We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“degrading.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Baeren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Baeren
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“degrading.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

first of my retirement coach trips to see beautiful sites of the world,many flight holidays previous. staying at this hotel was terrible,if in england would have been closed down,does not meet heath and safety standards,fire doors wedged open,food hygiene standard below grade.
after asking to be moved from room in the eves, 5floor +2 flights wooden stairs, very dark and claustrophobic.very degrading hotel,sat on log tables german guests one side of the dining room, english guests the other, small partition between.sub standard food for us. the german guests laughed at the quality
of food that we recieved, theres much higher standard.complaints ignored while continuing to speak on the phone.no drinks in rooms,no water on the dinner table,above average price charged for drinks.rude staff. this hotel should be taken of all tour companies books.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank annieb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    39
    26
    20
    10
See reviews for
17
49
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Whilst food was good, the rest a disappointment. Very small room with sink directly opposite the bed. Although my room was clean others were not so lucky with theirs. I was on a coach holiday and one poor person got very badly bitten as her room was infested with fleas. She was moved to another room and the previous room fumigated although the hotel owners would not admit there was a problem. Other fellow travellers found crawling insects on their beds. They have a sort of pub which is fine if you are a smoker but no good if you aren't. No lounge area to sit in, alternative is to sit in eating area. A buffet meal evening was spoilt by the fact that not enough food was provided as the other coaches staying in the hotel were fed first and not enough was left for our coach. Buff said.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oberharmersbach hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Have just returned from a coach holiday with Shearings after staying in this hotel. We were welcomed in a friendly manner by the owners themselves. The Hotel was great. Clean, spacious and the rooms were generous sizes - some with balconies. The restaurant was a very good size, and the meals were very good portion sizes, with extra helpings if desired. In general, all the staff were very obliging and helpful, and we were even given a wave from the owners wife as we left.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel below the average. The rooms very small, claustofobic... The owner very rude, impolite and vulgar!!! At the end of my stay he told me: "go away, I do not need your money" horrible place - I do not wish nobody to stay there...

Room Tip: Think twice before you book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tomek812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

we stayed at this hotel over the christmas period and had a wonderful time,the staff are so helpful and very friendly.The room we had was a nice size and very clean.The food was very nice and plentiful,each morning and evening everyone had a gift placed on their placemat,such a lovely thought.The owners Rainer and Leni Kuber are always on hand to make sure everyone is happy,such a lovely couple. Yes,we will go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here for three nights on a coach tour for the Christmas markets. Our room was a good size, very clean and the beds were really comfy, with those lovely squashy square pillows. The staff were exceptionally cheerful and friendly, dressing in national costume to serve our meals (breakfast was a help yourself buffet). The setting of the hotel was very picturesque, especially as it snowed throughout our stay, making the Christmas decorations and lights on the front look really magical.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toopski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We visited this hotel for 3 nights and had a nice stay there. The staff were outside to meet our coach when we arrived to carry our cases inside and were all friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The room was clean and comfortable and there was plenty of storage space, good heating and a bathroom with shower and hairdryer.There were no tea or coffee making facilities available in the room. There were lovely red geranium window boxes outside the bathroom and bedroom.
Our first 3 course evening meal at the hotel was lovely and the next two nights were also good, there was always a choice of 2 main courses. Beware of buying bottled water to drink with your evening meal, as it comes in a small bottle and at 2.5 Euros, is the same price as a lager! On one of the evenings there was a singer and a very good German band, who were entertaining. Breakfast included a choice of cereals,eggs, fruit salad, toast, bread, meats and cheese.
The bar was very smoky and therefore I don't think anyone from our coach went in there.
The church bells have been mentioned before and ring very loudly for at least 1 minute when they start in the morning at 6am! The hotel is in a lovely village and the scenery all around this area of the Black Forest is beautiful. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: If you are lucky enough to get a family room, they are very nice. Ask for the back of the hotel to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelaShea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberharmersbach
2.9 mi away
Hotel Klosterbraeustuben
Hotel Klosterbraeustuben
#1 of 3 in Zell am Harmersbach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Gasthof Freihof
#3 of 4 in Oberharmersbach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Faisst
Hotel Faisst
#8 of 14 in Bad Peterstal-Griesbach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hotel Dollenberg
Hotel Dollenberg
#1 of 14 in Bad Peterstal-Griesbach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pfeffermuehle
Pfeffermuehle
#3 of 5 in Gengenbach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
5.6 mi away
Die Reichsstadt
Die Reichsstadt
#1 of 5 in Gengenbach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baeren

Property: Hotel Baeren
Address: Dorf 35, 77784 Oberharmersbach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Oberharmersbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oberharmersbac...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baeren 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, HRS and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Baeren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Baeren Oberharmersbach, Germany - Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing