We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mabalingwe has it all!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mabalingwe Nature Reserve

Mabalingwe Nature Reserve
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mabalingwe has it all!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

The big five, sightseeing on horseback through the reserve, swimming pools, tennis courts, putt putt, and so much more to see and do. Roads are in great condition to take the family in your car to view the many wild animals. We got up close to the elephants, giraffes, kudu, zebra, warthogs and many more while on horseback and when we returned with our car later, they were still easily spotted. A lion camp is also on the premises, but our
4 days stay didn't allow to visit the camp nor the hippo pool. Two great golf courses are close by such as Elements and Zebula. Will definitely return to Mabalingwe soon.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Obeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    42
    18
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Polokwane, South Africa
Level Contributor
156 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Timeshare destination”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Mostly timeshare accommodation. Residents have access to a private game reserve where elephant and rhino can be seen, among the usual.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleGoosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mabalingwe Kalahari Bushcamp - good and bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

While the idea of the bush-camp seemed like a perfect solution to a multi-party family retreat, the execution left a lot to be desired. Yes, it's in a lovely, secluded spot. Yes, we were not worried about the amount of noise and activity generated by two young children. Yes, the individual tent-huts were close enough together to feel like a group, yet far enough apart to allow for privacy and retreat. But, of the overall experience left us feeling rather disappointed with the sporadic service and run-down camp.

The facility itself was exceptionally clean and tidy, wood was supplied for our first night (though we were charged an extortionist amount for a top-up) and linen and towels provided. The splash pool (wallow-pit sized) was a rather suspiciously milky colour, so none of us tried it out, yet seemed like a good way to cool off if it had been extremely hot.

The camp is set in a valley, and I couldn't help but wish that it had been built higher up, with a view of the park. Most such facilities I've stayed at in the past are built with the idea of sitting and looking out over a water-hole or some other such delightful viewing point. My mother-in-law needed to spend most of the time in the camp and it would have been much more pleasant for her to have had something interesting to look at.

We spent three nights in the camp, and each morning we had to notify the main reception of a new breakdown: first the water was not running; then the electricity was out; finally the hot water was not running. Not big issues, but enough to annoy nonetheless.

The tent-huts themselves were clean and relatively comfortable, though most of the window-flaps had been broken many moons ago and were now wired shut and left the interiors gloomy and stuffy.

On the morning of our departure, we were confronted with a somewhat hostile and unfriendly cleaning up crew, who definitely gave us the impression that the holiday was over, and please could we vacate immediately. Such a pity. On settling our bill and so forth, we were charged R90 for the replacement of 3 broken glasses, which seems rather a ludicrous amount of money for what would normally cost less than R20. Rather an unfortunate way to end a lovely family holiday.

However, the park itself is lovely. We had some great game-viewing, despite the lush, dense bush. We did a couple Sunset drives, which are definitely worth the trouble, and I did a horse-riding tour, which offered a unique way of experiencing the landscape. On all occasions the guides were friendly, helpful and informative.

We had one lunch at the a la carte restaurant: nothing special, but very satisfactory. A great burger. Again, friendly service and finally a bit of a view to watch antelope come down to the water for a drink.

All in all, a lovely little game park, very handy for access from Pretoria and Johannesburg, but let down by some issues. Certainly not as good as it very easily could be.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank VickersRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The bushveld and wildlife at their best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We came back from a wonderful and relaxing weekend at this amazing Nature Reserve. Myself and my partner really enjoyed a lekker weekend. Excellent service, well organized, friendly and professional staff. We saw zebras, girafles and impalas... The horse riding was the highlight..

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marsot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“One of the Bushveld's Best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We visited during September 2012. The resort consists of seperate camps. We stayed in Mount Amanzi camp. There are lots of Wild Life to see. Unfortunately the Elephants are kept in a Camp which is only available for the Timeshare owners. The private lodges consist of two rooms downstairs and a Loft with two single beds. The rooms below are fitted with double beds and ensuite bathroom with shower (no bath) Fully equiped kitchen and lounge with ceiling fan and TV. There are no airconditioning.
All the lodges are clened every morning by lodge personnel. There are two cold swimming pools and one heated outdoor pool. There is also a recreation room with bar which serves light refreshments. There is a large Restourant (A la Carte) which is open for lunch and supper.

We had only one "not so good"experience. We booked a supper for two to have Impala Stew and when we arrived we were told that we cannot order A La carte for the management had decided to change to a buffet for that night! When we complained about the service they gave us a complimentary Impala Stew the following night. This was really considerate All over this resort is a place to relax and unwind

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BokkieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mabalingwe Nature Reserve also viewed

Bela Bela, Limpopo Province
Bela Bela, Limpopo Province
 

Been to Mabalingwe Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing