We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent rooms, service ... but” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Gold Coast Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Gold Coast Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrara
Certificate of Excellence
Nishinomiya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent rooms, service ... but”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2009

Lovely large rooms full of everything you need. Quite out in the middle of nowhere, which is great if you go there for the purpose of golf, but if you just need a hotel to stay in, you need to understand it is quite a drive from the main Gold Coast shopping and restaurant area. Also, charging large amounts for small amounts of internet access is very old fashioned. Free Wi Fi access (there was only plug in Lan) should be standard at a modern hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tenshi09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    497
    167
    57
    36
See reviews for
315
396
46
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nambour, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

Stayed at the hotel for long weekend, perfect location for those who love to play golf, as the hotel is surrounded by a well presented golf course. Service was very good, buffet breafast was a little expenive but the quality of food and choice of food was very good. Room was very clean and spacious. Ample parking and a close drive to the beach and Gold Coast attractions. If your looking to visit the Gold Coast and want to be away from the crowds but close enough for access to the strip I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peteraussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

I booked this via Wotif on their 'wot hotel' (unknown hotel) super cheap deal. That was my mistake as we didn't have a car. We'd come for two family reunions in Surfers Paradise and the taxi fares were bad news. The concierge and reception helpfully provided timetables of local buses, and the hotel shuttle bus runs to the coast and up northwards some distance. But the Gold Coast is very big these days- approx. 40 kms north. The Radisson's shuttle is not free.

The food was good to very good and reasonably priced; cleanliness of room was exemplary; service was friendly and level of service was good.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PennyH051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2009

We chose the Raddison Resort based solely on the reviews from Tripadvisor.com. After such a great experience we thought we'd share with others how great this resort was to us. Previous reviews have been spot on regarding similar positive experiences.

We originally booked for 7 nights 2 weeks prior but due to work commitments could only squeeze away 5 nights, called Raddison's 48hrs prior to arrival and they made amendments easily and at no charge. Sweet!

Upon arrival check in was professional, quick and pleasant with friendly service at both reception and conceirge. We originally booked the standard room however were upgraded free of charge to the King size spa deluxe room. A very nice surprise!!

While we parked the car, our luggage was taken by conceirge and placed in our room ready for us to unpack. We parked our rental car at the free covered and shaded car park which was a short walk from reception. We stayed in the beautifully airconned Honeyeaters suite facing the golf course. With a king size bed and spa bath, we felt like king and queen and were treated as such during our entire stay. The room was very tidy and room service were magnificent tidying our bed and suite every morning. Good simple stuff. We didn't ask for much and didn't need to. Everything we needed was available.

We enjoyed the swim in the pool as well as relaxing in the spa. My wife managed to get up early and squeeze in a workout at the resort gym which was very good and well equipt with relatively new fitness machines and the like.

We didn't eat at the resort because we were always out shopping and visiting the Gold coast/Brisbane sights however prices were fair for breakfast and ok for dinner.

I forgot my mobile phone charger at home, Raddison's tried to help by sifting through their many phone chargers left behind. Appreciated their attempts in trying to help.

We managed to get time to wash and dry our washing at the laundry prior to checking out. Again, no problems there just another service available to you if you need to make your luggage a bit lighter due to the extra kilo's of shopping you will have aquired.

Check out was simple.

Our stay was basically for quality time together as a couple, and that was achieved thanks to a fabulous resort and helpful staff. We would definately recommend this resort to all. Our only regret was missing out on the opportunity to play at the resort golf course. Definately on the to do list should we get the opportunity to return! Thanks Raddison Gold Coast for a Wonderful experience. Wouldn't have made it out there if it weren't for the previous reviews, so this website and service is primo. Hope this helps future Kings & Queens to the resort. Cheers and have a great time where ever you stay. If you choose Raddison Resort, you have chosen wisely!!

  • Liked — The Customer Service
  • Disliked — Didn't have any bathroom robes
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank lalansamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2008

We are 2 adults and an 8 year old child and just came back from from 4 days at the Radisson. This is a really nice hotel - it is 11 years old so the rooms are slightly dated but that is more than made up for by the great location, excellent service and wonderful pool and holiday atmosphere. Rooms very clean, staff really friendly and extremely helpful. Has a shuttle bus (small fee) into Pacific Fair shopping centre and Jupiters Casino. Our daughter had a ball playing in the pool and meeting new friends. They have a kids club ($25 per 3 hour session) which doesn't seem to run much but we used it once and it was great - she really enjoyed it and wanted to go again. This is a 4 star hotel that rightly deserves it's stars. Excellent management. We will be back.

  • Liked — Pool, position, service.
  • Disliked — Slightly dated rooms but no big deal.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Siena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2008

Good modern hotel with a great pool and golf course. Not the best place to stay if you want to spend the day at the beach because it's a 15min drive away and you need your own car. Staff were friendly and helpful but we were given a pretty average internal courtyard facing room. We made the mistake of sleeping with the balcony door open and were woken up pretty early the next morning by young kids outside our room. Serves us right for having a few too many drinks out in the Gold Coast the night before!

  • Liked — Golf course
  • Disliked — Distance from the beach
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SimonM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2008

We stayed at the Radisson Resort for the weekend in a hotel room which was right near the pool so it’s very close to reception. The room was spacious & clean with a king bed & also with a sofa bed.

Only downside of this resort was there is only stairs to get into the room. No Lifts what so ever. Good news is that there are only three levels. It’s a very quiet place but since we went right on the school holidays we kind of experience the noise from the children.

We experienced a friendly & cheerful at the customer service desk. We didn’t seem to bump into any problems at all.

We didn’t get a chance to experience golf nor go swimming. But we did go to the gym. Wow, the gym was HUGE. That’s the first experience where a resort has a large range of gym equipments.

The resort wasn’t to far from Pacific Fair Shopping & Casino just 10mins drive or less & 15- 18mins to Surfers Paradise. It’s true you’ll need a car to take you around but there is always the resort mini bus.

Overall the resort was great. Will come back again!

  • Liked — Customer Service
  • Disliked — No lifts
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeLuvHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrara
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
3.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
3.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,547 reviews
1.7 mi away
RACV Royal Pines Resort
3.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gold Coast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gold Coast Resort

Property: Mercure Gold Coast Resort
Address: Palm Meadows Drive | Palm Meadows, Carrara, Gold Coast, Queensland 4211, Australia (Formerly Radisson Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Carrara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gold Coast Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of it all - just minutes from beautiful Gold Coast beaches and renowned golf courses, Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, world class shopping and sporting stadiums - Mercure Gold Coast Resort is perfectly positioned for your business trip or next holiday. This beautifully appointed resort is one of the top choices on the Gold Coast for relaxing, unwinding and rejuvenating away from the hustle and bustle of the city. When planning where to stay on the Gold Coast, for a fun family holiday with the kids, sneaking away for a romantic couples' escape or teeing off on a golf weekend - no hotel makes you feel more at home than Mercure Gold Coast Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mercure Gold Coast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Resort Gold Coast Hotel Carrara
Radisson Gold Coast
Radisson Hotel Carrara
Radisson Carrara
Carrara Radisson
Mercure Gold Coast Resort Carrara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing