We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian Food as a staple!”
Review of Luna Rossa

Luna Rossa
Ranked #12 of 32 Restaurants in Tugun
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Italian Food as a staple!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our trips abroad always include a visit to local Italian eatery. We love our pasta done slightly "il dente" and the atmosphere homey. In most cases the pride of ownership is apparent in the food at an Italian restaurant and the "Luna Rossa" is no different. So long as you accept that they get busy and go with the flow you'll never be disappointed. To prove it we would return to the "Luna" without hesitation, and we don't offer such praise lightly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CoachCam77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    42
    12
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unacceptable and slow service”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We visited this restaurant with a hope for some lovely Italian food, however after waiting at our table for 20 minutes for even a menu, then over an hour and a half for our meals with no service or apologies, the food was bland and servings very small. There was no acknowledgement of the delays or lack of service.

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Critique”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice ambience. Great feel. Understaffed in front of house. Confusion with orders when busy. No need for garlic bread in Italian restaurant. You have a pizza oven . Traditional prawn dish lack flavour. Better served in a dish than iron pot with bread. Chicken breast with olives, chilli, basil, etc. far too hot for average taste buds. I each hot Asian food and this was over the top. Nice flavours but just far too hot. Take garlic bread off the menu. Garlic pizza bread is divine. Too much garlic risotto in garlic prawns. Just a small amount on a more open plate rather than a bowl would be better and garnished with Italian parsley.

Helpful?
2 Thank Fussyfoodguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Italian Cuisine- great atmosphere”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Great Italian cuisine. We regularly dine there when visiting the Gold coast and recommend it to friends.
The restaurant can be busy on weekend nights but worth the wait.
It has a great friendly atmosphere and the waitresses are very helpful.
Takeaway is also available and is usually fast.
The premises are recently renovated and now include an extensive outdoor area, in addition to an indoor area which is better if one prefers a more intimate atmosphere.
The menu is extensive, including a range of options and prices.
Pastas, pizzas and tasty veal, steak, seafood, and chicken dishes are available. The vegetables are superbly cooked.
Unfortunately one rarely has room for desert, but on the odd occasion that I have included desert, I found them also tasty..

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Slow service”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Have been twice for dinner in recent months. First time the waitress forgot to place our order and we didn't get to eat for over an hour after our arrival. To give them their due however, they did give us a hefty discount (and we hadn't even complained). On the plus side, our meals were absolutely superb. Best pasta we've had for a long time. Almost worth the wait!
Thought we'd try it again a few nights ago and took some friends along. The same waitress who forgot our order last time seated us and said that our waitress for the night would be along soon to look after us. When she didn't turn up we went and found her. Had to ask her to bring an ice bucket for our champagne which she did after a while, put the unopened bottle in the bucket and disappeared. Opened the bottles ourselves which was not really a problem (but a little unusual given that they charged $4 corkage per bottle) We then had to go and find her again to have her take our order.
Again the pasta was great. One of our friends had a chicken dish which he thought was a bit dry and very salty.
Once we'd finished our mains we again had to wait quite a while for someone to take our dessert order. An older lady finally took it and when we politely asked if she could fast track it she seemed to take offence. Almost threw it at us when it arrived! She then took a seat in the restaurant and proceeded to eat her own meal, which to my mind should never, ever happen in a good restaurant.
All in all, a good meal spoiled by slow and sloppy service. We won't be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbay49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Rossa also viewed

Tugun, Gold Coast
 

Been to Luna Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing