We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Greek food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kouzina Modern Greek & Meze Bar - CLOSED

Kouzina Modern Greek & Meze Bar
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Influenced by summers spent in the Greek Islands, award-winning executive chef and owner of Kouzina, Theo Kostoglou, shares his passion for Greek flavours with a modern take on Hellenic food.
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Greek food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We went on New Years Eve. Despite being very busy the service was great with really friendly waitresses. We had a banquet and the food was served quickly. Loved the Greek food

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5/10”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

The last impression is what you remember.
Food and service was good. However according the the Robina Town Centre directory they accept Robina Town centre gift cards, when the reality they don't. The manager decided to lie to our faces claiming there was a problem with the gift card, when the only problem was that HE didn't want to accept it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank none255072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Friendly, fresh and fast ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We decided on a very early dinner prior to going to the nearby cinema. We were the only customers at the time but a number of tables had been reserved for those dining at a more reasonable hour. The service was efficient and our meals arrived in good time. The two dips - taramasalata and an eggplant one were fresh and flavoursome and accompanied by delicious piping hot pita bread. The lamb gyros dish was large and tasty and the lamb pie in filo pastry was excellent. Wine prices were moderate and our overall impression was very positive. Looking forward to returning for a meal at leisure.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Burleighboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Greek Garbage!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have been to Kouzina Modern Greek & Meze Bar Robina a number of times now and it has always been a pleasure. I for some reason always seem to order the Kalamaraki Salade, maybe because I couldnt get enought of it. Lime-pepper calamari, lightly fried over a Greek salad that contained Rocket style Lettuce, Cherry Tomatoes, Kalamata Olives, Artichokes, Dried Bread Crumbs , Feta Cheese, Onion and small greek style beans all done in a nice oil dressing.

Now for the bad news.

We went here on Saturday the 5th of January 2013, had my heart set on the Kalamaraki Salade once again but this time I wanted the wife to get it too. Place out order and awaited the arrival of our meals.

Its not a hard meal to make, so it did not take too long for it to come out. Once it was placed in front of us both, we both noticed the changes to the once great Kalamaraki Salad.

Gone is the Rocket Style Lettuce, Cherry Tomatoes, Feta Cheese, Artichokes, Dried Bread Crumbs and the small greek style beans!!!

In its place is a cheap style Lettuce that had more water in it then a ice berg, guessing it was an Ice Berg Lettuce (My most hated Lettuce), Normal Tomatoes cut into big chunks, the onion remained intact along with the Kalamata Olives. Oh yer and of course the calamari was still there. All this was done in a different dressing which was no where as good as the original.

After we had finished our meals (The wife didnt finish hers as the dressing was getting too much for her) we decided to say something to the owner when paying.

Asked him why they had changed the style of the meal? He replied with "It took too much time for the Chefs to make" to our amazement he was not joking. Come on its a Salad and its not like this restaurant is that busy, most of the time its almost empty.My wife replied with the simple words of "it was [--]". The owner didnt care one bit.

We wont be returning to the Kouzina as the owner is ungrateful for his customers opinions and they have now cut down on the quality of their meals to save the poor chefs. Any decent Chef would be able to make this Salad with no fuss at all. Very Poor!!!

To finish this review, I would say to anyone thinking of visiting Kouzina Modern Greek & Meze Ba - Save your $$$

Climb a Tree for me :)

80xer5antar05

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 80xer5antar05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casino
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

They charged me for the wrong meal, for very fatty chunks of meat they charged me $40 when I didn't even want it. In addition to charging me for the wrong meal and being incredibly rude, the service was also very slow and unfriendly.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Miranda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kouzina Modern Greek & Meze Bar also viewed

 
Robina, Gold Coast
 
Robina, Gold Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing