We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't work for us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas
Ranked #16 of 20 Bela Bela B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Very nice marketing pictures. The reality is that the is Cabanas is completely run down and not featured in any photos I have seen. Tiles cracked, faded paint, doors scratched etc. We hit our first problem with the booking. We found it difficult to have our stay confirmed.

When we arrived (late) the staff were courteous and accommodating. The room appeared to be fine at first although a crazy design meant endless walks up and down stairs. There was a strong smell of cigarettes despite the no smoking signs but we made do. Later we discovered empty beer bottles in one of the cupboards and blood stains on one of the pillow covers. A lively party was happening around the pool (the cabanas have a separate pool to the main hotel). I heard some of the worst karaoke I have ever heard in my life but it did provide some amusement. The party was shut down at a reasonable hour but the bring-your-own music seemed to be a common theme for the Cabanas throughout the weekend.

Breakfast at the restaurant was uninspiring. I couldn't get my first choice as there were no mushrooms that day. The kitchen took a long time to get things out and the overall quality wasn't great. I had to specifically ask for toast as it had been forgotten. Paying for the meal was complicated as 'the computer was down'. That eventually translated into 'I can't work out the total'. Thankfully I could work it out quickly on my phone. After that it was a short walk to reception to pay via credit card. For some reason its not possible at the table.

It's not for me but groups of youngsters drinking around the pool with their music pumping seemed to relish it.

Room Tip: Looking for a peaceful room - don't stay in the cabannas, stay in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparrow101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor. We value your feedback. We regret that your experience at the cabanas was not satisfactory and apologize for the unfortunate noise made by your fellow guests. We have already begun investigating the poor service you received in the restaurant. This is not acceptable and we will continue to train our staff to provide better service to our guests. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Once again, our sincerest apologies for your unpleasant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 142 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

I booked a 6 sleeper in cabanans for a family holiday. The fridge does not work. Lightbulbs needed replacement. Stove tripped power 3 times. Matresses are bust. And there is not even a lounge or living area. There not even a frying pan. And no manager is on shift. For the price you pay, it is daylight robberey. Terence abboo

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tabboozn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Dear Mr Abboo, we apologize for the unit that you were checked into initially during your stay. We are investigating the matter internally to see as to why the appliances were not working and why you were offered that unit. We have been in touch with you about this as well. I would like to conclude that you were moved to a unit where all the appliances were working and there was sufficient seating. The Cabanas have a combined kitchen and seating area. You visited our establishment using a Groupon voucher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had a bad experience the first night we arrived with cockroaches roaming around at night in the hotel room and though we were disappointed we went to speak to the receptionist on duty in the morning she managed to sort us out by moving us to one of the cabanas which we were quite impressed about it and we enjoyed the second day of our vacation thanks very much for the hospitality will definitely come again when we are around Limpopo Province!

Room Tip: "The cabanas Suites Family's"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for posting on TripAdvisor. We would like to apologize about the cockroaches that were found in your room - we can now confirm that we have been certified by Rentokil that the establishment has been treated by registred Pest Control Operators to safeguard and maintain the quality of the environment. We are also engaged in a Pest Control Programme in accordance with SABS standards concept. We are delighted that you had a pleasant experience in the Cabanas and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I would recommend Elephant Springs as a Holiday Retreat.
The Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating, they even went the extra mile by arranging a romantic room for us filled with roses.
The Pictures on the website look exactly like the hotel.
I’m not disappointed for staying there, in fact I give it 3 three Gold Stars.
The Hotel is great, keep up the good work and it’s a perfect get away if you are in Bela Bela.

1  Thank Mika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I would recommend Elephant Springs as a Holiday Retreat.
The Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating, they even went the extra mile by arranging a romantic room for us filled with roses.
The Pictures on the website look exactly like the hotel.
I’m not disappointed for staying there, in fact I give it 3 three Gold Stars.
The Hotel is great, keep up the good work and it’s a perfect get away if you are in Bela Bela.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Dear guest, thank you for your feedback on your stay at Elephant Springs. We are delighted to hear of your enjoyable time at our establishment and look forward to welcoming you back soon. The roses are just one of the small touches we have introduced to make our guests feel even more welcome. I will pass your message on to the team of the hotel. I'm sure they will be overjoyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

we drove approx.500km return to this place which dissapointed us extreamly.there are to many things wrong to even list ,like cochroaches,broken door locks,stoves not working ,stuffy ,pool and braai area filthy ,noisy, access to bed rooms dangerous etc, and it seems that egmond du plessis from marketing offers you vouchers to make up for this nightmare, this is not the way to treat a guest,

Room Tip: book somewhere else please
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaun n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Dear guest, we do not appreciate your efforts to deliberately write a bad review about our property because we offered you a credit note instead of a refund. You agreed to our terms and conditions when checking in which clearly states that you cannot be refunded, and despite our efforts to offer you alternative accommodation within our group, you refused this. Out of courtesy, we offered you a credit note valid at all our properties and have been in contact with you. We respectfully request that you remove this incorrect post and we have also reported this to TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We booked a family weekend away through a Groupon special, only to find when we arrived, that Elephant Springs is not what you expect and definitely not what it looks like on their website. The cabanas are tiny, dark and give you the feeling that you're staying in someone's basement! We were horrified to see the number of ants and cockroaches roaming the walls, as we walked in. We immediately alerted reception and got out of there as fast as we could! Although the staff were extremely friendly, the venue looked like a hostel.

Room Tip: Don't ever book into this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Public Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Dear Sandi, we have been in contact explaining that the pictures used during the groupon special are only a represenation, as our cabanas are all decorated differently. Thank you for your feedback, this matter is being investigated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bela Bela
10.7 mi away
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
322 reviews
1.6 mi away
Summerset Place Country House
24.4 mi away
Ditholo Game Lodge
Ditholo Game Lodge
#25 of 53 in Bela Bela
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Thaba Monate Game Lodge
Thaba Monate Game Lodge
#33 of 53 in Bela Bela
23 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bonwa Phala Game Reserve
Bonwa Phala Game Reserve
#14 of 53 in Bela Bela
19 reviews
13.9 mi away
Gorgeous Gecko Guesthouse
Gorgeous Gecko Guesthouse
#2 of 12 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas

Address: 31 Sutter Road | PO Box 94, Bela Bela 0480, South Africa (Formerly Avuxeni Hotel Elephant Springs)
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Bela Bela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Bela Bela
Price Range: $49 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas is situated in the popular inland tourism town of Bela Bela in Limpopo Province, less than an hour from Pretoria (Gauteng). Elephant Springs offers accommodation and conference facilities to leisure seekers and business travellers that will not break the bank. The hotel offers 54 en-suite Standard, Standard Deluxe and Family bedrooms, each with select DSTV channels and air conditioning. The hotel boasts a unique restaurant and ladies bar with street side deck, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner a la carte. The Cabanas are situated beside the hotel. The three bedroom, six sleeper cabanas offer affordable self-catering accommodation to leisure seekers, large families and conference. The 20 fully equipped units are clustered around a private sparkling pool and braai facilities, with direct access to the hotel’s conference facilities and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing