We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One place a family with kids (big and small) must stay!”
Review of ATKV Klein-Kariba

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bela Bela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
ATKV Klein-Kariba
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One place a family with kids (big and small) must stay!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

A lovely setting with cosy accommodation and great facilities and activities for young and old. Do not bother with the let down sofa beds - there simply is not enough room - but go to the extra cost of the extra room and your stay will be comfortable and memorable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Harold F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    276
    46
    12
    5
See reviews for
623
139
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Polokwane, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed in a 6 sleeper berghuis and the layout of the kitchen and lounge was very strange. It was long and narrow with the seating area against the wall. I've stayed here previously, and not all the berghuises are like this. If you arrive late evening during winter, expect the house to be freezing cold.

The warm pool is really great, and the grounds of the resort are kept very neat. There are loads of things for kids to do, and even though it was school holidays, the resort never felt crowded. Overall, it was a nice relaxing weekend for the family, just don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ms_Sadien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Nice and quiet. I would have liked more comfortable couch in the flat. I asked for no stairs and thy gave me stairs. Only saw a giraffe and a few bucks. The shop did not have corkscrews. The berghuisies and vishoek is nicer for longer stays.

Room Tip: If you prefer space don't tay in the flats. Stay in the berghuisies or Vishoek
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zeldacaalsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
293 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The resort is really family friendly and very safe for kids to enjoy themselves.

The swimming pools and grounds are kept in perfect condition. The accommodation is not 5 star but certainly OK for a great family holiday.

So much adventure activities to undertake at really reasonable rates. I would recommend the flats near the swimming pools if you have small children as it is safe for them to walk to the entertainment areas.

Breakfast is good value and excellent quality.

Resort staff was really friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelH007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very good value for money, we love the upgraded mountain chalets. Also a good option is the log cabins by the dam, very romantic. Nice place for a quick getaway.The resort manager and staff are always there to assist with all your requests. Lovely and quiet during the week and the rates are cheaper than over weekends.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great value for the family, facilities were clean and well-kept. Recreation activities excellent and the kids loved the pools and the resident Mongoose and Dassies!
The food was also excellent value and there's lots to keep everyone occupied.

Room Tip: Don't expect five star ....but nothing wrong with this resort for a short family getaway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bela Bela
7.1 mi away
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
27.7 mi away
Ditholo Game Lodge
Ditholo Game Lodge
#10 of 51 in Bela Bela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.1 mi away
Buyskop Lodge
Buyskop Lodge
#5 of 51 in Bela Bela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thaba Pitsi Private Nature Reserve
3.7 mi away
Linga-Longa
Linga-Longa
#18 of 51 in Bela Bela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
12.5 mi away
Abba Game Lodge
Abba Game Lodge
#4 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ATKV Klein-Kariba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ATKV Klein-Kariba

Property: ATKV Klein-Kariba
Address: (R 101) Old Nylstroom Road | 6km north of Bela -Bela, Bela Bela 0480, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Bela Bela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Bela Bela
Hotel Class:3 star — ATKV Klein-Kariba 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some 90 minutes from Johannesburg and an hour's drive from Pretoria, just outside Bela-Bela, lies the inviting ATKV Klein-Kariba resort in one of the Waterberg's most beautiful kloofs. This top-class resort offers a wide range of accommodation options with true Bushveld hospitality. At the adventure centre, even larger school, student or church groups can make use of Klein-Kariba's facilities at a discounted rate. With various activities, recreational facilities and amenities such as a restaurant, fast-food division and a well-stocked shop, there is no such thing as boredom at ATKV Klein-Kariba. To top it all, we are located along the Bushveld tourist route, which serves as the ideal base for day tours to explore nearby tourist attractions. With modern facilities for groups of up to 700 delegates, the peace and tranquillity of ATKV Klein-Kariba offers the perfect atmosphere for positive and innovate business planning and conferences. Or make your dream wedding a reality in our own stone chapel with a magical waterfall or forest wedding ceremony. ATKV Klein-Kariba - experience true hospitality at the gem of the Bushveld! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing