We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we learned of this gem!”
Review of Hotel Visconti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Visconti
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Thanks to some good reviews on tripadvisor, we learned of Hotel Visconti. We were in between two countries and needed to put our son on a flight at Malpensa airport. We decided that an overnight at a hotel near the airport would make the most sense for getting him to his morning flight. I am SO happy we chose Hotel Visconti. It was perfect.

We arrived by train from Switzerland. The owners, Cecelia and Simone, picked up our family of 5 in their two vehicles, for the short drive to their hotel. The hotel is a 2 story building next door to their home. The surroundings are a quiet residential area. The rooms are well insulated and surprisingly, we heard no planes when in the room. I believe there were 4 rooms on each of the two floors. The lobby, breakfast buffet, and bar are on the ground level. Everything looks to be very new.

The rooms are modern, simple, and spotlessly clean. Very comfortable beds! Functional, attractive dark wood furniture. The bathrooms have cool floors- looks like cement that has been painted a vivid color, like yellow/orange, and then splashed with metallic paint, then coated in polyurethane. I loved the look and would try this at home! Good sized sink area and a nice, strong shower with an adjustable height head. Thick, soft towels. The rooms come with shampoo, but no conditioner. There is a hairdryer on the wall.

The breakfast is very nice. There are cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, and a good variety of pastries. Cecelia makes coffee per your preference. The espresso was yummy.
She also made us some reservations for a great restaurant in the neighborhood- Il Buccaniere. It's about a 10 min walk through the nice, quiet streets. Cecelia provided us with an easy map to follow. We really enjoyed this restaurant. The food was fantastic and extremely reasonably priced. It is purely a "locals" place.

After spending a few nights in Varenna/Lake Como, we ended up back in Milan before our flight home out of Malpensa. We again stayed at Hotel Visconti. We were welcomed back like old friends and again we had a perfect stay. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone flying in/out of Malpensa who would enjoy a more personal hotel experience with wonderful hosts. Clean, very comfortable rooms where you can get a great night's sleep. Breakfast is included, and transportation to Malpensa airport is provided at no cost. The room rates are very reasonable.
Thank you Cecelia and Sergio. It was truly a pleasure to have met you both!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bloomcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 106 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed here on the last day returning to Milan. We arrived by train and Cecilia had already emailed us earlier that week to let us know she would pick us up by train. When we arrived she was there waiting and took us to the hotel. Very nice place and clean and new. Cecilia had made us dinner reservation at a wonderful place to eat and took us and picked us up from there. Early the next morning she had Breakfast out and took us to the airport for our flight. Great people and a great place. We will be staying there again.

Tom and Lisa Dallas Texas

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My wife and I and our 3 kids stayed in Hotel Visconti on March 28th, prior to flying home in the morning. I had read about the hospitality of the hosts Cecilia and Simone on TripAdvisor. They surpassed my expectations. This was like staying with family - they greeted us warmly, took care of our dinner plans and dropped us off at the airport in the morning.

The hotel is located in the suburbs of Milan about 15 minutes drive from the airport. I can not speak about the surrounding area, since we arrived in evening and departed in the morning, but it looked like a residential area.

We rented two rooms to fit all 5 of us. The rooms were simple, clean and comfortable.
Cecilia arranged dinner for us, drove us to the restaurant and arranged for the owner of the restaurant to drive us back to the hotel after dinner! This hospitality was most impressive and greatly appreciated after a long train ride from Venice.
The breakfast was the best we had in our 8 days in Italy.
This was a really great way to end our Italy trip. Thanks Cecilia and Simone!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I needed a place to stay before flying home, and I wanted to be as close to MXP as possible before leaving on a morning flight, but I wished to avoid sterile and souless big-box format hotels

The Hotel Visconti is more like a bed-and-breakfast- or even like staying with distant family. Cecilia met me at the train station and was very helpful throughout my short stay. The property is somewhat remote (in a residential neighborhood), but she arranged for me to be picked up by someone at a local restaurant so I could have one nice last supper before enduring the dubious culinary delights found in coach. I stayed in a single room, which was quiet small (single bed) but was well appointed, comfortable and quiet. After providing an ample and tasty breakfast, Cecilia drove me to MXP, only about 10 minutes. (Transfers to MXP are free, all other destinations are 15 euro).

Thank you, Cecilia, for providing a homey and pleasant last night in Italy. And thank you, prior TripAdvisor reviewers, for recommending this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drsusanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We spent our first night in Italy at Hotel Visconti, and found it to be every bit as comfortable and welcoming indicated by the majority of reviews. Cecilia emailed us several times prior to our departure to make sure all was in order for our arrival. We called Cecilia after picking up our bags at the airport, and 10 minutes later Cecilia picked us up and took us to the hotel. The service was top notch. We arrived in Milan in late evening, and we were thinking we could go out (walk) for a light dinner and a glass of wine. That is not really an option from this hotel, but it didn't matter because everything around there was closed by the time we got there. No worries, though. Cecilia sold us a very good bootle of wine at a very reasonable price, and provided snacks to have with the wine. Along with the fantastic service we had a great room. The room was nice sized and very clean. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom/shower were excellent. The next morning Cecilia had a wonderful breakfast set out for us. To top it off, Cecilia drove us to the train station after breakfast. We have stayed at many nice hotels, but I can honestly say We have never had such personal service. We will definitely stay at Hotel Visconti the next time we fly in to Milan Malpensa Airport. Outstanding experience in every respect.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chester W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I selected this hotel for our overnight before an international flight based on reviews of the options, and I am delighted I did.

The hotel is quiet, recently built to a good standard with comfortable rooms, good bathrooms and good furniture (comfortable beds). It is smallish but brought up a level by Cecilia, the hostess and owner. Cecilia will pick you up and drop you off to Malpensa, take you to a local restaurant after making the reservation. When we arrived by bus from Lugano we were tired and hungry. Cecilia asked what we wanted and made us toasted cheese sandwiches and coffee immediately.

We had a much more serious issue which she helped resolve with our luggage. When we exited the bus from Lugano at Malpensa, we inadvertently took someone's bag and left one of ours on the bus. When we noticed the switch some hours later, at around 10pm, Cecilia identified the bus company which she remembered from when she picked us up, called them and explained the situation. Our bag had even located and she helped arrange for it to be brought back to Malpensa the following morning. We were happily reunited with the errant bag.

The hotel is an excellent choice for an overnight stay. We will happily stay there again in preference to the Hilton or any of the other higher-rated hotels.

Room Tip: Being in a residential area, this relatively new hotel has no bad rooms as far as I know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnomeaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Third year we've stayed with Cecilia and Simone, and as always a great stay for our last night in Italy. Clean, modern, very quiet, but above all very personal service...it's as if you are staying in their home! It was rainy and cool, and we had no car, so Cecilia drove us to and from a great local restaurant that normally can be reached on foot. She was very prompt in picking us up at Malpensa Airport and delivering us to our flight the next morning after a good breakfast and wonderful coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrTip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardano al Campo
2.1 mi away
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
#2 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
1,506 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
1 mi away
Novotel Milano Malpensa Airport
Novotel Milano Malpensa Airport
#3 of 6 in Cardano al Campo
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
1.8 mi away
Hotel Osteria della Pista dal 1875
Hotel Osteria della Pista dal 18...
#1 of 2 in Casorate Sempione
515 reviews
3.1 mi away
First Hotel Malpensa
First Hotel Malpensa
#1 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Visconti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Visconti

Address: Via Gran Paradiso 16, 21010 Cardano al Campo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Cardano al Campo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cardano al Campo
Price Range: $85 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Visconti 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Visconti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Visconti Italy/Cardano Al Campo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing