We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,246)
Filter reviews
1,247 results
Traveler rating
658
454
93
30
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
658
454
93
30
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaravan parkwildlife centreprivate ablutioncoffee shopnature reservewhole familykids and adultscountry housecamping experienceget awayfamily weekendentertainment areaquad bikeswonderful weekendgame driveslong weekendall ages
Filter
Updating list...
1,190 - 1,195 of 1,247 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2015 via mobile

You can be as busy or as quiet as you want. The Chalets are luxurious and the peace and quiet is just amazing. Listening to the bush sitting by the fire late afternoon. The range of activities from quad biking to horse riding and meeting some wildlife to safari drives morning and evening. Absolute bliss!
My UK friend came along and she was introduced to a very traditional SA culture out in the veld, yet luxury to puts the cherry on top. Definitely going back there!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Lindelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2015 via mobile

A friend of ours turned 40, so his wife organised for the party to be held at Sondela. Initially when a few of us phoned for accommodation, we were treated very rudely by the receptionist and arrangements were changed frequently by the reserve. After all that was resolved we had a great weekend with friends. The chalets were neat - no aircons unfortunately - and the breakfast service at the pool is not for impatient people. I think however that it would be a great family getaway if you rather stick to self catering at the chalets. Lots of animals to see there and they have pools in between the chalets for the summer heat. The staff is young because it is a training facility, but they do go out of their way to be helpful.

Stayed: February 2015, traveled with friends
1  Thank Engela75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2015 via mobile

Chalets are adequate to nice. Ours unfortunately had a rather serious cockroach infestation which put a dampener on an otherwise enjoyable stay. Lots of activities on offer but these need to be booked well in advance. Highlight for my children was feeding the very tame "wild" Bushbuck wondering between the chalets.

Stayed: February 2015
1  Thank Johnny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2015

Stayed 5 days and during all 5 days the following items were not available on menu:
chicken wings, fish fingers, lime cordial for non-alcoholic cocktails for my pregnant wife, pina-coladas, Horlicks. Waited 1 hour 30 minutes for pizza. Sold me wet fire wood. No air conditioning in rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NielPotgieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2015

We booked a chalet for a weekend at Sondela in October 2014 and we were pleasantly surprised at the comfortable accommodation. Quite private and well separated from others and was very clean. It was well designed and nicely decorated with contained everything one would need, but we felt that come summer time, the ceiling fans would probably not do and it would certainly need an aircon. In October, it was fine.

The chalet had two rooms with one on-suite bathroom and one other bathroom alongside the second room (single story) and plenty of cupboards and a very good kitchen. A very nice, large patio with good furniture with build in braai and we spent most of our time there, visited by the buck which could be fed by hand. They have tea, coffee, wine and wood in the chalet for you to buy if you need it right away upon arrival or need it during your stay. The chalet is partially serviced and the braai is cleaned every day. Our toilet was leaking and we had to call them to fix it - which repair lasted until the first flush.

Our check in was well handled with folks coming to our car to show us where to pay. There is a R150 cost per car for conservation which is very expensive when compared to other nature reserves.

There are very good cycle and hiking trails and game drives.

The resort itself is a bit confusing. It has a modern day spa, in a farm-like central pool/entertainment area with farm implements visible in the pen museum next to the more modern swimming pool. Visually, it is disjointed and unappealing. Quite alarming actually.

Chalets are far from the main entertainment area so you drive everywhere, but there is another smaller pool situated closer to the chalets. All roads are dirt roads and the buck and antelopes roam freely. A terrible bush fire which razed some chalets a year or two ago has left the immediate bushveld ugly to look at. The directions inside are poor.

There is the main restaurant which serves fairly good food in the main house, even if the service was slow. We also made a visit to the other eatery during our stay and they serve apricot jam with scones which was a little disappointing. Other items of the menu did not appeal and service was slow there too.

There is a fully stocked shop at the main entertainment area - it has everything, including freshly baked bread and bokkie food.

The security men at the gate rinsed our car of all of the dust on our departure on the Sunday - that was a treat, although we felt we had to tip them them all.

A word of caution - check the bicycle race calendar as there are many races held here which could prove a little disruptive.

We would certainly stay here again and would recommend it with highlighting a few concerns up front and timing of a stay. It is a bushveld experience coupled with a farm I guess. It is in 2km from the Bela Bela (Warmbaths) turnoff in an easterly direction. I do like the chalets and hope they will consider aircons. They already have solar geysers.

Room Tip: Chalets (one story) are good, comfortable, great patio, nice television, fans but no airconditioning. Our unit could sleep up to 6. Well spaced from neighbours so you are private. R150 charge per car for conservation is steep.
  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Madeleine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews