We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for a beach wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Tortuga Village
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a beach wedding”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Went here for my brother-in-laws wedding in December and it was very relaxing. Food at the beach restaurant was okay, but everything else was fantastic - service, rooms, pool, beach (could walk that beach for days!). Rooms were a bit pricey but for a specialty/resort stay it was reasonable. Seems to be located in a fairly safe neighbourhood (outside of the city) and is well gated/guarded. We didn't try the spa but numerous services were available.

Room Tip: Seems that most of the rooms are the same and have fairly good privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitsoon21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    20
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
27
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This place is really a piece of heaven! Great pool, a wide beach, the water was the perfect temperature and the bungalows were amazing! They were fitted with every comfort u can think of, we even had tv in English ! Btw the bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on.
I highly recommend getting a massage in the massage bungalow which is directly on the beach so you hear the waves as you get a great massage, it was perfect!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank deborasalazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were looking for something in Costal del Sol.
Food, place, location, weather, price AND SERVICE were all top notch !
In other resorts we've been bothered mosquitos, flies, ants and even other loud customers.. NOT here ! And we were not alone if that's on your mind.
We recommend this place and will return!
Thanks to them, hope this helps.
We

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tftynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The Costa del Sol is a relaxed and very rustic sort of beach chic, so you have to bear that in mind when coming here.
The area around it seems a little sketchy-ish, but the hotel itself is quite lovely indeed.

The room were sort of like a cross between a treehouse and a yurt, but fun and very comfortable.

The pool was really pretty and the beach was right in front of you.

This is not a place that you would go for the amenities however. The wifi was spotty at best, didn't work at all actually in the rooms (I like to swing in my hammock which online which was not to be). And the food was just OK I'd say. Actually, the lobster spaghetti was great, but there was other stuff that wasn't so good.
And, there were dogs barking all night and other things that you get from sort of being out in the country. So just plan on that, and you'll be OK.

One thing we did get to do which was amazing was to release the endangered sea turtles to the ocean. I've always wanted to do that and it was so very cool.

We also went paddleboarding at the Bahia del Sol in the estuary, but it was sort of a lucky find since Tortuga Village had never heard of it, and it was only about five minutes away.

Just do your homework and you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattkorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erath, Louisiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Great intimate hotel right on a wide nice beach. 8 elevated bungalows with seating area/hammocks beneath. All bungalows around a beautiful central pool. Very comfortable beds. Only complaint would be variable hot water and pressure, seemed to be dependent on others using it at the same time. Never ran out of hot water, temperature just varied. Wifi only available near the office and it is slow, mainly only good for email and it wasn't available at all times.

The restaurant next door is great. I was with a group of 7 and over 3 days none of us had a bad meal. Service is very slow, but the view is great and the wait staff, especially Lucio, do a good job. No one really speaks any English, so some Spanish is really needed to communicate, although they have an english version of the menu. The cerviche's are excellent (they have numerous variations).

Room Tip: all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank setpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My fiancee and I were planning to end a week long vacation to El Salvador in Costa Del Sol. In doing online research we didn't find too many hotels that fit both our budget and taste. We actually went with another hotel because Tortuga was too expensive at $280+/night. When we got to the other 'hotel' we quickly realized we had made a huge mistake. We called a taxi and had him take us to Tortuga hoping and praying there was a bungalow available for our 2 night stay. Thankfully there were! Yes we had to move bungalows the next day but who cares?! They're all beautiful. And we actually got a better rate at $216/night with breakfast included, woohoo!
Tortuga Village in Costa Del Sol is an eco-friendly resort with all around very low impact in the environment. They even have their own preservation efforts of the turtle population in the area, so if you're lucky and happen to book on a very special night, you get to take part in the release of the baby turtles to the ocean!
From the very moment we became guests, the white glove treatment began. Our cabin manager, a very pleasant and poised young lady immediately took our bags and brought them up to our bungalow. #4 The Green Turtle. We were instantly transported into a dream world. Here was this beautiful, immaculately constructed, eco-friendly bungalow; the upstairs, holding the bedroom and bathroom, is adorned with crisp white linens, the light from the pool shining through the open windows, the smell of fresh air being circulated by a slow moving fan; the bathroom is open, airy, and natural. The downstairs is the living and dining room, and the view is direct to the up-lit pool. You can feel the wind blowing through the palm trees, and smell the salty ocean ahead. It is divine paradise.
As part of the white-glove service, and if the guest prefers, the staff take your breakfast order at night - nothing is written down - a soft smile leaves you feeling calm knowing you're in excellent hands.
The food is from the same kitchen as La Hola Beto the adjoining restaurant, with a ridiculously massive menu, and where thus far, everything we had was delicious and fresh as we had come to expect from the local cuisine. For breakfast I chose a typical El Salvadoran selection: scrambled eggs, refried beans (the best I've ever had), plantains, and two triangles of a local totally delicious semi-soft cheese. Rolls on the side. Delectable fresh squeezed juices: pineapple, or orange, or watermelon, or papaya grown in the area, fresh from the earth.
The property itself is composed of 8 bungalows, a center pool, a small spa on the beach sand, and the restaurant. It is ocean front with a massive lot of sand, so beautiful you have to pinch yourself you haven't died and gone to heaven. On our last day, we had a couple's massage inside the airy, bamboo made, beach spa - it was hypnotizing.
I will say there is no doubt I will be back to this property in the future. Yes it's a bit on the high end in terms of price for an up-and-coming tourist locale, but it's also very worth it.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter, they're all amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priscila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is a beautiful and unique hotel with only 8 circular bungalows made of teak wood and on stilts. All bungalows are air conditioned with flat-screen t.v.s. The service is excellent, the rooms have a beautiful view of the incredible pool and ocean. The beach is so lovely and the restaurant serves delicious food. The ground floor has a hammock and a swing chair and a table with chairs where you can order food in or go to the restaurant. My husband and I liked it so much that we've taken every guest who has visited us to Tortuga Village and they all loved it. I highly recommend staying there.

Room Tip: They are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeesyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Herradura
4.7 mi away
Hotel Pacific Paradise
Hotel Pacific Paradise
#1 of 3 in La Herradura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
5.4 mi away
Bahia del Sol Hotel
Bahia del Sol Hotel
#2 of 3 in La Herradura
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
8.6 mi away
Rancho Estero y Mar
Rancho Estero y Mar
#2 of 2 in San Luis Talpa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Bahia Dorada
Comfort Inn Bahia Dorada
#3 of 3 in La Herradura
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
10.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Real Aeropuerto
Quality Hotel Real Aeropuerto
#1 of 2 in San Luis Talpa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
6.4 mi away
Las Hojas Resort & Club
Las Hojas Resort & Club
#1 of 1 in El Porvenir
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tortuga Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tortuga Village

Property: Hotel Tortuga Village
Address: Km 66. 5 | Costa del Sol, 1, La Herradura 1606, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > La Paz Department > La Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in La Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tortuga Village 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tortuga Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tortuga Village El Salvador/La Herradura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing