We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jamaican Heaven”

Jamroc Jamaican Jerk Chicken
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The term 'jerk' is the name given to the traditional method of Jamaican cooking in which meats are marinated in a unique blend of herbs and spices, and then char grilled to succulent perfection. The care taken to prepare the 'jerk' marinate, and the time the meat is allowed to marinate in partnership with the char-grilling are essential for producing the amazing flavour and aroma that 'jerk' is renowned around the world for. At Jamroc we follow these timeless traditions and recipes handed down from generation to generation in order to produce such a special and unique flavour thats guaranteed to leave you craving more. Whether you like it the traditional way off the bone, or in a gourmet burger or wrap the choice is yours!
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I just love their festival dumplings and their grilled chicken, will defiantly be going back for sure!

1  Thank Brea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daimian P, Owner at Jamroc Jamaican Jerk Chicken, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2015

Thanks for your Feedback Bree! we appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 64 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Recently dined at this restaurant and sampled the half chicken and chicken burger.

I the taste was fantastic and service absolute tops.

But being a regular of Nandos I have to ask: why is the portion so small? The half chicken was about the same size of the 1/4 chicken at Nandos...

And why was the chicken not as moist as some other jerk chicken I've tried before?

It was pretty good but I kinda wanted it to be better. Was this simply an 'less than perfect' day for the crew at Jamroc?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TIersHasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daimian P, Owner at Jamroc Jamaican Jerk Chicken, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2015

Hi thanks for taking the time to write a review. Our customers usually comment on how moist and full flavoured our chicken is, have you had a chance to visit us again? send me an email to customerfeedback@jamroc.com.au and I'll send you a voucher to revisit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Being from Bermuda and living on the Coast I miss good Jerk Chicken. This place has it and if you're ever at the Q-Centre check it out!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Aussie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daimian P, Owner at Jamroc Jamaican Jerk Chicken, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2015

Thanks Star drop by again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I'd heard about this place from fellow foodies on the coast. Discussion was always about secret spices, hot chillis, and great stromg flavours.

They were right.

Two of us arrived around 8pm mideweek, to find there were only 2 chickens left to serve. These guys do not stay open late by the looks. Or, they simply close when the "good stuff" runs out.

We opted for a whole chicken cut into pieces, covered in their HOT jerk sauce, with a side of chips (fries) and Coleslaw ($26.00 from memory). The hot sauce is the 2nd highest in scale for heat. It was hot, and had me grabbing for my cold drink every so often. Its tasty though, not overpowering, and if you like heat, GO THE HOT ! if you are psychopathically attracted to sphincter burning heat, then go the extra hot (You are mad).

Their chips are unbelievably good too, and the coleslaw was fresh, crispy and not overdone with dressing. Great way to cut through the fat of the chips, and ... some of that HEAT !

We felt a bit rushed as we were the last customers served, but next time, we will go earlier. So much more on the menu we want to try.

We will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tagnbrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daimian P, Owner at Jamroc Jamaican Jerk Chicken, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2015

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review! Come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

A group of ten of us including friends from Jamaica, Bahamas and Samoa travel all the way to the Gold Coast just for a taste of Jamaica and we were not disappointed. Although the servings were quite big, One Family pack was just not enough to satisfy our longing for Jamaican food, so we took two! Loved the fact that we could also get a variety of flavours and the bonus was being served by a Jamaican with the Jamaican accent. It's definitely a restaurant you must visit if you're in Brisbane or Gold Coast Area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephy887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daimian P, Owner at Jamroc Jamaican Jerk Chicken, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2015

Thanks for your review! Pressie! Hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamroc Jamaican Jerk Chicken also viewed

Burleigh Heads, Gold Coast
Burleigh Heads, Gold Coast
 
Burleigh Heads, Gold Coast
Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast
 

Been to Jamroc Jamaican Jerk Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing