We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandcastles on Currumbin Beach
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The resort is located directed on the beach, you need only walk 100m down to the surf. The resort pool and spa is great and well maintained. Our family of 4 (boys 9 & 6) had a great weekend here at the end of the school holidays and our car never left the secured parking area. Tugun patrolled beach and Currumbin patrolled beach are a small stroll down the waterline if you prefer to swim between the flags. Currumbin Creek (which is a little calmer and shallower for your kids) is a 10 min stroll along the beach, this was our favourite spot and we will return here again.
Eating out, Brian explained very well where we could eat with both surf clubs being within 5 mins walking, a street of restaurants back on the main road only 10 mins walking, plus we brought our own groceries for a BBQ at the complex. The views out to the ocean whilst cooking and eating on the deck were stunning on sunset. The BBQ is left extremely clean and the area has plenty of room for restless children to play. There is a swing and slippery dip in a small park right outside the complex, even my boys loved this! Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary is literally around the corner and we had a lovely day wandering around looking at all the animals. We past a general store on the way home and treated ourselves to an ice cream.
The apartment (15) was really clean, well set out and the kitchen had everything we needed to cook small meals.
If I had to choose a negative and I am surprised no other review has mentioned it.....you must keep in mind you are right near the Gold Coast airport so the planes are noisy all day. In saying that though the only time I really noticed it was at 6am in the morning when we were woken everyday by the flurry of planes leaving. It meant we did not get a well earned sleep in any of the days we were there.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Rockintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 80 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

Thanks for such a wonderful stay. We will be back next year. One small negative, it would have been nice to know that to have air conditioning in our room would cost an additional $14 per night. Otherwise it was just wonderful. Excellent location, lovely friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellaandrino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Well there's so much I want to say but I'm a slow typewriter. The accommodation is excellent, the location is amazing and above all Brian and Viv make you feel so welcome. The service there is so personal and you feel like a VIP when you are there. I would recommend this place to everyone. It was so lovely to do our visit just before Christmas and we certainly had a relaxing time. Thanks again Brian and Viv. Jacqui C.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqash2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We spent a weekend here and will most definitely recommend to others!
The view from our room (3 bedroom apartment) was spectacular, and the pool and spa area a must :) We were able to use the bbq area both days, with the complex being quiet and we'll maintained.

A perfect place for a family to stay to be close to the beach, good food, and good sun!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Excellent location, great accommodation, and close to everything. A fantastic spot to get away and do as little or as much as you want. The seeing, and interacting with the wildlife each day was a real highlight that just made our few days escape even more relaxing and memorable. Brian and Vivian couldn't do enough for us and we were very grateful. See you again very soon. Regards, Leigh & Patrick Carr

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeighBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I think it is false advertising to pay extra for "views", only to be told when we checked in that this does not mean ocean views. We had a view of a couple of palms and a concrete wall. Very disappointing as I only book places on the beach with a balcony and a view of the beach and ocean. The website also said air-conditioned, but this means "available" - a noisy ineffective portable air con that we had to pay extra for!
And we arrived on the hottest day ever - 41
The robes in the bedroom were full of old tvs so could not use it. Haven't slept in the bed yet, but not confident!
Location is good, pool is nice, but the apartments desperately need cleaning and a refurb. Not good value for money. Would not recommend it.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We travelled with our 2 toddlers. Perfect spot for us, kids & us loved being so close to the beach. Room was great even thou it was a struggle carting everything up the stairs to rm 12 with the kids but on the flip side a few brews were indulged in so the excercise was welcome. Hosts were helpful. My brother & family stayed the weekend to & i must say their rm was awesome, either 5 or 6, if u come in the main doors its the first rm on the right & has a small fenced grassed area in front of the room. This would be my pick especially if u have small children. I would reccomend this place to stay and we will defiently be back. Be prepared for the many planes heading to the gc airport, u get used to it pretty quick thou.

Room Tip: ground corner suite & one beside it perfect for family, grassed fenced area still overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cass P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Currumbin
2.4 mi away
19th Avenue on the Beach
19th Avenue on the Beach
#1 of 2 in Palm Beach
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
Sanctuary Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Currumbin
138 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hill Apartments
The Hill Apartments
#4 of 9 in Currumbin
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sanctuary Lake Apartments
Sanctuary Lake Apartments
#1 of 1 in Currumbin
171 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bilinga Beach Motel
Bilinga Beach Motel
#3 of 4 in Bilinga
218 reviews
3.8 mi away
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastles on Currumbin Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastles on Currumbin Beach

Address: 31 Teemangum Street, Currumbin, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Currumbin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Currumbin
Price Range: $89 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandcastles on Currumbin Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandcastles on Currumbin beach offers absolute beach front accommodation in a quiet location. The complex is enfolded by beautifully landscaped gardens, large entertainment area with sun deck plus barbecue. Sandcastles also has a beautiful large swimming pool together with a heated spa to relax at the end of your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandcastles on Currumbin Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Castles Currumbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing