We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coming back another time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hill Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hill Apartments
Aabenraa, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Coming back another time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We went there November 2013 where we had apartment 12, which is towards the street.

The good:
The apartment is very nice and big, with enough room for 4 persons. Nice bedroom, nice toilet, big kitchen with everything we needed and a livingroom with free cable-tv and couches. We couldn't hear any neighbours and the area was very quiet and relaxing. This apartment is facing the street, so we could hear cars in the morning when having all the doors open, but that wasn't a problem.
It has a great view over Currumbin inlet and towards Surfers Paradise and over the ocean.
It has it's own parking spot and a gate, that closes off everything in the night.
Also, the owner/staff was very polite.

The bad:
The apartment could use some small repairs and some paint, it's starting to show some age. Some kitchen utilities where pretty useless because of their age and could need replacement.

Other notes:
Coolangatta airport is placed behind "The Hill" and you will at some point have a plane flying right over the apartments. It was never a problem for us and it wasn't a problem with noise either.
There is alot of birdlife right outside the balcony and we had different parrots landing on the railing every morning, which we also liked alot. If you don't like birds, another apartment might be better for you.

Overall we loved it there and we would definately try and get the same apartment again next time we go there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HPetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at The Hill Apartments by chance as I love the Currumbin area and wanted to stay within a short walk of the Alley with an ocean view for a night and they just happened to have available rooms at a reasonable price.

The management were easy to deal with and helpful and the view from the apartment was fantastic looking over the Alley and to the north. Walk out the front door and across the street and you are basically in the water already which is amazing. There are cafes and restaurants and the surf club at Elephant Rock just a few minute stroll around the corner.

The apartment we stayed in was a bit worn and dated but had plenty of space with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, laundry, kitchen etc and a balcony with a great view which was what we really wanted. One thing to keep in mind is that the apartments here are privately owned so there can be vastly different levels of maintenance and fit out from one apartment to the next. Not much you can do about except request a nice one when you book!

There are stairs in the apartment complex as it is located on a hill (as the name suggests). We had no problem at all with this but it is something to keep in mind.

The pool is heated which is great when it's a little bit colder.

I'll be back staying at the Hill Apartments again in January 2014 so will post an update then!

Room Tip: Just remember that there is a lot of variation between apartments as they are privately owned. Can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We recently stayed in a beautiful clean unit overlooking the Currumbin Creek. Actually you could see right up to Surfers Paradise and around to Currumbin Rock. Watched the whales moves south and sooo many Stand Up Paddle boards. We also had a lock up garage to store our surf boards and a locked cage in the car park for our larger craft. We will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms could be warm in the middle of summer - ask for airconditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kero56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth wa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

A girlfriend and I 'stayed' here for 7 very unpleasant days! The location was good for fitness activities, the surf club , the view and the airport. The bad was the apartment and the responses we got from management. First unit was unit 51, and end unit, freezing cold, invaded with ants in the kitchen, cleaning was not up to scratch. There were dishes in the dishwasher, toaster was full of crumbs, mould on the blinds in the main bedroom. We had to launder all the blankets in the second bedroom, before we could use them, they were full of dust - management claims they do a spring clean ( does that mean they only clean once a year - probably!), the small electric fan heater had to be vacuumed because of dust and kept tripping any powerpoint we plugged it into and there was a very distinct damp/ mould smell in the second bedroom - I spend 3 nights on the couch to escape the stench (management couldnt do anything about it).The sliding screen door to the balcony couldnt be locked and we found the end panel (to secure the door) in the main bedrooms WIR - I moved to another hotel for 2 nights and came back to find that the issues were not all resolved. We were then moved to another apartment ( they were full up before), which was cleaner, but still had bathroom issues and dodgey homemade version of double glazing - no screens and the sliding windows and the windows came away from the frame. The apartments back onto the GC HWY - very noisy it is also in the middle of the flight plan. The undercover parking is good only if you have something no bigger than a Camry. There are no lifts, only stairs, so good luck if you are any higher than the second floor. My advice, get to see the apartment before you sign on the dotted line.......and refuse anything not up to scratch. These are privately owned, so its pot luck!!

Room Tip: Gound floor in A block
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank millyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

we were planning a quiet stay at the gold coast and wanted to explore the currumbin creek and surrounds. the stay at the hill apartment was most pleasant. the views were sensational on the third floor - you see the exercise fanatics, jogging , walking , cycling and paddling at 5.30am. highlights of our stay: 2 rosellas landed on my arm while i was eating breakfast at the balcony, i fed them bread from my hand. but beware, they have sharp beaks and easily cut your skin if you try to prise food from the bird. seeing folks catch mullets and breams using casting nets from bridge.
if you are reading this, maggie, thanks for the currumbin memories.
the only drawback was that our largish hired car just barely fitted into the allocated garage space.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yeong o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hills recently during the recent Queensland storms and despite a few cleaning issues (minor stuff) we found the place to be excellent value.

We had a pool level 2 bed 2 bath apartment which was great and the people runni g the place are very friendly an accomodating.

It's on a hill so undetstand steps are involved but the view is a great pay off.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed for one week and enjoyed every moment of it. Great location for all surfers, close to the Currumbin Surf Club and many other good spots.
Our apartment was well equipped with all necessities.
One thing missing was a secure storage place for surf boards etc.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onefortruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Currumbin
1.0 mi away
Bay of Palms Resort
Bay of Palms Resort
#1 of 1 in Elanora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rocks Resort
The Rocks Resort
#3 of 9 in Currumbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sanctuary Lake Apartments
Sanctuary Lake Apartments
#1 of 1 in Currumbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
Sanctuary Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Currumbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Cove
Little Cove
#9 of 9 in Currumbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.6 mi away
Currumbin Sands on the Beach
Currumbin Sands on the Beach
#2 of 15 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hill Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hill Apartments

Property: The Hill Apartments
Address: The Hill 38-42 Duringan St, Currumbin, Gold Coast, Queensland 4223, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Currumbin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Currumbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hill Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Hill Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing