We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall”
Review of River Penang

River Penang
Ranked #13 of 118 Restaurants in Robina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Reasonably new restaurant in Robina. Please add to Gold Coast restaurant listings so I can provide a review.
Gold coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good overall”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The service was terrible; we sat down and were the only table that did not have food (5 tables total), and it took 15 minutes for someone to come take our order, and this required waving for about 5 minutes to get staff attention. Maybe service would have been better if we sat inside? However, the food was delish, and the food was delivered very quickly after ordering.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    28
    11
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
tweed heads
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cheap meals of good quality”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I often dine here with the family. (2 adults, 2 children 13, & 7). I recommend the seafood laksa and hianenese chicken. Some of the dishes are not to my liking however we know which ones are good and order the same each time we go. For a family of four with drinks our bill comes to approximately $60. Can't complain about that.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank caliculi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Quick Malaysian Food”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Staff are friendly and the Malaysian food is authentic. I rate the food good to very good depending on the dish. Meals are always quickly prepared. Good value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JEAN MARC M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great food and awesome service at River Penang. I've eaten here multiple times and enjoyed it every time.
Staff are very friendly and swift with drink orders etc- what you expect!
I personally love the combination Laksa.
Reasonably priced and good food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brownsurfgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bland, boring, tasteless”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Have to agree with the other reviewer who said the food was microwaved......meat was tough and not very hot. Both mains, while being two totally different dishes, tasted exactly the same. Was hurried by the waitress who presented our bill as soon as we had taken the last mouthful and then explained to us that they were in a hurry to go home......nice. I think if you love this place then you probably haven't tasted good, authentic Malaysian.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank happimumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Penang also viewed

Gold Coast, Queensland
Southport, Gold Coast
 
Mermaid Waters, Gold Coast
 

Been to River Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing