+skis = USD50. Total cost for Ski clothing+helmet, goggles, gloves, locker= USD50. place all your stuff in the locker, except maybe the ski pants, which i advise to be worn in the room. Total cost is USD100 per DAY! Very expensive i would say.

The Hotel Rooms are huge and fantastic. No complaints except for the sightly sinking mattress.

Day1 skiing. have your breakfast early and go to level -1 where your locker is. Ski lessons start at 10am everyday. Be at the locker at 9.15 as it takes a long time to put on the ski boots and it takes a good 20 meters to walk out to assembly area marked beginner/club1/club2/club3/club4/club5. There is a room that says "club med only" where you can put on your equipment. There you will find the Ski Director, Greg(ESF) and Ski Assistant Jill who are very friendly and helpful and will help you to put on the gear. Walking 20m on ski boots and skis in tow is no joke, it really hurst your shins very badly, be prepared to wear thick socks. i wish they sold some kind of gel to protect the shin and ankles. And there are about 3 private shops(needs cash maybe credit card). Note* don't forget your Ski Pass (green colour) or else you cannot enter the ski area or use the lifts.

Ski Instructors. Club Med ties up with French ESF (ecole du ski francais) and they have around 8 ski instructors, all of them speak english. The rest of the instructors are Local Chinese and do not speak English. Depending on their schedule, you may get the ESF(red jacket marked ESF) or else, you get Local club med instructors.(Orange Jacket). Note* The ski area at level -1 is not club med and you will also see lots of local public ski instructors wearing red jackets (not ESF). Makes sure to only approach the club med or ESF for any help. You can also book the public instructors for private lessons (mandarin) but i strongly advise private lessons with club med instructors for safety.

My first day of skiing was with an ESF instructor named Gary. Very talented and speaks good english. You get to ski from 10am to 12 noon, break for lunch and again from 2pm to 4pm. We had a ball of a time learning how to ski and at the end of the day, the shin and ankles were screaming for mercy. Once you complete the beginner on day1, after dinner proceed to level 1 to exchange your ski pass for the next day and register for club1. (if you are comfortable).

The Following day was a surprise, we got a local ski instructor named Willy, who does not speak english. On the first day, most of the ESF instructors are booked for private lessons, so you don't have much choice. Since i do not speak any Mandarin, i could not understand what Willy was asking us to do. Thankfully, there were other Singaporeans in the group who helped to translate.
As the day progressed, i was beginning to like Willy, although he spoke no english, he was very talented and made sure i learned everything he was teaching. He even stops the class for me and pulls in a Singaporean to do a translation to me on my mistakes and made sure i get it right. I was very touched by his Dedication. Later on, i found out that Willy used to work as a Mountain Rescue and Ski person for 13 years and his job was to rescue injured skiers down the mountain by carrying them on his back and ski all the way down. How cool is that. So, if you get Willy as your instructor, you are in good hands. If Willy learns how to speak english, he will be going places. Wishing him all the best.

Meals are very bad at the resort. They have a Mudanjiang corner and a Cantonese Corner (for Hongkongers) and a small Western corner that servers fries, chicken nuggets and some burger that is always beef or pork. Since i don't eat pork or beef, it was a struggle for me. The Cooks do not speak English and the food is not always labelled. They cannot even tell you what meat that they are serving. So i survived on chicken nuggets/fries, salads and bread. Special mention goes to the chef who makes the Baguette, it is the most delicious baguette i had ever tasted. Special thanks also goes to the indonesian Chef who was willing to whip up Fish Fillets specially for us as we had not many options to chose from on the first night as we arrived late.

The Forest Bar on level 1 is open for 9am to 11pm and they serve anything from hot chocolate to margaritas for FREE! unless you want premium brands, you pay for it. The Forest Bar is the best place to be in during the day, either relaxing, playing pool, mahjong or having some beers with friends. Special mention goes to Bar Staff: Neo, Richard, Adi and Yonni. Neo makes it a point to remember your names and what you drank earlier, He comes in to check on you and if you need a re-fill or Brandy or Baileys. When you walk up the bar the following day, Neo, Richard and Adi will ask you if you want what you had yesterday or earlier in the day. Very impressed. Yonni also helped us with ski/snowboard advise and set with us to explain the pro and cons of each. The Forest Bar is THE place to be, wether you are alone or with friends. Snacks light light sandwiches and biscuits are served between meals in the forest bar too. Note* The only smoking room is also in the forest bar.

During meals, GO's might join you at your table, please welcome them as they are very friendly and answer most of the questions you have. We met very special and helpful GO's this way. They always greet you with a genuine smile are more than willing to help you. Special mention goes to Jayrard, Arya and Betrice.

Things i did not like at this resort are:
1) Reception does not speak english most of the time, there are one or two who can.
2) There is no help while renting ski equiptment as the private operators do not speak english
3) Rental of equipment was way too expensive
4) Snow becomes icy and difficult to ski (can't be helped)
5) Transportation arrangements to the resort(clubmed singapore could do better on this by providing the best route and least amount of time for transfer, some people don;t mind paying more for better airlines or routes, at least give people the choice between cheap and long to costlier and shorter waiting/transits)

Things i liked in this resort are:
1) Room
2) Forest Bar
3) Friendliness of GO's

A Special thanks to these GO's (mentioned again)
Greg, Gary, Jill, Willy (Ski Team)
Jayrard, Arya, Betrice, Neo, Ricahrd, Adi, Yonni (Bar, Sports, Entertainment)

Room Tip: pay a bit more for mountain view. nice sunrise in the mornings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MorganYabuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

This is our 2nd visit to yabuli and sadly it will be the last. I'll review and give a score for different aspects of the resort from our experience

Atmosphere (2/5)
--------------
We were at the resort over Christmas and the festive atmosphere was sorely lacking. They try their best with shows, caroling and animal appearances but somehow we can't feel the festive cheer as the GOs didn't look quite happy. The GOs are mostly shy, impatient and kept to themselves.

Service (2/5)
---------

All the staff seemed to be very busy. The reception told us that they were very busy and could not attend to us. A GO told us that the chef de village was very busy and so GMs will not get to see him often.

The service of the restaurant staff was most appalling. The head of restaurant (a Caucasian guy) wore a frown most of the time and I've caught him screaming at his staff twice. The only time I saw him with a smile and greeting GMs was when he was with the Chef de Village.

The food was not replenished. I wanted some crepe and the guy told me that there was no more and he would't make anymore. Over at the noodles section, I witnessed a lady asking for noodles and the service staff said they had run out and they would not replenish it. I found it unacceptable as it was only about 6.30pm when the diner crowd had only started streaming in. The impression I got is that they are just too lazy to go the extra mile.

Only the GOs from mini club were up to mark.They seemed to be most energetic, efficient and accommodating to requests. They took good care of the kids.

Skiing 2/5
------------
The experience of getting ski passes, enrolling for classes and renting equipment was a major nightmare.

The ski boots had limited sizes and they basically ask you to take it or leave it.

They do not adjust the bindings for you and provided us with random poles and skis that were not the right size.

Touts were aplenty!!! We have these chinese MCI "instructors" coming to us everyday offering private ski lessons or extra activities like snow tubing etc.

What we found a real pain was the need exchange ski passes everyday. We've been to other clubmed ski resorts and never experienced this before.

Ski slopes are extremely icy. Sometimes I felt like I was ice skating more than skiing. There were some areas that were barely covered in snow or ice. Falling will be disastrous!

For skiers who are of intermediate level, there are no suitable slopes. It's either too easy or too hard. I was bored and gave up skiing after 2 days.

The photographers are also very irritating. There are many of them and they are everywhere. Sometimes I feel that they get in the way of the skiers.

Shows (4/5)
Dakota - the circus show is not to be missed. It was the best show and very entertaining. You can see the action very close to you.

Mini club show was average. Everybody was just there to watch their kids perform. Entertainment value was very low.

Circus team was excellent. They are great with children. Very encouraging. Kudos to the head of circus team Kevin from
Jamaica.

Rooms (4/5)
---------
We had rooms in block 2. It's really far from everywhere except the mini club. To get to the main areas, we had to walk across a bridge which was freezing cold. Not pleasant at all.

Overall (2.5/5)
---------
A very disappointing experience. I feel the locals (ski room, mci instructors, shops, photographers) can't wait to rip you off. I can't find any value for my money. After this, I think I'm even considering staying away from China.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank babycap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had originally planned to go to Japan but had found travel between Beijing and Tokyo more than a little difficult and so changed our winter sport plans to take in Club Med's new China Ski Village. We are not unhappy that we did. Travel between Beijing and Harbin was a cinch although it is a pretty long (3.5 hour +) and tedious drive from Harbin to Yabuli by road, especially at night in icy conditions. Well done driver!
We were welcomed well after midnight by the friendliest of GO's, Lorna, who operates as 2IC in the village and who had stayed up late to welcome us and kindly arranged for some hot food to be left in the room while efficiently taking us through check in.
Our suite was absolutely incredible, thank you to the Chef de Village, Vincent for the upgrade, we felt very special. Had there not been so much else to do and see one could be tempted to stay and luxuriate in the suite all day.
As this is a winter sports village we headed down immediately the next day to get sorted with gear rental and lessons. Sadly the gear rental which is outsourced to a 3rd party provider let down the usual high Club Med standard. The staff are friendly and obliging but don't seem particularly well trained, e.g. did not seem to know what is meant by "I ride Goofy" and gave us a board set up natural. My partner's ski boots were not a matching pair and the first set of skis had not been properly waxed. Thankfully we brought with us our own clothing. On the other hand some of the Sun Mountain staff went out of their way to help and to try to engage in conversation :-) and even assisted the novice skier on the slopes.
The Club Med snow sports instructors were incredible, a special thank you must go to Nathan and also to John and Eric who were more than patient.
Aside from snow sports there was a heap of other activities indoors and out for the active and not so active, all were well organised and the equipment where used in great condition. Shows were entertaining, circus team amazingly talented and the games night a real hit with all, so thank you entertainment team.
The bar was a standout, not because of the ambiance or decor (the person who thought to put fake books on a book shelf and then call it a library deserves a long and painful punishment! ) but because of the amazing team of Todd, Yonnie and Adi who serve with energy, verve and enthusiasm.
Pool, spa and gym all well equipped, well staffed and a pleasure to use.
If there is a downer it was the restaurant. The food was invariably not hot enough, tasted mostly of fish (fishy chicken anyone??) and generally of a mediocre standard. There were some good dishes but they were the exception rather than the rule. It is the first Club Med where we have lost weight during our stay - that says something. And it was not just the food. When paying these sorts of prices once expect to have a proper teaspoon to stir one's coffee or spoon one's desert with, not have to make do with a pale pink disposable plastic tablespoon.
We would recommend a visit to Yabuli, if only to say that you have skied Sun Mountain and to enjoy the companionship of the super GO team. Club Med has a secret weapon - their HR strategy, which seems to ensure that all villages are staffed and managed by hugely competent, friendly and able global citizens who go out of their way to make one feel welcome all the time. PS I still have Miss Yabuli's number and will give Tom a call when I am desperate!

Room Tip: Try and get a room close to the Bar area, very convenient to the ski lockers etc too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

One of the amazing Club Med villages except for the food selections. The usual Italian restaurant of Club Med but this Yabuli's was surprisingly a big disappointment as they only served onion soup and cheese fondue with a salad bar and cold meat unlike other villages.Food are mostly 90% Chinese cuisine. The hotpot at Mudan was good however.The GO were very friendly as usual so look out for the reception Mongolian sweet GO Alison, Private French Ski Instructor Bart, Slovakian GO Yule, Malaysian circus GO Kelsy, Boutique Manager GO Barbi and the rest, you will be rest assured your holiday there is well spent^^

Room Tip: Ask for a skiing slope view…fantastic when you open your eyes in the morning to view them from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Another fantastic Club med. The views are superb. The snow beautiful.
All the GO we as friendly and approachable as from any other ClubMed.
If you are lucky enough to meet Alison do send her our regards. The food is not as good the Club Meds at Saporo or Maldives. and the Italian restaurant is really nothing much to shout about especially for this season as they do not serve any meat for main dishes. They only serve cheese fondu as main course.

Room Tip: Try to get the 5th folly and try to book early to get a fantastic discount enough to get the suite r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jekoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shangzhi hotels
0.6 mi away
International Broadcast Center
0 mi away
No photo provided
0.7 mi away
Sanshan Hotel
Sanshan Hotel
#15 of 41 in Shangzhi
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Yabuli International Guangdian Center Xueyou Tianxia Boutique Hotel
0 mi away
Sun Mountain Hotel
Sun Mountain Hotel
#7 of 41 in Shangzhi
4 reviews
0 mi away
Yabuli Yunding Hotel
Yabuli Yunding Hotel
#16 of 41 in Shangzhi
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Yabuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Yabuli

Address: Yabuli Ski Resort, Shangzhi 150631, China (Formerly 亚布力地中海度假村)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Heilongjiang > Shangzhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Shangzhi
#1 Best Value Hotel in Shangzhi
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Shangzhi
Price Range: $313 - $1,069 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Yabuli 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Yabuli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Yabuli Hotel Shangzhi
Club Med Yabuli China/Shangzhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing