We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Itaga”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Itaga Luxury Private Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Itaga”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Amazing how excellent service can make a special place more spectacular! This is an extra romantic spot for couples to come to and get spoilt in every way! The hospitality of the staff is beyond reproach, not only do they go the extra mile they do it with a smile!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariskaBoshoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    43
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
115
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at Itaga for 3 nights at the start of our SA adventure and had THE most wonderful experience.
We arrived New Year's Eve to a friendly reception by the staff who showed us to our rooms. There are only 8 chalets at Itaga so it is small, intimate and never crowded. We had our two sons along with us (aged 12 and 14) and had adjoining thatch-roofed chalets, which whilst not being overly luxurious were still very nicely decorated, and more than adequate with comfortable beds and all the amenities you could want including wi-fi and a delightful outdoor shower. Turn-down service with African bedtime stories was a nice touch.
The lodge itself has a lovely pool area with deck, and a great lounge area as well as dining area. You are seated with your group for dinner, but after dinner most of the guests mingled around the fire which we loved. We were very fortunate to meet up with a fab bunch of Sth Africans and joined them in New YEars festivities until early in the morning (sorry Liesel and Rochelle!!! ABBA will rule in Itaga!). The waterhole below the main area attracts game at various time and we had a delightful baby warthog entertain us frequently.
The food is really wonderful - I disagree that it's good not great. We had beautiful 3 course dinners, as well as enormous breakfasts with big variety - fruit, cereals, cold meat and salmon etc, pastries etc and delicious hot breakfasts as well. There is also high tea before afternoon game drive. LUnch is not included (who needs it with all that!!) but wraps and sandwiches etc are available. All drinks are incredibly reasonably priced for a private lodge.
The game drives were awesome - our ranger Bianca was really knowledgable and went out of her way to find game for us and we saw heaps. It's not true there are no elephants - there are no visible big cats, but stacks of other game (and they have access to Mabalingwe) including giraffe, zebra, all kinds of antelope, elephants, hippo, rhino and buffalo. Sundowner drinks completed the experience, and the drive back to the lodge was always quiet pondering the awe of what we'd seen as well as the amazing African sunsets.
You can do various day trips if you like whilst here - we did an Elephant Adventure which was great.
The real cherry on the pie are the staff - Liesel and Rochelle are so friendly, helpful and courteous, and clearly well respected in the area, and I can't rave enough about how unique and wonderful this place is. It represents good value for money if you don't want to go all the way for super luxury.
We hope to return some day.
(I wouldn't recommend for young children, ours were Ok to read and go on iPad and go in the pool).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kibrannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed just before Christmas and enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and good service. The rooms were nice and clean and the food fantastic. The game lodge is close to Pretoria and the overall rate of this lodge is very good. All the staff were great and the service of a high standard.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Room 1 - and our children Room 8 - all of them comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 462GerdaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We loved the overall feel of this lodge, and the warm, friendly atmosphere. Nothing pretentious, commercialised, or "touristy" about it. Excellent value for money, too. Very good food, and service. The rooms were very comfortable, great little touches like the bed turn-down service in the evening, and we loved the African bed-time stories! The staff were wonderful, so welcoming and hospitable, so that by the end of our stay we felt we were all part of the family.

Room Tip: All rooms good value, it's worth the little extra for premium rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed with my parents for 3 nights end of October. The rooms were nice and modern with a great African feel. The manageress was very welcoming and the lady who took us on our game drives was so friendly and very informative. All staff were great and the food was of a high standard. For a game lodge so close to Pretoria it was very good value. Keep up the good work Itaga lodge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
107 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Overall I would rate this as a 3.5 star property that offers good value for money. I stayed here over a weekend as I wanted a retreat from Johannesburg that was within a 2 hour drive. A detailed review as follows:

Rooms: Each chalet/cottage is divided into 2 rooms. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and cozy. The size is not too big and the bathrooms are a little small, but still ok. I highly recommend asking for room #1, which is the most secluded and private as it is at the top of a small hill. Some of the rooms are not very private, as the decks face the pool area or the parking drop-off zone. It was nice to have an outdoor shower and an air-condition in the room too.

Staff: Very friendly overall. No complaints here. We arrived earlier than the check-in time expecting to just relax by the pool until the room was ready. However, staff graciously let us check-in to the room early. They also accommodated a request for a room change to #1.

Food: Quality and quantity of food was good, not great. The afternoon tea service, just before the pm game drive, offers a selection of sweet and savory snacks. Dinner is a three course meal. Breakfast is a buffet of cold items and a traditional hot English breakfast made to order. The lunch menu, (additional cost), is average at best.

Public Areas: I thought this was one of the best part of the lodges. The lounge is very well appointed and cozy. They light a fire in the evenings which adds to the ambiance. There is a cozy upstairs area with a tv for those who are desperate to watch it. There is also a nice boma area.

Overall, this is a solid property. I would not consider it a luxury property as the rooms are just not of that standard. I would recommend it for the price sensitive consumer who is looking to a quick retreat from Pretoria or Johannesburg at a value price. While I did have a good stay, I would probably not return as there are other properties in the area I am keen to try out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nep1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We recently stayed at Itaga for our last 2 nights of a sometimes hectic 25 day trip in SA and wanted a quiet place to R and R before driving directly to OT Airport on the last day. The tranquil setting in grounds with a small water hole attracts various animal residents such as warthogs, impala, nyala and ostrich all calmly meandering around. The game drives were fun but you won't see elephants or lions ( the latter are in a separate fee paying section ) and it was very interesting for us to see Mabalingwe especially the private houses and facilities there.In all our SA trips to game reserves, national parks etc. we had ever seen anything like it. Bit like an animal resort in the bush. It cant be compared to the premier game reserves even though it portrays itself as home to the big 5. The food was very good and all the staff were very amicable but on the downside the rooms we had were incredibly small and storage for luggage was minimal. For our purposes, which was to stay in a nice relaxed place in a pleasant setting , without hordes of guests and close to Joburg ,Itaga fitted the bill.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stargaize1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bela Bela
14.5 mi away
Ditholo Game Lodge
Ditholo Game Lodge
#11 of 48 in Bela Bela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
2.3 mi away
Phumelelo Lodge
Phumelelo Lodge
#3 of 48 in Bela Bela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thaba Pitsi Private Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Buyskop Lodge
Buyskop Lodge
#5 of 48 in Bela Bela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
7.5 mi away
Mabula Game Lodge
Mabula Game Lodge
#1 of 5 in Mabula Private Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
5.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Zebula Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Itaga Luxury Private Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Itaga Luxury Private Game Lodge

Property: Itaga Luxury Private Game Lodge
Address: R516 Thabazimbi Road | Mabalingwe Nature Reserve, Bela Bela, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Bela Bela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Bela Bela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Itaga Luxury Private Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set under spreading marula trees at the foot of the Waterberg mountains, Itaga Private Game Lodge is in a malaria-free area, less than two hours from Johannesburg. Set in the 12,000 hectare Mabalingwe Nature Reserve, home to the Big Five with the lions in separate enclosure. The spacious thatched main Lodge is open on most sides with a lounge, bar with viewing deck and romantic dining area. Thatched, cosy chalets are decorated in classic African style and screened outdoor bush shower. Pool and deck overlooking a floodlit waterhole. Rhino, elephant, leopard, buffalo, giraffe, warthog, antelope and bountiful birdlife are spotted on game drives with experienced rangers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, South African Hotels, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Itaga Luxury Private Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing