We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found this gem, thanks to TripAdvisor reviewers”
Review of Hotel Visconti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Visconti
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I needed a place to stay before flying home, and I wanted to be as close to MXP as possible before leaving on a morning flight, but I wished to avoid sterile and souless big-box format hotels

The Hotel Visconti is more like a bed-and-breakfast- or even like staying with distant family. Cecilia met me at the train station and was very helpful throughout my short stay. The property is somewhat remote (in a residential neighborhood), but she arranged for me to be picked up by someone at a local restaurant so I could have one nice last supper before enduring the dubious culinary delights found in coach. I stayed in a single room, which was quiet small (single bed) but was well appointed, comfortable and quiet. After providing an ample and tasty breakfast, Cecilia drove me to MXP, only about 10 minutes. (Transfers to MXP are free, all other destinations are 15 euro).

Thank you, Cecilia, for providing a homey and pleasant last night in Italy. And thank you, prior TripAdvisor reviewers, for recommending this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drsusanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 106 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

We spent our first night in Italy at Hotel Visconti, and found it to be every bit as comfortable and welcoming indicated by the majority of reviews. Cecilia emailed us several times prior to our departure to make sure all was in order for our arrival. We called Cecilia after picking up our bags at the airport, and 10 minutes later Cecilia picked us up and took us to the hotel. The service was top notch. We arrived in Milan in late evening, and we were thinking we could go out (walk) for a light dinner and a glass of wine. That is not really an option from this hotel, but it didn't matter because everything around there was closed by the time we got there. No worries, though. Cecilia sold us a very good bootle of wine at a very reasonable price, and provided snacks to have with the wine. Along with the fantastic service we had a great room. The room was nice sized and very clean. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom/shower were excellent. The next morning Cecilia had a wonderful breakfast set out for us. To top it off, Cecilia drove us to the train station after breakfast. We have stayed at many nice hotels, but I can honestly say We have never had such personal service. We will definitely stay at Hotel Visconti the next time we fly in to Milan Malpensa Airport. Outstanding experience in every respect.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chester W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I selected this hotel for our overnight before an international flight based on reviews of the options, and I am delighted I did.

The hotel is quiet, recently built to a good standard with comfortable rooms, good bathrooms and good furniture (comfortable beds). It is smallish but brought up a level by Cecilia, the hostess and owner. Cecilia will pick you up and drop you off to Malpensa, take you to a local restaurant after making the reservation. When we arrived by bus from Lugano we were tired and hungry. Cecilia asked what we wanted and made us toasted cheese sandwiches and coffee immediately.

We had a much more serious issue which she helped resolve with our luggage. When we exited the bus from Lugano at Malpensa, we inadvertently took someone's bag and left one of ours on the bus. When we noticed the switch some hours later, at around 10pm, Cecilia identified the bus company which she remembered from when she picked us up, called them and explained the situation. Our bag had even located and she helped arrange for it to be brought back to Malpensa the following morning. We were happily reunited with the errant bag.

The hotel is an excellent choice for an overnight stay. We will happily stay there again in preference to the Hilton or any of the other higher-rated hotels.

Room Tip: Being in a residential area, this relatively new hotel has no bad rooms as far as I know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnomeaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Third year we've stayed with Cecilia and Simone, and as always a great stay for our last night in Italy. Clean, modern, very quiet, but above all very personal service...it's as if you are staying in their home! It was rainy and cool, and we had no car, so Cecilia drove us to and from a great local restaurant that normally can be reached on foot. She was very prompt in picking us up at Malpensa Airport and delivering us to our flight the next morning after a good breakfast and wonderful coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrTip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

A wonderfully clean, quiet, friendly, family run hotel, modern rooms, free internet, quality breakfast and friendly service from a mother/son partnership. Convenient to the airport and safe off street parking, a warm personal welcome and farewell from the staff and large room with a view over neighbouring fields and houses.

Room Tip: Room at the front had a good view on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xatnep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We read the reviews about this hotel on the Tripadvisor website. This is a terrific little Hotel in a rather nice little village close to the airport. The owner Cecilia greeted us warmly and showed us our room..which is modern warm clean and very comfortable. There is a bar fridge TV wifi ...all the things you need..
Breakfast is included which is served downstairs in a very tastefully decorated room.
Cecilia recommended a restaurant within walking distance for dinner that evening..very nice..
A great little hotel and 10 mins from Malpensa ..what more can you want.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank PerthOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This modest B&B is an ideal place to stay for a stopover. We had problems finding the location as it is down a quiet surburban street 10 minutes drive from Malpensa airport. No matter, we dropped off our bags first and then Cecilia, who runs it with her son, Simone, went with us to the airport to drop the car off before driving us back again. The rooms are simple, quiet and clean with good showers. That evening, Cecilia recommended us to go to one of the local eateries, the Buccaniere, a fantastic seafood and pizza bistro. I had delicious grilled sole and my husband had a whole tail of monkfish! My daughter had the most delicious plate of pasta. It was our last Italian meal and it did not disappoint. Back at the hotel, beds were comfy, plenty of towels, good wifi but only local Italian channels on the tv.

The breakfast buffet was very nice, lovely selection of fresh pastries, fruit and good coffee.

Cecilia and Simone were wonderful, friendly hosts and it is their hospitality that makes this b&b a worthy recommendation on this site. My six year old daughter took to Cecilia very quickly, took her to pet her dog so that was a good sign! Cecilia drove us to the airport (transfer included in the rate), which takes the headache out of having to wait for a bus or returning a car.

Now that we know where it is we will certainly stay at the Visconti again next time we visit Italy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AA88Dubai_UAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardano al Campo
2.1 mi away
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
#2 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
1,492 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
1 mi away
Novotel Milano Malpensa Airport
Novotel Milano Malpensa Airport
#3 of 6 in Cardano al Campo
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
3.1 mi away
First Hotel Malpensa
First Hotel Malpensa
#1 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
1,221 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Milano Malpensa Aeroporto
Ibis Milano Malpensa Aeroporto
#2 of 6 in Cardano al Campo
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Visconti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Visconti

Address: Via Gran Paradiso 16, 21010 Cardano al Campo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Cardano al Campo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cardano al Campo
Price Range: $76 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Visconti 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Visconti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Visconti Italy/Cardano Al Campo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing