We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kahani Indian Restaurant”

Kahani Indian Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 33 Restaurants in Tugun
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Tugun, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Kahani Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

If you love curry then this is the place to visit. Beautiful flavours and depends on what suits your palate there is a variety of dishes to choose from. The dishes are small but the richness of the spices sure fills you. Excellent and prompt service makes this restaurant one of my favourites.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 900Vegas55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    29
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huizen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Our Monday evening experience. Food very good, service terrible.”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is about the 3rd visit in about a years’ time. Well what for rating shall I give this experience, as the food was very good and service terrible I think I shall go half way with an average.

We were happy that it was open on a Monday evening but I do wonder if the restaurant should bother. Service was not with a smile, not even a bit of friendliness actually. At 8pm we were the only table left and therefore the chairs were taken in from outside. I hate when restaurants do this but I realise that more restaurants on the Gold Coast do this, so maybe I should just have to except that this happens in this part of the world.
Round about this time we were all finished our main courses but we were not even asked if we would like dessert or tea or coffee. The sliding door was left open and the cold air was really felt, I said to family and friends that I think that was a huge hint for us to be on our way, every-one agreed, we really did not feel welcome anymore. Was, still am, flabbergasted.
The food was very good and tasted all how it should, but maybe the tandoori chicken, lamb and rice could all have been served temperature wise some-what, hotter.
Atmosphere in the restaurant is not that nice but we know that and came for the good food. Actually when it is busy, sitting outside is nicer than sitting inside.
So I would give this restaurant a miss on a Monday, get the takeaway or be ready to go by 8pm and know that you shall be having tea and coffee at home.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roma01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorpe Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A decent curry at last!!!!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

As a pom currently living in Australia I am missing the usual thing, bacon, tea, Marmite, and of course a decent curry. Having tried "the best indian restaurant in Sydney" and found it seriously wanting, I was keen to visit another curry house while visiting family on the Gold Coast.
What a revelation! While familiar, the menu lacked the range of side dishes we get in the UK but the food was fantastic. We brought our own drinks so the bill was reasonable too!!
Next time I'm on the Gold Coast, I'll be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FatBl0ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tugun, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good quality food”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We recently dined at Kahani Indian Tugun. The only criticism is that their chairs are too hard and get uncomfortable after a short time. Their curries are authentic, wonderfully full flavoured and good variety on the menu. We loved the Malai Kofta after reading the review from ShanJK.
Will get takeaway next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetT849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant Indian”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Great food. One of my favourite Indian places on the coast. The Malai kofta is my favourite. Must try the cheese naan. Other dishes such as korma are good as well. Good service.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank ShanJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kahani Indian Restaurant also viewed

Coolangatta, Gold Coast
 
Runaway Bay, Gold Coast
 

Been to Kahani Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing