We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My experience was sadly different”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sanctuary Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My wife & I were hoping to enjoy the same experience as those who have given positive reviews. Sadly we were frustrated with the resorts internet not working (reported 3 times), the hot spa was not heated, DVD remote having no batteries, 2 light bulbs not working, 1 bathroom /laundry combined, no ceiling fans in bedrooms, unit had poor paint, sound of neighbours above us, resort sign not effective at night, pool being used outside of stated hours,noisy & also body boards/ball left in that area. We left 1 day early, & on departure Garry said internet had been fixed & they were "pretty casual".

Room Tip: Get unit with ocean front which are away from the pool, also hopefully smoke from neighbouring balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisGDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry L, Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for making the effort to comment on your stay.
I can understand your frustration with the in room internet service ( which we are not involved in) being down, and was fixed before your departure.
We are a good accommodation provider for relaxing holidays and our prime purpose is to assist our clients, and the suggestion to use the internet cafe across the road must not have solved your problems.
As a husband and wife team we offer a tranquile setting on the beach front with good service. Issues like clients leaving aboogie board or a ball in the pool area and use of the pool do not worry me as long as clients are not concerned. You should have advised me you had issues with others. in 6 years of management at sanctuary Beach noise has not been raised with me as an issue. Our policy is for staff to replace batteries and lights as soon as we are aware of problems.
Our resort is about casual holidays and yes the vast majority of our clients do like our service and have a plearsurable time. We would welcome you back again in the future for you to see this for yourself. Regards Garry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 138 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

Had a lovely stay here with my family, right on the beach, we stayed in a two bedroom unit with a wonderful view of the beach, the unit was spacious and had two bathrooms and also everything you needed but on arriving the leather lounge had a two massive tips in the couch I decided that I would put a blanket over the couch as it was a eyesore but the unit had no blankets, which was odd, a few little things were not overly clean but the state of the lounge was terrible spoke to the manager when leaving regarding the lounge so I hope this problem has been resolved, lovely location and spacious but very dated furniture, good value for money considering the beach front location

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meggsncraigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry L, Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for sharing with others you had a lovely stay with your family.and that the unit was spacious.
I actually appreciate you raising the issue of the rips in the leather lounge which has now been replaced. Thank you also for raising the issue of extra blankets, we keep extra linen in the linen storage room and generally have a couple of blankets in the units for clients additional use. It would appear our cleaning staff have taken extra blankets to linen room for washing after the completion of the October school holidays in preparation of the warmer summer weather.
Thanks for advising you felt your stay was good value for money. I do recall you and your family even though we were heavily booked and I appreciate your comments in a very professional and curtious manner as we actually appreciate polite constructive comment. Thanks Garry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My partner & I have stayed here 3 times now & will return again.

It's by no means 5 star, and some of the furnishings could do with updating, however it is absolutely first class when you consider what it costs.

The location is fantastic....being right on the beach is certainly a bonus when you consider that's what you go to Currumbin for.

But what impresses the most with this property is the fantastic service provided by Manager Garry Layton. I have stayed in all variety of accommodations globally (from simple to 7 star) & Garry is more flexible & accommodating than any manager I have encountered.

The last time we stayed he suggested that if we had a 7am flight we should come straight to SBR and he would have our room ready, while this most recent visit he said that the apartment wasn't booked the following night & so he was happy to organise for the cleaners to come the day after our check-out such that we could have use of the apartment for the day of our check-out at no additional cost. As we had a 5:40pm flight out, this meant we could make the most of our last day, enjoying the beach, & then go back for a shower before heading to the airport. Where else do they offer this?? (And, I might note, on both of these occasions, Garry volunteered these flexible check-in / out times without me even requesting it!!). It's rare to get such friendly, flexible, accommodating service, but it really makes all the difference to your enjoyment of your time in Currumbin. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: It's worth considering paying extra for a 3 bedroom apartment, they are much lighter & brigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry L, Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you.

Words almost fail me, we are a husband and wife team here and we have a great location so the end result comes down to how do we look after our clients. Sanctuary Beach Resort does what we think we deserve when we travel, that is provide good customer service.

Yes it is rare in todays society but more than price, service builds a happy memory and people go on holidays for a pleasurable time and a relax. Assisting clients is simple and even though we are lucky to be on the Beach Front with no roads to cross, service and assistance will either please a client or send them elsewhere, if sub standard, because there are many operators in our industry and many clients have unfortunate experiences.
Thank you for your warm and friendly story. Regards Garry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Referred by friends, this resort has given us pleasurable experience and I would like to share that with you. We stayed for a short four days, it was great value, staff were friendly and helpful, units were spacious and great quality and cleanliness. It was within walking distance of the beach, shopping and Currumbin SLSC. I highly enjoyed our time there and highly recommend it. Thank you

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view as you can see the beach and if you're lucky, might see whales.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 44Diane59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry L, Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thanks 44Diane59.
At Sanctuary Beach we want people to have all the feelings you expressed.
As a husband and wife Owner operation we have our money invested in the business and want to provide what we look for when we manage a short break, that is a plesurable experince.
People come to the beach for a break, not just a change of kitchen, and we enjoying providing a little extra to provide the end result that you have so wonderfully detailed.
At Sanctuary Beach we try and provide early check ins and late check outs where possible and I have found that clients appreciate that assistance and our hands on customer service.
Thanks 44 Diane 59 you have made our extra effort worthwhile.
Regards Garry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in Feb 13
Really enjoyed the unit , views , easy walking distance to shops,
clubs, didn't have the best weather but still used the pool BBQ area loved it so much going back in November with friends

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry L, Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thanks Karen B for a review of your stay.
Currumbin does have some nice restaurants and is close to shops, and the wildlife Sanctuary, so with the great Beach Front location my wife and I think we have a wonderful place to live.
Our patrolled beach really is a nice spot, for families or couples.

Regards Garry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank skatracey
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Garry L, Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just back from Sanctuary Beach Resort right on the beach at Currumbin. It's a lovely resort with friendly, helpful staff just around the corner from the Currumbin Bird Sanctuary. It has a great heated swimming pool and full sized tennis court if you want to be active. We loved being able to walk to the clubs and many restaurants nearby each night. The bus is at the door for trips to Surfers, Pacific Fair and the Worlds. Our unit was two storey with a huge bedroom, ensuite and sitting room on the top level with views to the ocean. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry L, Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thanks Cathy,
Yes the well known and improved Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary is across the road. They have upgraded their impressive facility to include a green challenge for adventeruous teenagers, and a night time tour with meal cooked in the ground in front of clients. Of course there is still free bird feeding in the morning and afternoon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Currumbin
0.1 mi away
Sanctuary Lake Apartments
Sanctuary Lake Apartments
#1 of 1 in Currumbin
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandcastles on Currumbin Beach
0.5 mi away
The Hill Apartments
The Hill Apartments
#4 of 9 in Currumbin
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
4,804 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rocks Resort
The Rocks Resort
#3 of 9 in Currumbin
90 reviews
1.1 mi away
Currumbin Sands on the Beach
Currumbin Sands on the Beach
#3 of 13 in Palm Beach
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Beach Resort

Address: Sanctuary Beach 47 Teemangum St, Currumbin, Gold Coast, Queensland 4223, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Currumbin
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Currumbin
Price Range: $107 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sanctuary Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under New Freindly & Helpful Management. Sanctuary Beach Resort is just that, a place set on an absolute beachfront property that brings you a much needed sanctuary amongst a very busy and hectic lifestyle.We encourge you to come and enjoy our beautiful pool, surrounding gardens and family BBQ areas. Ask our very friendly and helpful staff any questions about our local attractions, restaurants and peacful drives. Enjoy our local fair and shops located on Pacific Parade,located in walking distace. Have a drink on us at the very accessable Currumbin Viking Surf Club. Located just three minutes up the beach with 180 degree views of the pacific ocean. You can see clearly from Surfers Paradise to Collangatta. With our very clean and comfortable FULLY Self-contained units (ranging from 2 to 3 bedrooms), you will feel as though you are living here, if only for a short time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sanctuary Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing