We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Zebula Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Good Experience”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had a good time last year December 2011 with family and friends and i also stopped by while we were at Limpopo 26 May 2012 at the restaurant we had drinks at the bar with some friends just to show them how beautiful the place is, it is a place to be especially for holidays or weekend away very spacious houses and fully equipped self catering units every one was very impressed and will be in house number 70 again this December 2012 keep up the good work!

Room Tip: "Self catering houses are the best"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZiskaHaak, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Zebula Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2014
Dear Keke M,

Thank you for your repeat visit to Protea Zebula Lodge and your kind comments.

We would like to inform you that we have a very exciting Festive Program planned this year and we hope we will have the opportunity to host you and your family again.

Kind regards
The Zebula TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    22
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
19
21
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed in the bush lodges this past weekend, and had a lovely stay. We found the staff friendly and helpful - more so than many other hotels and restaurants we've gone to recently. My partner enjoyed the golf course, and I had a relaxing visit to the spa. The chalets were well-appointed, comfortable, and with beautiful, private views onto the bushveld. We found both the upstairs restaurant and breakfast buffet to be enjoyable. Our only complaints would be the time it took to have ice delivered to our room, and that one should opt for the filet over the sirloin. That said, the restaurant staff made every effort to compensate for the sirloin error. Overall, we would recommend Zebula and plan to visit again in the near future.

Room Tip: We stayed in lodge 20, which is a distance from the main lodge, but offered a quiet and private loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucien113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZiskaHaak, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Zebula Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2014
Dear Lucien113,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments and rate Protea Zebula Lodge.

We are happy to hear that you’ve had a lovely stay in our Bush Lodge rooms and enjoyed the golf course and spa facilities.

You’ll be delighted to hear that we have a complete new Food and Beverage TEAM, and they are working on preventing that experiences like you’ve mentioned does not happen again.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
The Zebula TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

I did not stay at the property however I played golf and had lunch at the estate. The course is incredible and pro shop staff helpful and friendly. The up stairs bar restaurant was a disaster, service and food terrible. The safe food is the burgers other than that you are wasting your money or will be let done. Halfway house food also been sitting all day.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenoniTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZiskaHaak, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Zebula Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2014
Dear BenoniTraveller,

Thank you for taking he time to write your comments.

Your experience most certainly does not reflect the high standard of service that Protea Zebula Lodge are proud to offer, but you’ll be delighted to hear that we have a complete new Food and Beverage TEAM which enables us to give our GUESTS the best service they deserve.

We hope you will consider returning to Protea Zebula Lodge to put this experience behind you and make new memories.

Kind regards
The Zebula TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We are frequent Zebula visitors. We usually stay at different privately rented homes and spend some time either having drinks or breakfast at the hotel. The staff are rude and unhelpful! I think they do not understand what 5 star service is! South Africa is known for their hospitality and friendliness but Zebula obviously doesnt know what this means!

Room Tip: Go onto their website to find the best house
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZiskaHaak, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Zebula Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2014
Dear Charlene C,

We would like to thank you for your repeat visits to Protea Zebula Lodge.

On behalf of Protea Zebula Lodge, I would like to humbly apologise for your experience during your stay. Our aim at Protea Zebula Lodge is not only to meet GUESTS expectations, but to exceed expectations and we are truly saddened that we could not exceed your expectations.

Our new Food and Beverage TEAM is currently working on rectifying these problems, so that we can offer GUESTS the absolute best service they deserve.

We hope we will have the opportunity to host you and your friend again in the near future.

Kind regards
The Zebula TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We booked a lodge at Zebula for a family getaway and really enjoyed the experience. My mom and I went for a walk every morning and enjoyed spotting the different types of animals roaming freely. The game drive and cheetah run was fun. We had pedicures at the spa and I was really impressed with the view, service and products. This is an impressive property and I would love to return with a group of friends or family.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CuriousMeerkatjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZiskaHaak, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Zebula Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2014
Dear CuriousMeerkatjie,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind comments.

We are delighted to hear that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us.

You’ll be very happy to hear that we have expanded our product range as well a few new treatments.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards
The Zebula TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We had a 2day conference getaway, it was a great experience, nice to have a short getaway with work. The accommodation was very nice, the size of the room and bathroom was amazing.

The food was not that good, over cooked steaks and stale cupcakes. Definitely not fine-dining, but I guess for work, it was ok.

Personally I would not choose to eat in the restaurant, self-catering in one of the big houses is definitely the way to go.

Room Tip: I would prefer one of the huge self-catering houses on sight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenseaborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZiskaHaak, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Zebula Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2014
Dear Helenseaborne,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments as it is absolutely necessary for us to get feedback from our GUESTS.

We are very pleased to hear you’ve enjoyed your conference getaway with us.

We are very sorry to hear that the food during your stay wasn’t up to standard. Our newly appointed Food and Beverage Management TEAM is currently putting in place new structures in order to avoid situations you are referring to.

With a mere 2 day stay at Protea Zebula Lodge, mostly for business, it is difficult to experience all we have to offer and we truly hope you would return again on your next visit to South Africa.

Kind regards
The Zebula TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Fantastic resort for both conferencing and family holidays. Super golf course and splendid restaurants. For sure a place to come back to !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanHolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZiskaHaak, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Zebula Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2014
Dear JanHolm,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for rating Protea Zebula Lodge and for writing such kind comments.

We are very pleased to hear your stay with us was so satisfying.

Since your stay with us we have upgraded our Conference Venues and can now seat up to 220 delegates. We have also installed the WePresent system which enables presenters to log onto the screen via WiFi.

Our golf course is looking splendid!!! Especially after the good rains we received thus far during summer.

At Protea Zebula Lodge we aim not to meet but to exceed our GUESTS expectations and we are elated that this was the case with you.

We look forward to your return on your next visit to South Africa.

Kind Regards
The Zebula TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bela Bela
8.7 mi away
Ditholo Game Lodge
Ditholo Game Lodge
#11 of 51 in Bela Bela
59 reviews
7.0 mi away
Phumelelo Lodge
Phumelelo Lodge
#3 of 51 in Bela Bela
79 reviews
5.9 mi away
Itaga Luxury Private Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Buyskop Lodge
Buyskop Lodge
#5 of 51 in Bela Bela
117 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mabula Game Lodge
Mabula Game Lodge
#1 of 5 in Mabula Private Game Reserve
562 reviews
20.4 mi away
Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Zebula Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Zebula Lodge

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Zebula Lodge
Address: 1000 Farm 534, D | Mabula District, 20 minutes drive from Bela Bela, Bela Bela 0480, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Bela Bela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Bela Bela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Zebula Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Zebula Lodge is a stunning and unique lifestyle destination a mere 2 hours' drive North of Johannesburg. Whether you choose to spend an intimate, romantic night or two at Zebula's Bush Chalets or bring the whole family for a gathering at one of our splendid luxury homes, you can be assured of spectacular, well-appointed accommodation and legendary Zebula service and hospitality. Protea Hotel by Marriott Zebula Lodge has 20 Bush Lodge Rooms, 16 Waterberg Lodge Rooms, 9 Zebula-owned houses, as well as 46 privately owned houses available, each GUEST will be spoiled for choice when it comes to choosing the perfect accommodation for their stay. The 20 Bush Lodge Rooms are situated close enough to the main Clubhouse to enjoy its many facilities, yet still wonderfully private with stunning views of either the bushveld or the golf course. The Waterberg Lodge is rated 5-star and this is the place to book should service and exclusivity be what you are looking for. Situated 3km away from the main Clubhouse, featuring its own restaurant, full bar and private chef, this 16-bedroom lodge is elegance and exclusivity personified. The Zebula-owned houses provides the families or groups with extra privacy. Situated throughout the estate, these homes provide space and elegance, and also allow self-catering should you choose. These homes are also serviced daily. In addition, Zebula has a pool of 46 privately owned homes available. All homes subscribe to a high level of luxury accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Marriott so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Zebula Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing