We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Gold Coast Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrara
Certificate of Excellence
Perth WA
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Resort”
Reviewed December 5, 2006

This property is fantastic! Whether it be for a weekend away, honeymoon, or business trip. We have stayed here twice now and would not hesitate to come back.

The service is beyond reproach.

The location is great, without being in the hustle and bustle of Surfers Paradise it is only a 5 minute drive. There are so many restaurants around, not to mention the massive shopping complex " The Pacific Fair". With easy access to the Pacific Motorway (M1) the theme parks can be reached with no stress.

The actual property is really like a retreat - a real treat to come back to at the end of a big day at the theme parks or shopping! With many different wings, children can stay and you wouldn't even know - especially with property having more than one pool.

AN EXCELLENT PLACE TO STAY - GREAT VALUE TOO!

  • Liked — The tranquil setting
  • Disliked — The bats at night
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charmaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    521
    173
    62
    38
See reviews for
332
421
51
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aussie business traveller
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2006

Stayed here for one night only in November 06.
Location: Not convenient for walking anywhere, 10 mins drive to Surfers etc. Resort has a shuttle for $7 / Day. Great for golfers or those that want to hang around the resort.
When booking was told (Internet) either "pool or garden view room" I was lucky enough to get a "Road view". No problem really as failry quiet road. (Tip: Ask for a block away form the road)
Rooms: Spacious, ever so slightly dated but perfectly acceptable. Comfortable firm bed (Two singles pushed togther to make a double). Movie service didn't work. Small balcony. Cable braodband which I thought was expensive.
Bathroom: Little bit dated but good bath/shower. Amentities suppplied very basic. No lifts to second or third floors so if you are aged or infirm book a ground floor room!
Grounds: Very nice tropical gardens. Rambling resort.
Pool / Spa: Good, warm.
Staff: Freindly but not trained to international standard i.e. if you are not used to Queensland style service you may find it too familiar / casual. E.g. barman irked me a bit, concierge from 30 meters away says "I can get your bags if you want" since he was doing nothing he should have simply come over and got them and personally welcomed me to the hotel. Minor issues but noticable for a regular traveller.
Restaurant: The in-room guide says closes at 10pm. I went @ 8:50. The buffet, I was told, closes at 9am. I wanted the buffet and had to rush through dinner which spoilt the experienece. They should have just left it available for longer - although I had the option of a-la-cart which they suggested I should have given there was only 10 mins till buffet closure. This hotel runs on strict rules it seems. The restaurant staff were freindly and attentive but again lack that training that says "The customer always comes first even if you have to keep the buffet open for another 15 mins". Buffet food was very good. Restaurant meals looked good. Missed breakfast as arrived at 10:10am, closes on the dot at 10. Those rules again.

Overall: I paid AUD$127 using an internet booking system on the day of the stay. At this price I think the resort is very good value. Although friendly enough the staff are not polished. Check in / out hassel free but I saw big ques when the bus loads of Japanese golfers arrived. I would stay again at this price, if I have my own car or playing lots of golf.

  • Liked — Value for money @ $127
  • Disliked — no lifts
  • Tips/Secrets — Not suitable for beach goers but great for golfers
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank thegoodthebadtheugly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2006

We stayed here the last week of August booked thru our time share....10 miles from the beach this beautiful resort is set amongst towering tropic plants and lush lawns....the timeshare suites are in the back while the regular guest suites towards the front....an exotic bird named Rex greets you at the door as well as friendly bell persons....the staff is beautiful and so helpful....the suites are large with king size bed, small bar cab with small refrigerator.....instant coffee and tea with hot water maker...balcony to sit out and enjoy being enveloped by a rainforest feeling, quiet and relaxing....the restaurant is marvelous...the sea food buffet is outstanding, huge crab legs, prawns, oysters, calamari and various cooked fish.....veal and other meats are there too as well as a huge salad and desert bar.....an out standing value....we never once felt compelled to rent a car, the shuttle van will take you most anywhere....the huge mall, the casino, Broadbeach, the huge outdoor flea market, Surfers Paradise and on out to Sea World....high speed internet that hooks thru LAN input, .50 minute...wireless in bar area or on computer in lobby.....110 outlet in bath that can recharge cell phone....cash out money to Aussie money with no fee......2 pools, one in the photo and a beautiful on near the back....cant say enough how great a place to come back from the very busy downtown area of Surfers Paradise....thanks Radisson for really a great place to visit....while on golf course, the club house is not but they will cart you over to it....

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — small foldable ice chest for more ice keeping
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank margo812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2006

The hotel is nice and relaxing, and an ideal option if you want to be away from the tacky beach front. You will need a car as it is a easy 10-15 min drive to Broadbeach or Surfer's Paradise. Seaworld and the other theme parks are only a 20 min drive away. The hotel offers free parking.

The rooms are spacious and have a sofa and table in addition to a large wardrobe, a mini bar and plenty of walking space. The decor is a bit outdated, especially the bathroom which could do with a bit of a make over, although it was a good size too. Our mini bar was locked, didn't bother us as we didn't use it, but not sure if normal practice to ask for a key, no information provided with regards to that.

We had a room in the Kookurbura block, they are unit type apartments which I like, but it was facing the pool and the hotel entrance (corner room), would suggest asking for another room if you get allocated that one as it can get a bit noisy, there was a band playing at night but it did finish before 11pm, after that it is quiet.

The breakfast buffet is good and lots of choice, and we had seats at the balcony everyday, which was very nice. But it can get very busy at the weekends with tour groups, and they also hire tables out for breakfast to a ballooning company who seem to use it as part of their package.

The staff are friendly and helpful, and the pool is good as well. If you want to be part of the busy scene then head towards the beach but if you want somewhere close, have a car and want to relax in a quiet area then this is a good hotel.

Avoid an Italian restaurant in Victoria Square at Broadbeach called Mama Roma's if you head down there, as the food is terrible and overpriced!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thechinesecockney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2005

I can't think of anything mind blowingly terrible about this hotel, but for some reason I can't jump up and down about the resort. It was nice enough, just nothing spectacular.

The rooms were spacious as standard rooms go, however, I don't personally like 'unit' type accommodation blocks. Food was okay, although the evening restaurant was rather insipid, with a noisey fridge unit in the middle of the dining room and a slightly minimal buffet.

Location is not on Surfers Paradise et al, but an easy drive to the mall and beaches. Obviously you can't complain about a hotel located on a golf course, but the vicinity area was not lush or gorgeous, fairly bland residential area - not fuelled with loads of money as one might expect.

I would probably stay in a bigger hotel on the sea-front if I visit the Gold Coast region again - however, I can't see myself returning to this relatively tacky part of Australia. For families and older seniors only.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank s0436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2005

The Radisson is a good quality resort in the Gold Coast, particularly if you are a golfer. The staff were friendly and helpful and attended to all requests in a timely manner. We stayed in a golf-view room - although it was quite spacious, the decor was outdated and the walls were poorly insulated (it was very noisy as we had some children screaming and running around next door). The gym was well equipped and the pool looked nice (although we did not swim there). A car is essential if you plan on staying here as it is (by car) approx. 15 mins from Surfers Paradise and approx. 10 mins to Broadbeach. Also, the seafood buffet dinner at the restaurant is only fair - very limited seafood on offer. Recommended for golfers and families.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank SYD-YYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 15, 2005

My husband and i recently stayed at the Radisson at Palm Meadows on the Gold Coast and loved every minute of it. It totally exceeded our expectations. We had a fantastic room with a spa and double balcony overlooking the 9th hole of Palm Meadows golf course. The buffet breakfast in the morning was fantastic and the pool was fun with games such as volleyball being played and referreed by the hotal staff. Everyone was clearly having fun. Our only regret is that we only stayed for 1 night. My husband loved the golf at Lakelands (included in our package) and i loved the Pool area. The hotel is a short drive to Broadbeach and they offer a shuttle bus to take you to all of the tourist destinations on the Gold Coast. Next time we will definitely stay at the Radisson for a longer period of time.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrara
3.6 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
412 reviews
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,626 reviews
3.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,468 reviews
1.7 mi away
RACV Royal Pines Resort
3.8 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gold Coast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gold Coast Resort

Property: Mercure Gold Coast Resort
Address: Palm Meadows Drive | Palm Meadows, Carrara, Gold Coast, Queensland 4211, Australia (Formerly Radisson Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Carrara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gold Coast Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of it all - just minutes from beautiful Gold Coast beaches and renowned golf courses, Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, world class shopping and sporting stadiums - Mercure Gold Coast Resort is perfectly positioned for your business trip or next holiday. This beautifully appointed resort is one of the top choices on the Gold Coast for relaxing, unwinding and rejuvenating away from the hustle and bustle of the city. When planning where to stay on the Gold Coast, for a fun family holiday with the kids, sneaking away for a romantic couples' escape or teeing off on a golf weekend - no hotel makes you feel more at home than Mercure Gold Coast Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Gold Coast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Resort Gold Coast Hotel Carrara
Radisson Gold Coast
Radisson Hotel Carrara
Radisson Carrara
Carrara Radisson
Mercure Gold Coast Resort Carrara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing