We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Burleigh Surf Club

North Burleigh Surf Club
Ranked #3 of 32 Restaurants in Miami
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We come to burleigh three times a year and have been doing so for the past 10 years. The north burleigh surf club is like our second home . Dianne , Bec and all the gang are great but there is a loose chain in the link jaiya.
He is rude not only to ourselves but to other customers as well . I was actually insulted when he asked my husband whether he was a senior when clearly he is not and continued to argue a point with us, and also when some other customers asked him to possibly move some tables to accommodate their group he agressivaley threw the tables and chairs together . I don't think customer service is his forte!!!
I know it can be demanding but there is a thing called tact !
Perhaps he needs to learn what that is !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debba1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayteam, Manager at North Burleigh Surf Club, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi Debba1711, Thanks for getting in touch. On behalf of the club I sincerely apologise for the manner in which you and your husband were treated on this occasion. As you know from previous experience this is certainly not the usual manner of service that we expect from our team and we appreciate the opportunity to rectify the situation with the staff member in question. Your review has been passed onto Rebecca (Restaurant Manager) and we certainly hope that you will visit us again as you have built such a lovely rapport with other members of staff. Thank you again for taking the time to bring this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    186
    64
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
206 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had a few dinners here and it was great club food. Hey, we are not talking about a Jean Georges upper east side establishment here but the food was really delicious and great value for money. The club is directly on the beach and the bar is one of the best for positioning we have been to. Having a cold beer and just looking out onto the waves is really special (and not something you can do at a Jean Georges restaurant).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank worldtourist21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayteam, Manager at North Burleigh Surf Club, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello Worldtourist21, thank you for taking the time to review the club! We certainly pride ourselves on being able to strike the balance between the best quality food and club/pub value for money. We completely agree with you about our location and feel that we are very fortunate to come to work and look out on that vista every day! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Little Surf Club”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Recently spent a week up at Burleigh Heads and had the pleasure of a couple of meals at this club. Every time we experienced very pleasant staff, we were made to feel very welcome and the food was of a high standard (for a club). We have actually joined as members we were that pleased. Intention is to travel here for annual holiday and we will definately be having a few more meals and quiet drinks at this venue. Very friendly atmosphere

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 3Dazzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayteam, Manager at North Burleigh Surf Club, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi 3Dazzler, thank you for your lovely review about our venue. We are really pleased that you enjoyed yourselves so much when you were here in the club that you joined and were able to experience the savings that being a member brings! We do hope that you plans for an annual pilgrimage come to fruition so we can have the opportunity to host you again in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Typical Pub Style Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Sounded very busy when we walked in , no one to greet us , as overseas visitors we had no idea what to do and had to find our own way around ie table , ordering system etc . Once ordered food came very quickly which was impressive , however kids steak was overcooked and chewy (x2) . Apart from that , great atmosphere and location .

Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayteam, Manager at North Burleigh Surf Club, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hello M C, thank you for taking the time to review our club. Firstly, I apologise that our receptionist was not at her post to greet you at the door and offer assistance in how to enter the club. We staff the reception desk at all times however she may have been helping another customer at that given moment. Thank you for the feedback on the childrens steaks, your comments will be passed onto our Executive Chef and he will follow up with his team. We are glad you enjoyed the atmosphere of the club and really appreciate your constructive feedback. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great food,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

we ate here once, the food was great and a reasonable price, the only down side for us was the noise, inside the restaurant it was extremely noisy, to point it was unpleasant and we did not stay as long as we would have liked. To have had another drink and desserts, it was also a bit warm in there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank babiesquuensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayteam, Manager at North Burleigh Surf Club, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hello babiesquuensland, thank you for your review of our club. I agree, it can get a tad noisy particularly when the club is at capacity of approx 500 people. It is a busy venue but it offers great atmosphere with so much going on and fantastic people watching!! We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Burleigh Surf Club also viewed

 
Burleigh Heads, Gold Coast
Burleigh Heads, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to North Burleigh Surf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing