We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best friends weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ditholo Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ditholo Game Lodge
Pretoria
1 review
“Best friends weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at Ditholo! The careful attention to detail and ensuring our comfort really made it worth while. We had a lovely spa treatment and would recommend it to anyone who want to sit back and recharge in a lovely bushveld environment. Thank you for a lovely relaxing weekend!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AdelePentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Adele

Thank you for taking the time to review our lodge. We absolutely appreciate that you noticed how much we pay attention to detail It has become our motto! We are ecstatic that you and your bestie enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you both again soon!

Warm Regards
Staff and Management
Ditholo Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    18
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
28
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

When welcomed by friendly staff, we knew that we were going to enjoy our stay. The game lodge was well maintained. The food was always delicious. We enjoyed having a drink with the stunning view of the dam and the hippos and nature at it's best! The game drive was very relaxing and educating and we saw lots of game. The rooms where beautiful with a nice warming touch. We will definitely visit the lodge again. Theuns, Susan and John were very welcoming and made us feel special! Thank you for your kindness. We can definitely recommend Ditholo lodge to anyone looking for the perfect breakaway from the busy life. Regards Armandt & Melissa

Room Tip: Room 15 had a nice big king size bed and a stunning bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MantieSlabbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Armandt

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Ditholo Lodge. Your kind words and compliments are deeply appreciated and will be passed on to Theuns, Susan and John. We love when our guests experience every aspect of Ditholo and walk away as fulfilled as you are. We cannot wait to have you over again.

Warmest Regards
Staff and management
Ditholo Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

My girlfriend and i went to Ditholo lodge to get out of the city rush. We arrived around 20h00 on the 17th May and received a warm welcome drink. just what we needed at that moment.

Susan and Theuns (managers) made as comfortable by pointing out the bar, the deck and walk us to our room which was room 4. they told as to feel free to report any problems. After dinner we went back toour room and the TV was not working, and report it to Theuns and within 10 minutes the maintance guy got us back on air.

As a last minute thought we want to do a game drive, sadly at that stage it was fully booked. The game ranger came to us with good news and told us that there is a cancellation and we can go if we still want to.

The morning of departure (19th May) my girl went for a full body spa treatment which was a hour long and she was in heavens and told me it was value for money. Then it was time to check out (11h00) and hit the road back home. As we exit the door we were greeted by the whole Ditholo team

We will see you shortly, well done Ditholo team!!
Keep it up!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nortwester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review. This has to be one of our favourite responses. Your kind words and compliments will definitely be passed to the whole Ditholo Team. We are glad that you you and your partner enjoyed your time at our establishment. Come back soon!

Warm Regards
Staff and Management
Ditholo Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

I would just like to mention that I was at your lodge for a weekend about 3 weeks ago and I really enjoyed my stay. I must say you have very friendly and helpful staff, especially Susan and Teuns. They are very professional and great at what they do.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeistiFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your short and sweet review following your stay at Ditholo Lodge. Your kind words will definitely be passed on to all concerned.
We look forward to your next visit.

Warmest Regards
Staff and Management
Ditholo Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

My wife and I experienced a terrible night on 17 May 2014. We were arranged at Room 7, which is just half of a chalet. The geyser at room 7 were broken on our arrival. In order to fix the geyser, the lodge turned off the electricity and water. Eventually, the lodge was unable to fix the geyser. The manager, Susan, arranged us to Room 2, which is a whole chalet for family. It sounds we got a free of upgrade as compensation. Unfortunately, there were some noise coming from the wall of the room all the night. We didn't hear anything at the first place when moving in at the daytime. When we heard the noise, it was 9pm. The noise came out all the night. It was a disaster to us. We had a headache and nightmare.

The next day, Susan asked us if we slept well and our answer was not well because of the noise. She immoderately said it was pipe problem. It seems that the lodge already knew exist noise and it's from broken pipes. It's dishonesty that the lodge offered a defect room to consumer.

We paid R.1698 expecting a good holiday, but Ditholo Lodge ruined our weekend. We don't think it's a fair deal.

Be careful if you want to choose Ditholo Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JK-Huang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Mr Huang,

Thank you for your review, we apologise for any noise or disturbance that you may have experienced in your upgraded room, we were so concerned about hearing your noise issues, that we had management stay in the room after your departure for a night to see what we could find. Unfortunately we could not hear any major noises coming from the walls, we did however have the usual African noises, such as Bush Babies, Hippo and the Wildebeest grazing at night near the units. We however take each guest experience and input very seriously and have looked at the pipes and insulation/ wrapping for these units to ensure that; if it was a water / pipe noise, the issue would be resolved.
This is the first complaint of this kind and as such we do apologise for your spoiled night. Ditholo as you are aware is a peaceful and tranquil retreat and our guest often comment on how they slept so peacefully and well – being well away from the stresses of city life...As you already know we have reached out to you directly with a letter of apology and an offer to compensate you, we really look forward to seeing you back at Ditholo and perhaps giving you that perfect, uninterrupted and peaceful night of sleep that Ditholo is so well known for...

Warmest Regards

The Ditholo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We had an awesome time at Ditholo and the staff was great. We had a very relaxing time and would recommend them to anyone. Thx to the staff for the great service. We would definitely return with friends and family in the near future.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank liebp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Thanks again for the recommendation. Your lovely words will be shared with the rest of the Ditholo Team.
We look forward to your next visit!

Warmest Regards
Staff and Management
Ditholo Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

We had a wonderful stay and were made to feel welcome immediately. The personal touches meant the world to us and our room was very cosy and fabulously comfortable. The weather was glorious and we had our lunches on the deck over looking the hippo enclosure and were also lucky enough to see a herd of giraffe grazing below us as we sipped on our cocktails. We enjoyed our early morning walk on the property and managed to get a good sighting of the Golden Wildebeest as well a glimpse of the Black Impala. We were hoping for slightly more 'finer dining' at dinner time but nonetheless there was still plenty of good home-cooked food and the breakfasts were fabulous. We had a most memorable and relaxing weekend away. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gisele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Ditholo Game Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Gisele

Thank you for the wonderful review following your stay at Ditholo. We are pleased that you witnessed the beauty of nature and animals during your visit. Your kind words and compliments will be passed on on the team.
Can't wait to see you again.

Warmest Regards
Staff and Management
Ditholo Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bela Bela hotels
26.9 mi away
Buyskop Lodge
Buyskop Lodge
#5 of 48 in Bela Bela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thaba Pitsi Private Nature Reserve
31.4 mi away
Linga-Longa
Linga-Longa
#17 of 48 in Bela Bela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Zebula Lodge
24.4 mi away
Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas
25.2 mi away
Summerset Place Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ditholo Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ditholo Game Lodge

Property: Ditholo Game Lodge
Address: Kromdraai Road, Klippoortjie, Bela Bela 0147, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Bela Bela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Bela Bela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ditholo Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Limpopo set against the beautiful backdrop of the Waterberg Mountains lies a natural oasis nestled on an 1100 Ha private game reserve. The stunning Dithõlõ Game Lodge & Wildlife Estate is the perfect bush getaway. Enjoy warm personalized hospitality, savour culinary temptations from the Lodge’s Chef, sip sundowners on the unique cocktail deck, and watch the wildlife around the waterways. Dithõlõ means “the place of many Kudu” and is home to a large variety of African wildlife as well as being a bird watchers paradise. Not only does Dithõlõ care for the wellbeing of its guests, it also cares for the wellbeing of its wildlife and runs nature conservation breeding programs for Hippo, Buffalo, Sable and Nyala. Guests can expect an authentic African bush experience, excellent service, elegantly decorated rooms and a tranquil ambience. Dithõlõ - the perfect retreat from the stresses of city life. Each room is en suite with shower facility only, mini bar, T.V, ceiling fan, air con, mini safe and tea & coffee making facilities. Family rooms may be requested which include kitchen and TV lounge.Meals (breakfast and dinner)are included in the rate as well as a 90 minute game drive. Kids are welcome, jungle gym and solar heated pool will entertain them all day whilst you relax on the loungers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ditholo Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing