We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buchupureo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Joya del Mar Hotel y Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Buchupureo B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I've had the pleasure of staying at La Joya Del Mar multiple times, and now try to visit once a year. I stumbled upon it with friends, and we couldn't believe this oasis of comfort and hospitality could exist in an otherwise rustic community in Southern Chile. Of course the bucolic surroundings are part of the charm of La Joya Del Mar. This isn't a corporate, package-vacation type of hotel. Instead, you feel like you're staying at the dream estate of classy yet down-to-earth friends. Enjoy wine in front of the fire, eat gourmet meals, and explore the beaches nearby. The views are breath-taking from each villa. The staff goes out of their way to make your visit perfect, even lighting fires in your room each night while you dine. It's rare to find places like this where you can truly relax and enjoy a vacation away from the masses - I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewis s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    19
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
28
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We heard about this place after reading a review about this property in The Lonely Planet. The long road to La Joya del Mar is newly paved and makes the drive enjoyable and the vista is beautiful. We were immediately greeted by a very friendly bilingual couple from California who went out of their way to make sure we were happy and comfortable through out our stay. Our villa was perched up on the top of the property and offered a beautiful view of the beach below, above was a beautiful woodsy area. The room decor has a simple, clean and organic feel. The grounds are well groomed and abundant with beautiful flowers and native trees. The restaurant is clean and open with natural architecture and has a nice outside patio to view the property with an ocean view. Food was scrumptious, cocktails were tasty and we approved of the extensive wine list available. The staff is friendly. The beach is just a short walk away. It was sparsely populated with locals and had a friendly vibe. But be sure to slather on your sunblock, as I got scorched in 30 minutes! Don't forget to enjoy the infinity pool and hot tub, as well. Servers will bring you cocktails of your choice. We enjoyed original hand crafted cocktails. We are so glad we found this hidden gem!! We highly recommend making La Joya del Mar a destination on your list! It will be well worth your time and a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: There are larger and smaller rooms. Make sure to get a description of each!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in La Joya del Mar for one night while traveling from Santiago de Chile to Temuco. The drive from Ruta 5 to the boutique hotel took 30 - 50 minutes - quite problematic if you're in a hurry or jet-lagged after a long flight and just want to get to your comfortable bed, but great if you have time to look out the window.
When we arrived we met the nice staff who showed us to our room. I would like to mention that I've never stayed in such dirty-floored room - our feet were gray after walking a few minutes barefoot. Also the water in the faucets and shower was salt water so you couldn't wash your face or use it for brushing your teeth. They give you a jerrican of mineral water in the morning.
Apart from the salt water and the dust the hotel was amazing: the staff was nice, the view to the ocean was beautiful, the food was great, the architecture and restaurant and room design was amazing, and if there would have been any problems with our reservation I'm sure there would have been no problem to solve them because the manager/owner was a nice man from California who spoke both Spanish and English.
Extremely recommended for those of you who like the outdoors.

Room Tip: Ask for a view to the ocean (though I think it's the only option) and a clean room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 404AAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

La Joya Del Mar in Buchupureo is in an area less traveled, but it isn't hard to get to, and it's well worth going. The property consists of three villas and a restaurant above the Buchupureo beach. What a lovely and peaceful setting! The food is good and plentiful. Our two-bedroom villa was perched above the ocean and offered great views of the sea. One does have to cross a not-very-busy road to get to the ocean, but that was no problem. If you want to get away from the bustle of areas like Valparaiso and Vina Del Mar, this is the place for you. There is a beautiful, crescent bay - empty in March except for a few fishermen, the man with an ox team that pulls the boat out of the ocean, and a surfer or two.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lintb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was our splurge night in Chile. Just stopped in for a night while travelling south. So worth it! Owners were great (and spoke english and spanish) and accomodating to our off season schedule. ALso set up sme surfing lessons for us. Rooms, grounds, pool and view and everything was spectacular. Don't foget the sunscreen, burnt the front half of my body from reading outside... oops!

Room Tip: They all looked great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayak C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Wolfgang, Austria
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

That's a great place to relax, if you are on your way along the coast between Santiago and Pucon. Directly by the ocean with great views over the beach.
Very nice appartements with private terrace overlooking the pacific ocean.
Also to mention - the restaurant, superb fresh fish and very friendly staff.
The owner (from California) is always around and very helpful.
Go there, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The most beautiful boutique hotel we've ever stayed in. The villa was like a fantasy getaway surrounded by gorgeous gardens and pristine beaches. It reminds me of what the beautiful California beaches must have looked at back in the early days when CA

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank szalesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buchupureo
0.6 mi away
Los Maquis Hotel
Los Maquis Hotel
#2 of 2 in Buchupureo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hotel Punta Sirena
Hotel Punta Sirena
#1 of 5 in Curanipe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
18.2 mi away
Paihuen Lodge
Paihuen Lodge
#2 of 5 in Curanipe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Ecolodge Ekilibre
Ecolodge Ekilibre
#5 of 5 in Curanipe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Loberia B&B
La Loberia B&B
#1 of 1 in Cobquecura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
20.5 mi away
Lovel Van Cabanas
Lovel Van Cabanas
#4 of 5 in Curanipe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Joya del Mar Hotel y Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Joya del Mar Hotel y Restaurant

Property: La Joya del Mar Hotel y Restaurant
Address: Camino Buchupureo, KM 8.5, Buchupureo Region 8, Chile
Location: Chile > Biobio Region > Buchupureo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Buchupureo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Joya del Mar is a family owned and operated boutique hotel and restaurant. We cater to an exclusive number of guests, ensuring quality, care and personalized service. La Joya del Mar en Buchupureo offers a bit of everything: relaxation and tranquility on the quiet Central Coast of Chile, a bit of excitement for the athlete, and a rich culture of warm and friendly people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Joya Del Mar Hotel y Restaurant Chile/Buchupureo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing