We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas
Ranked #16 of 21 Bela Bela B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Cabanas were poorly equiped with no towels, no dishwashing liquid, no dish cloths and barely enough dishes. The place looks dirty and door handles were broken. The staff can't control there guests for very loud music were played by some with no respect for others. I will NEVER go there again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magda v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor. Our apologies for the inconvenience caused by the other hotel guests. A lot of effort have been done recently to curb noise levels after 22H00. It is clear from our investigation that more strict measurements should have been applied. This has been implemented recently and our guests have reaped the benefits through this corrective action. We have used your feedback as an opportunity to train our staff and so achieve the levels of service that we are striving for. We have commenced the improving and standarising of inventory in the Cabanas as well as implementing a soft maintenance program to ensure that day to day issues are attended to more effectively. We are in the process of a big drive to improve the Cabanas and all the issues pointed are being addressed as part of the refurbishment project currently underway. We would like to assure you that our intentions are to give every customer a magical experience. Please accept our apologies for your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 142 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

My 8 year old daughter and I stayed here the nights of 17th and 18th August 2012. I have stayed in a lot of hotels in my time but this was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, I will list my experiences.

Hotel staff
Very friendly staff who go out of their way to be helpful, they can only deal with things in their power so I do not blame them for my poor experience. However, someone with the power/authority/finance can change things to make this a better hotel.

Room 33 in the hotel
Very poor standard.

Safety chain was broken.

The formica on the side of the table was ripped off and had graffiti on it.
Bath was old, the sealant between the bath and the wall was not done professionally plus the sealant has black fungus on it. Some fungus can be toxic to the lungs, I just hope mine was not.

Shower sprayed water onto the ceiling when you used it which dripped over everything in the bathroom, towels, toilet paper and any clothes you brought in with you.

Overall look of the bedrooms is old and tatty.

I was unlucky to have very noisy guests opposite my room who had friends on the other end of the hallway. They were sitting in their rooms with the door open and shouting to their friends at the other end of the hall while drinking until the late hours. I called the reception the first night and they did come up to them and tell them to be quiet. However, the main problem with this hotel is that the staff leave at 10pm and a security guard takes over.

The 2nd night we stayed the noise started again but this time it was worse, no one would answer the phone at the reception because it was after 10pm so my 8 year old daughter and I had to listen to this noisy crown of drunken low life all night.

I had no sleep the last night due to those noisy low life’s and then I had to drive 2 hours in the hot sun to get my daughter home, driving without sleep is obviously dangerous but i had no other choice. Until changes are made I would not stay in this hotel again even if it was free of charge.

What the hotel can do.
Have someone on duty in the evenings who care as much as the day staff do, this way the drunken low life’s can be controlled.
Assuming all the rooms are like mine or similar you really need to upgrade your rooms, they are clean but they look very old and tatty.
Get some pay TV in the rooms, you have 5 channels on your TV which is a bit old fashioned these days.

With just a few changes this hotel could be very nice indeed.

Room Tip: Until management make changes to this hotel choose another hotel. If however you are a drunken group...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are investigating the matter. Our apologies for the unpleasant experience you have had at our hotel. We will use this feedback as an opportunity to train our staff and so achieve the levels of service that we are striving for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had time of our lives with my friends... everything was according to order, everything was working. Our cabana was clean and the cleaner came the next day to clean our cabana. the service was good. But we asked for towel and they promised to give us but they never did.

We will definitely come back to enjoy ourselves again.

Thanks guys

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our apologies for the extra towels that were not delivered to you. We have taken the matter up with our head Housekeeper to ensure that this does not happen again. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We recently purchased a voucher for a 2 night stay through Groupon (see attached) and redeemed it from 3 - 5 August 2012.
We were booked into unit 17 (2nd floor unit) and had a good evening until around 22:00 when our neighbouring guests started arriving. They started playing load music, drinking excessively and partying outside on the veranda (directly outside our bedroom window) until 4 AM. We then left around 9 AM to go into the Forever Resort for the day and only returned at 16:30, only to find that the pool area had turned into a pool party, with huge speakers and sound systems, drunken people dancing and alcohol flowing freely. We immediately lodged a complaint with reception, which the reception lady immediately reacted upon by advising them to remove the speakers and respect other people who have also paid to enjoy a quiet restful stay. They refused to adhere to her instructions and turned the whole situation into a racial dispute, calling us racists, swearing us (and her) and telling us to [--]off, upon which she advised that she would contact the manager which only lived a few minutes away - we waited over an hour and never got to see the manager. We decided to leave and find alternative accommodation as I was not willing to expose my child to such unruly behaviour and the receptionist called the police as we felt unsafe. There were crowds of people, and according to the rules, only 6 people are allowed per unit, and no day visitors - so where did all these people come from?
Management is clearly not able to enforce any rules

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carike_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear guest, we have made contact with you shortly after departure. We have requested that Groupon refund your voucher. I would once again like to apologize for the unacceptable and inconsiderate behaviour by the guests who made these comments, remarks and ignored our house rules by playing extremely loud music and turned this into a racial issue. I have received feedback from the General Manager that when she arrived, you had already checked out. We would have gladly accommodated you at our nearby hotel, Shangri-La Country Hotel, which has been newly renovated. The guests who disrupted the weekend was asked to leave and after explaining that they were under the impression that they could play music by the pool, we advised them of the house rules and referred them to the room folder in the unit. The guests took their music into their unit and discontinued their noise. The General Manager gave them a stern warning that if they were to continue with any further noise, that we would have the police escort them off the premises. We will introduce signage outside as well to warn off any potential loud noise and music. We have blacklisted these guests at all our hotels and have also informed hotels in the area of these guests’ behaviour. We have also introduced stricter guidelines with senior management patrolling the units hence forth during busy periods and weekends.
I am truly sorry for your unpleasant experience and apologize on behalf of the management and staff of the Cabanas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Very nice marketing pictures. The reality is that the is Cabanas is completely run down and not featured in any photos I have seen. Tiles cracked, faded paint, doors scratched etc. We hit our first problem with the booking. We found it difficult to have our stay confirmed.

When we arrived (late) the staff were courteous and accommodating. The room appeared to be fine at first although a crazy design meant endless walks up and down stairs. There was a strong smell of cigarettes despite the no smoking signs but we made do. Later we discovered empty beer bottles in one of the cupboards and blood stains on one of the pillow covers. A lively party was happening around the pool (the cabanas have a separate pool to the main hotel). I heard some of the worst karaoke I have ever heard in my life but it did provide some amusement. The party was shut down at a reasonable hour but the bring-your-own music seemed to be a common theme for the Cabanas throughout the weekend.

Breakfast at the restaurant was uninspiring. I couldn't get my first choice as there were no mushrooms that day. The kitchen took a long time to get things out and the overall quality wasn't great. I had to specifically ask for toast as it had been forgotten. Paying for the meal was complicated as 'the computer was down'. That eventually translated into 'I can't work out the total'. Thankfully I could work it out quickly on my phone. After that it was a short walk to reception to pay via credit card. For some reason its not possible at the table.

It's not for me but groups of youngsters drinking around the pool with their music pumping seemed to relish it.

Room Tip: Looking for a peaceful room - don't stay in the cabannas, stay in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparrow101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor. We value your feedback. We regret that your experience at the cabanas was not satisfactory and apologize for the unfortunate noise made by your fellow guests. We have already begun investigating the poor service you received in the restaurant. This is not acceptable and we will continue to train our staff to provide better service to our guests. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Once again, our sincerest apologies for your unpleasant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I booked a 6 sleeper in cabanans for a family holiday. The fridge does not work. Lightbulbs needed replacement. Stove tripped power 3 times. Matresses are bust. And there is not even a lounge or living area. There not even a frying pan. And no manager is on shift. For the price you pay, it is daylight robberey. Terence abboo

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tabboozn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Dear Mr Abboo, we apologize for the unit that you were checked into initially during your stay. We are investigating the matter internally to see as to why the appliances were not working and why you were offered that unit. We have been in touch with you about this as well. I would like to conclude that you were moved to a unit where all the appliances were working and there was sufficient seating. The Cabanas have a combined kitchen and seating area. You visited our establishment using a Groupon voucher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had a bad experience the first night we arrived with cockroaches roaming around at night in the hotel room and though we were disappointed we went to speak to the receptionist on duty in the morning she managed to sort us out by moving us to one of the cabanas which we were quite impressed about it and we enjoyed the second day of our vacation thanks very much for the hospitality will definitely come again when we are around Limpopo Province!

Room Tip: "The cabanas Suites Family's"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for posting on TripAdvisor. We would like to apologize about the cockroaches that were found in your room - we can now confirm that we have been certified by Rentokil that the establishment has been treated by registred Pest Control Operators to safeguard and maintain the quality of the environment. We are also engaged in a Pest Control Programme in accordance with SABS standards concept. We are delighted that you had a pleasant experience in the Cabanas and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bela Bela
10.7 mi away
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
320 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thaba Monate Game Lodge
Thaba Monate Game Lodge
#34 of 52 in Bela Bela
23 reviews
1.6 mi away
Summerset Place Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Ditholo Game Lodge
Ditholo Game Lodge
#22 of 52 in Bela Bela
64 reviews
7.2 mi away
Linga-Longa
Linga-Longa
#21 of 52 in Bela Bela
3 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bonwa Phala Game Reserve
Bonwa Phala Game Reserve
#14 of 52 in Bela Bela
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas

Address: 31 Sutter Road | PO Box 94, Bela Bela 0480, South Africa (Formerly Avuxeni Hotel Elephant Springs)
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Bela Bela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Bela Bela
Price Range: $41 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas is situated in the popular inland tourism town of Bela Bela in Limpopo Province, less than an hour from Pretoria (Gauteng). Elephant Springs offers accommodation and conference facilities to leisure seekers and business travellers that will not break the bank. The hotel offers 54 en-suite Standard, Standard Deluxe and Family bedrooms, each with select DSTV channels and air conditioning. The hotel boasts a unique restaurant and ladies bar with street side deck, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner a la carte. The Cabanas are situated beside the hotel. The three bedroom, six sleeper cabanas offer affordable self-catering accommodation to leisure seekers, large families and conference. The 20 fully equipped units are clustered around a private sparkling pool and braai facilities, with direct access to the hotel’s conference facilities and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing