We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, Fun, Relaxing...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Gold Coast Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrara
Certificate of Excellence
ashleighdolan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly, Fun, Relaxing...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

My first impression was the friendly staff, welcoming and inviting. The property was well looked after and there was amazing wildlife everywhere you looked. My room was very clean and comfortable and had excellent views.

Not ridiculous hotel pricing either, everything seemed very reasonable.

15 mins in a taxi from the centre of town. Peace and quiet, and not far from anything.

Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleighdolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    511
    170
    60
    36
See reviews for
324
407
48
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2010

Two nights at the Radisson is quite enough! This funny little place, squished into a corner of a golf course, has comfortable rooms in a rather large complex built in rather a small space. After arriving into rather a grand entrance and checking in, guests are shoved back out the front door to the road to commute to their rooms, which is odd even after a few days!
Despite a few gems, the service staff are mostly terrible. Simple things like greetings are a little too much to ask, and although I was there for a major conference, staff were unable to advise me accurately of which rooms were being used for it.
I had a problem with the rather old television in my room, and on ringing the front desk, was told that someone would be up to look at it. After an hour, I tried to ring back, but the front desk wasn't answering anymore. I pulled the wiring apart and isolated the problem to the remote control, which I then discovered was wet! I managed to take this apart and used the hair-dryer to dry it, which finally got it working, two hours after I had first rung reception. I tried ringing reception again to tell them I had fixed the problem, but still no answer.
The breakfast was a very ordinary affair. The bain maries offer soggy steamed bacon, 'grilled' tomatoes with no grill marks or any caramelisation, and eggs from a carton. Other meals provided for our conference were no better. If you come with a car, eat out.
For a business conference, this place has the added drawback that it is in a poor service area for mobile reception. Of course, this may be an advantage if you're on holiday. And the location is good for this purpose too, as it is away from the Gold Coast's nightmarish traffic and noise.
Apart from the poor service, I would consider this acceptable, if the rooms were reasonably priced. For the price of this place, I expect a lot more.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

1970's plumbing; the whole building whined when anyone had a shower.
1980's decor and odour to match.
1990's appliances; the fridge and clock that had to be turned off at night because of the racket they emitted, the TV made everyone appear significantly jaundiced.
Cold bacon and eggs delivered in the morning.
Extremely noisy; road on one side, amplifying corridor on the other.
Friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwi089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

Overall had a below average experience here which was disappointing. Even though we were reassured in the hotel room that unless we were '100%' satisfied they would make it right or we won't pay is just rubbish!
Had a couple of incidents that were reported and were disappointed at the lack of service provided to make it good. For instance...the air conditioning unit in our room was faulty and we had an annoying clicking sound all night which resulted in hardly any sleep!!
Their lack of empathy was noted and hence why I'm writing this review.
Perhaps the saying of you get what you pay for but I was expecting a little more for a reasonable hotel chain.
The location was also miles away from anything so you'd have to have a hire car if you are considering staying here.
I wouldn't go back there! Not for value, location or service!! Non of them were reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraJowitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights on business and overall it was "ok". The first night I checked in at around 8.30pm, which after flying from NZ was about 10.30pm my body clock time. Rather than going to the restaurant for dinner I thought I would get room service - what a mistake that was. It took 40 mins for my order to arrive and when it did it was the wrong order. The porter then went to swap the meals and obviously by the time I received mine it was cold....... this was an hour after it was first ordered!! The hotel did end up sending me a hot meal but by this time I was struggling to stay awake.

The rooms are basic but nice and I was surprised to find a minibar was non-existent - not even any water was available. Seeing as though I was on business I did not have much time to explore the grounds but overall they seemed ok.

This hotel may be suitable for a budget family vacation but otherwise I would not stay here again - much better to be found around Broadbeach.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpclements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

We had a room backing onto the road and drive room - very noisy all night. Added to this was the noise from other rooms in the block, particularly exterior doors closing, meant one of the loudest nights I've experienced in a hotel (& i've stayed in new York!). Dust over glasses also wasn't a good look.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurupt23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
178 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

Stayed for a conference, booked our rooms via wotif, for $149 a night. Good size but smelled musty. Bed looked saggy, but was comfortable.
Originally given a room a long way from the main complex, but asked and was moved just by the pool and spa on the ground floor. This may not suit everyone, but I didn't find it noisy.
The decor was all a bit tired, wooden surfaces in rooms were scratched and discoloured, wallpaper in the main conference room looked like it was peeling away.
Long way from Broadbeach- $30 by cab one way. That may put a lot of people off too.
The food we had with the conference was buffet style and tasty, well presented. Didn't use other facilities- wanted a drink at the bar when we got back from our meal in broadbeach, but bar was closed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GayleJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrara
3.6 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
3.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,577 reviews
3.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
1.7 mi away
RACV Royal Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gold Coast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gold Coast Resort

Property: Mercure Gold Coast Resort
Address: Palm Meadows Drive | Palm Meadows, Carrara, Gold Coast, Queensland 4211, Australia (Formerly Radisson Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Carrara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gold Coast Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of it all - just minutes from beautiful Gold Coast beaches and renowned golf courses, Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, world class shopping and sporting stadiums - Mercure Gold Coast Resort is perfectly positioned for your business trip or next holiday. This beautifully appointed resort is one of the top choices on the Gold Coast for relaxing, unwinding and rejuvenating away from the hustle and bustle of the city. When planning where to stay on the Gold Coast, for a fun family holiday with the kids, sneaking away for a romantic couples' escape or teeing off on a golf weekend - no hotel makes you feel more at home than Mercure Gold Coast Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Gold Coast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Resort Gold Coast Hotel Carrara
Radisson Gold Coast
Radisson Hotel Carrara
Radisson Carrara
Carrara Radisson
Mercure Gold Coast Resort Carrara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing