We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lorikeets a no-show”

Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.20*
and up
Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Currumbin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Voted one of the Gold Coast's most popular tourist destinations, Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary is the crown jewel of the National Trust of Australia (Queensland) [NTAQ] properties. As one of Queensland's earliest nature-based tourist destinations, the Sanctuary is a physical embodiment of everything the NTAQ represents: dedication to conserving our nation's Indigenous, natural and historic heritage and culture. With Blinky Bill now present for daily shows, the amazing viewing experiences available at the Wildlife Hospital and hundreds of native Australian animals on display in natural bushland and rainforest settings, Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary is the ultimate holiday adventure for the entire family.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I was especially looking forward to the lorikeet show, it being one of the highlights of my last visit there as a child 30 years ago. Unfortunately, the lorikeets were a no-show (apparently it is a 50-50 chance on any day of seeing them). Nonetheless, we found there were plenty of other animals to see. My favourite was the tree kangaroo, just beyond the kangaroo enclosure. I also enjoyed watching the dingoes and koalas. Some of the tour groups were pretty loud and disruptive, unfortunately, with people attempting to pull the kangaroos' tails etc, but the volunteers handled the situation well, politely telling people not to do that.

It's a shame about missing out on seeing the lorikeets, but otherwise there is plenty to see/do here.

1  Thank alexandraleaving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin_Sanctuary, Digital Manager at Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Hi Alexandra, thank you for your review! It's a shame the lorikeets didn't come down for you, they can be a bit unpredictable sometimes...Your best bet is to come the morning after a couple of days of rain when natural food sources are a bit lower.

The tree kangaroos are absolutely beautiful creatures - we love them too :)

We look forward to seeing you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,728)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"bird show"
in 235 reviews
"lorikeet feeding"
in 151 reviews
"animal hospital"
in 101 reviews
"segway tour"
in 50 reviews
"mini train"
in 31 reviews
"australian animals"
in 93 reviews
"train ride"
in 86 reviews
"small train"
in 34 reviews
"aboriginal dance"
in 37 reviews
"high ropes course"
in 41 reviews
"gold coin donation"
in 28 reviews
"tasmanian devils"
in 50 reviews
"koala photo"
in 26 reviews
"australia zoo"
in 51 reviews
"tree kangaroos"
in 28 reviews
"overseas visitors"
in 55 reviews
"the gold coast"
in 188 reviews
Filter

2,172 - 2,176 of 2,728 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

It has been some years since we have visited and was very impressed by the development. There is so much to see, you can spend a full day there. We went with our grand children and children, 3 generations and we all loved it.

1  Thank Ange W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin_Sanctuary, Digital Manager at Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Hi Ange, Thanks for your review! So great to hear you, your children and grandchildren enjoyed your time at Currumbin. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Currumbin Sanctuary has come a long way. not only does it still have the lorikeets come twice daily for feeding, it has many other animals and educational talks about the animals. It now has a great playground for the kids as well. We really enjoyed our day and had fun while learning a great deal about Australian animals.

Thank MareeandAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin_Sanctuary, Digital Manager at Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Hi Maree and Andrew, thanks for the great review! So nice to hear you and you children had an enjoyable and educational visit to Currumbin. Hope to see you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

A great family day out is to be had here, the bird feeding is not to be missed, lots of animals to see the kids will love it

Thank thumper123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin_Sanctuary, Digital Manager at Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Hey Thumper, thanks for the review! Great to hear you and your kids love Currumbin :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I absolutely loved this place & visited MANY times while living on the Gold Coast. Make sure you attend the lorkeet feeding - but don't wear your best shirt! LOL!

Thank MKJLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin_Sanctuary, Digital Manager at Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Hi MKJLR, thanks for the great review! So nice to hear you've visited and enjoyed Currumbin multiple times. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Southport, Gold Coast
 
Burleigh Heads, Gold Coast
Springbrook, Gold Coast
 

Been to Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing