We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas
Nearby Hotels
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa(Modimolle (Nylstroom))(Great Value!)
$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro(Modimolle (Nylstroom))
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dinaledi House(Bela Bela)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
36
16
15
17
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
16
15
17
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice roompool tableget awaykenminacleaners
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 146 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2011

When we stopped in front of the hotel we were very disappointed, but when we enter the reception and met the friendly staff it was a different story! When we enter our room it was like entering a tranquil peaceful space! Very satisfied with service and food was excellent! We went to Aventura resort to spend the day and half through the day we decided to go back to the hotel to get some peace and quiet! If we visit Bela Bela again we will definitely stay there and stay the whole weekend at the hotel at their swimming pool.

Room Tip: rooms facing the swimming pool are excellent!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benita v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We spent 2 nights at the 3-bedroom self catering cabanas that supposedly has space for 6 people...yes, it has 3 bedrooms, but the living room/tv area/kitchen is the size of an average small bathroom and has only 2 tiny single couches squeezed into it...there is no space for 6 people to sit together, and because we were placed in a top floor cabana also no chairs to sit outside.
Fortunately we were only 4 adults, 2 toddlers and a baby, so did not always need 6 chairs, but beware the balcony's railings are so far apart that our [ walking] 18month old could fit through it!
The cabanas are also situated around another dreary looking pool, NOT the same pool that is featured on all the pictures on their website and advertising material...a big let-down for us. We also found that the ceiling fans did not work in all the bedrooms, there is no other aircon (this will kill you in summer), the lights were not working in both the bathroom and one bedroom (we took a bath in the dark), the bathrooms look very old and tired with yellow&brown stains, and our main bathroom was right next to the outside walkway with the very low window for all to see through and no curtains or blinds. They have only the most basic of kitchen utensils, no plastic bowls/containers for salads etc. and a small two plate stove...try cooking on this for 6 people.

On the 2nd day we did not receive any bath towels. I walked to reception to ask for towels, did not get any after waiting 4hours and returned to reception to fetch them myself. On the morning we had to check out, we found there was no water in any tap...the toilets could not flush, could not shower, no water for brushing teeth etc. We were later informed that a pipe had burst, so I guess its not the hotel's fault, but from our conversation with the manageress it sounded like this had happened before..still left a 'bad taste' in my mouth and just added to the negative part of our experience!

They also dont have enough parking for everyone, we were parked in and could not leave the premises for almost an hour until we found the other car owners and requested them to move their vehicles!

On the plus side, the lady at reception was friendly enough when we tried to change our rooms, although not helpful as she did not even try to change our cabana at least to a lower level cabana after we explained the problems with our little ones and all the stairs/railings. We were there early and everyone else had not checked in yet, so I'm sure it could have been accommodated if she tried.

The location is good as we wanted to be near the Forever Resort-Warmbaths. It is sitauted across from the resort, but just a little too far to walk with kids. There is a SPAR supermarket close by and a few other shops. We did not try the hotel restaurant, but it looked OK. The beds&pillows were comfortable enough and the linen was clean.

All in all, after all the disappointments, we did manage to have a good weekend with our extended family who also rented another cabana, but it's only the company that made it worthwhile..definately not our stay at this hotel. It would not have been so bad if they charged less per night as we compared it to similar places/environments for the same rate where the accommodations were far superior to the Elephant Springs cabanas. The family rooms inside the hotel look like a better value option and a nicer location by the 'other' pool. If I had to stay in Warmbaths again, I would rather try the hotel rooms next time..never the cabanas again as long as the daily rate remains too high for what you get!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank omnitravelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

This hotel looked and sounded promising but was extremely disappointing considering the money we paid to spend the evening. The staff was not very helpful, to the point of being rude. At times the gate staff was not available to open the gate to let us park. Reception was often not staffed. The room was large but not very clean. The bathroom was atrocious with a bathtub and half shower that was stained and difficult to use. The location was the only saving grace as all of Bela-Bela could be accessed easily from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adizokanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews