We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Have been so much more”
Review of Sailfish Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sailfish Cove
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We traveled to Queensland for our family holiday in March 2011. All in total we had 4 families staying at Sailfish Cove. Upon arrival all our rooms were not ready to check in, which was ok and went shopping. 2 Hours later still 1 of 4 rooms was still not ready (this was 2 hours after check in time) and there was one cleaner working while another was sitting on the sofa drinking (alcohol).
1st night there was unforgettable, our units were opposite the managers unit where they were having a party that night. usual party noise was no great concern but when one of the families went out to their car they found it had been smashed, jumped upon by an underage drinker from the party. (see pic attached), the scary part about this is that the managers knew of this 1 hour prior of us finding out about and failed to contact us about it and seeing the damage that was done why they even failed to call the police.
So alot of crap from us contacting police (which when they arrived told us this area is known for this kind of trouble) insurance companies as well as organizing a rental car for the family involved, basically saw our first 2 days of our holidays stuck on telephones, in offices and waiting for police and tow trucks to sort this mess out. Also over the 10 days of our stay we came across another 2 families where their cars had been broken into over night.
We finally got things sorted out did the normal family holiday stuff over the next 8 days.
Our room was decent, plenty of room but the appliances were so outdated. The resort pools were used alot by our families but maintenance is greatly over looked with many things in and around the pool area needed some attention.
Security gates are present but only worked for half of our holiday and then remained open at all times so why bother having them, also a security guard is present in the night times but only allowed to do what he is told by the managers.
The location of Sailfish Cove is ok but only if you have a car to get around in.
Sadly what could of been a excellent holiday for our 4 families turned out below average and i can confidently say i will not be ever staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mayergeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 41 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2011

Stayed with friends for just a short trip to the Gold Coast.. Whole unit was very dirty, needed a good clean from top to bottom. A nasty incident one evening with other drunken guests involved damage to a car. Security gate remained open for the duration of our stay, so what's the point really. Has the potential to be nice, but needs a lot of work. Not a great location either, need a car to get anywhere.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeithandMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Had a breezy, well-lit two-bedroom unit. Suitably appointed for a longterm stay, but starting to get a little old. Nice swimming pool, but often crowded. Happy enough with the service and staff, but weekly cleaning occurred on a seemingly random day. Location was OK, but does assume you have a car (which I didn't). Enjoyable, family oriented environment.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AcademicTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Stayed in unit 166 which was a quite large three bedroom unit well located between the two pools. We found the exterior and gardens of the resort to be well maintained , however the units are individually owned and thus seem to have different standards applied to them internally in terms of both the cleanliness, furniture and upkeep. Unfortunately we experienced some very dirty pots and pans, a crusty oven, and a number of light bulbs that didn't work. The furniture was quite basic, hardly rewarding and quite dated. Also, one warning to families with young kids, many power cables from the appliances were exposed and often stretched across corners of rooms that could easily be tripped over. We experienced real problems with the window blinds that were often broken and did a very poor job of keeping the light out. The bird life (crows) was also extremely noisy, and combined with the light through the blinds resulted in very early 5am wake up times. On the positive side, we had a garage to ourselves and felt secure. Front reception is closed a lot, but staff were very friendly. The pools were also great and the local cafe very reasonable price wise. Still haven't made up my mind whether I would stay here again. Rates are good but I would want to be in a more modern unit that had been properly cleaned and had better window furnishings.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gordo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Within a 5K radius you will find beaches at Nobby, Mermaid or North Burleigh!
Shopping is also close at hand at Pacific Fair, Robina Fair or Q Centre. Sailfish Cove is a clean, functional and reasonably priced family style resort.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GordyofOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

yep,GREAT two pools both great ,air con,had 3 bed aprtmt ,clean everything you need in kitchen etc,kids loved the pools ,good location,we would stay again 2adlts,3 kids.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank down2earthnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

My partner was initially phased by the distance from the beach but as soon as we arrived we were warmly welcomed and felt instantly at home. We arrived on the Friday and over the weekend became aware that the DVD player was not working, we notified staff at reception on Monday and they came and checked it and immediately purchased a new player for our unit. We became very familiar with the pools as our sons are 6 and 8 and most of the time we were the only ones using them and they were sparkling clean. We were also very close to Pacific Fair, the casino, Robina Shopping centre (very nice) and only 20 mins from the theme parks. Our unit was very clean and as we stayed for 3 weeks our linen was changed each week. The unit faced the canal and we had a jetty close by which was constantly fascinating for our sons who did some fishing and caught some! The birds that frequented the canal were also quite fascinating especially the swans and the pelicans. Overall our family had a great time and we recommend this facility to all families.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sailfish Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailfish Cove

Address: 215 Cottesloe Dr, Mermaid Waters, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Waters
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mermaid Waters
Price Range: $1 - $4 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sailfish Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sailfish Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailfish Cove Mermaid Waters, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing