We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place so Much!”
Review of Sand Castles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sand Castles
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Everything about this place gives me the fondest of memories. The facilities were clean and modern. Sitting on our balcony feeding the lorikeets was a real highlight. The managers were warm and friendly and really appreciated the feedback. I would recommend this resort to any family wanting to stay in the area. We booked for three days via Wotif with extremely reasonable rates and were pleasantly surprised with what we got for our dollar. Fantastic! Thank you!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a lower floor - saves lugging the luggage up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 79 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2011

a great place, good location, expectionally clean, great view of the beach, the lorrikeets visiting was a bonus, the planes landing over head a bit loud, but we got used to it.

Room Tip: go for a beach view, or a bit quieter garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babiesquuensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

We had booked 4 nights got Room 18. Went straight out for groceries but 4pm noticed fridge not working. Logically thinking tried increasing coldness but still not working and called mgmt 7pm. He told us it was because we increased the coldness and froze channel from freezer to fridge. He told us to turn the fridge off again and if it still didn't work we could use the spare fridge in car park 3 levels below and no lift. He told us he goes to bed 9pm so we took the hint he didn't want to be disturbed.

We followed his instructions getting up numerous times in night and when we complained at 9.15am when office opened he went to look at it again. He told us it was working. Our water bottles were the same temp as if we had left them on the bench yet the fridge had been on over 6 hrs. I said we were leaving so they offered us another room but the poor service had gone beyond that point. How could we give cereal to 4 year old grandson when now we didn't know the condition of the milk. We had to contact wotif ourselves to get some of our prepaid money back.

We had been prepared to stay in the filthy unit as it was only 3 1/2 star. Dirty fans, dirty vents, dirty cutlery drawer, fly screens missing, vertical blind weights banging in the breeze all day/night.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ozdrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Sand Castles was such a great find - we could not have asked for a better location or accommodation for our wedding guests; Brian and Viv were very accommodating in coordinating a large number of bookings from people all around the world. All the accommodation was fantastic – from the extremely spacious villa, to the penthouses with awesome views to the 2 bedroom apartments which were all very comfortable and nicely furnished. We enjoyed lots of swimming in the pool and spa and as well a post wedding barbecue on the deck which overlooked the park and beach.

Viv and Brian were very friendly and helpful, including assisting with medical emergencies and last minute wedding drama’s! Our guests all had nothing but positive things to say about their stay at Sand Castles. Currumbin itself is a lovely holiday destination and Sand Castles is in a great location, right on the beach and park and close to all the excellent restaurants and Surf Clubs. We had an awesome “wedding week” with our family and friends and thank Viv and Brian for providing such a great place for us all to stay. Cheers!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

My husband and I were married in November with the Ceremony on the beach just outside the resort and held our reception on the deck in the resort, overlooking the beach. That day was the best day of my life, not only because I married the man of my dreams but because Sandcastles on Currumbin made it happen! The resort was fully booked with our wedding guests, the managers of Sandcastles were exceptional, location PERFECT, with amazing views. What more could you ask for! We will be celebrating every anniversary at this hidden gem. I also know our guests had such a great time that some have already booked their Christmas vacation with them.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassdekz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Had a long weekend away with friends at Sand Castles last weekend. We shared a penthouse that had the most amazing views and was really well appointed. The managers were friendly and really helpful and obviously know the area well as the restaurants they reccommended were excellent - and all within walking distance. We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

If you like amazing location, amazing facilities, amazing time... Sandcastles on Currumbin Beach is the place. My family of 4, 2 adults and 2 children (4 and 14 years), we had an amazing time. We could not fault the amazing beachfront location and the managers, viv and brian, also spent time letting us know how to make the most of stay, we walked EVERYWHERE. The Bird Sanctuary, the local fresh food markets, two surf clubs, nice cafes, restaurants and they even recommended great pizza delivery. Viv & Bryan were great hosts and good local knowledge made our stay more enjoyable. We don't often get away, but we can highly recommend this for 2 nights or 2 years. Get to Sandcastles n

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyTravellers0006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Currumbin
3.7 mi away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#5 of 12 in Coolangatta
1,140 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bay of Palms Resort
Bay of Palms Resort
#1 of 1 in Elanora
128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Lake Apartments
Sanctuary Lake Apartments
#1 of 1 in Currumbin
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
Sanctuary Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Currumbin
137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Riviera Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
The Hill Apartments
The Hill Apartments
#5 of 9 in Currumbin
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Castles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Castles

Address: Sandcastles 31 Teemangum St, Currumbin, Gold Coast, Queensland 4223, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Currumbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Currumbin
Price Range: $92 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sand Castles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sand Castles on Currumbin beach offers absolute beach front accommodation in a quiet location.The complex is enfolded by beautifully landscaped gardens, large entertainment area with sun deck plus barbecue. Sand Castles also has a beautiful large swimming pool together with a heated spa to relax at the end of your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Hotwire so you can book your Sand Castles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Castles Currumbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing