We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a relaxing weekend away with a car” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Gold Coast Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mercure Gold Coast Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrara
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great for a relaxing weekend away with a car”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2008

I stayed here for a weekend getaway and it was great! I wanted to play golf, go shopping and to the beach.

The room was nice and had all the usual amenities. It was a bit cold to swim, but the pool looked very inviting and I am looking forward to going back during summer. There was also a spa that I wanted to try, but they were booked out so make sure you book early.

The resort is not near the beach, so be sure you have a car to take you around, Broadbeach, Pacific Fair (Shopping Centre) and Numerous Golf Courses are within easy driving distance.

The staff were most helpful in carrying luggage, organising golf (complete with buggy ride over to the course and back) and suggesting places to go.

  • Liked — Proximity to Golf Courses
  • Disliked — Rooms can be far away from car park / reception
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank krustyfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    497
    167
    57
    36
See reviews for
315
397
46
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2008

Staff: They are professional, but not all that friendly. I wouldn't mind if they smile a bit more.

Room: It's nicely equipped - hair dryer, shampoo, conditioner, cream, towels, TV, in-room movie, kettle...etc. King size bed, the pillow needs some extra feathers; otherwise it's not too bad.

Facilities: Easy access, short walk to gym, golf, pool, restaurant near lobby. I did not use any of these facilities so I cannot comment on them. But there is a massage/spa inside the gym which is not bad, but do book in advance as they are very popular and was heavily booked. Decent price, so if you are into facial/massage/beauty products and services, then it's definitely something worth trying!

Location: It's situated away from the main shopping districts, although shuttle bus is available at certain times of the day to take you to the major tourist attractions. Otherwise it's a short drive to surfers paradise, the casino and pacific fair.

Overall it is a nice resort, family-friendly too. It is also good if you are looking for a quiet stay - Personally I would not mind staying at this resort again for its really good value.

  • Liked — Free parking; its location is away from the noisy shopping districts
  • Disliked — Staff can be a little more helpful and friendly
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank lady0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2008

This was a lovely hotel. The rooms were large and clean, well furnished. We ate at the Restaurant and the range of food at the buffet was amazing. Really nice.
Breakfast had a great variety.
Pool area looked good, but was way too cold to swim.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Bunny1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2008

i see there are a number of bad reviews here, which i am totally surprised by. i stayed with my husband and 2 daughters (age 4 and 1). the room was not the most spacious but was totally big enough, and very clean. we made a complete mess, which was tidied and cleaned every day. we had a ground floor room, which worked perfectly and wasn't too dark or dismal. the pool was great as was the kids pool. the reception was open and nicely decorated. the staff were genuinely very friendly and helpful (which i hardly ever find in hotels these days) from the booking i made with them, to help with anything i wanted. I did not play golf so cannot comment on this, but the course looked beautiful.
the breakfast was great, and the lunch pretty good too. the waiting staff most helpful.
the room was quiet (i cannot sleep with any noise), the air conditioning fine.
i would really recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — clean, quiet, low key
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ballerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights while doing the theme parks. The hotel is made up of a number of 3 storey buildings. Our room was quite large and probably of a Holiday Inn standard. There was a nice view over the golf course and two pools from which to choose. You will need a car for this hotel. Its away from the beach area, but a short drive. Access to the motorway north is close at hand, so getting to the main theme park area is very quick.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostAussie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2008

I left a car I rented in the hotel car park one night, and someone tried to steal it, without success, the problem was, that they damaged the locks which cost me AU$ 475 to fix it, and the hotel did not respond. It is a very unsecure hotel.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lomaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Mercure Gold Coast Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2008
Radisson Resort provides undercover parking facilities at no cost to their guests and endeavors to keep the facility secure however it does remain a public place.

Thankfully due to surveillance, good lighting and regular patrols I am not aware of one car theft in my eight years as General Manager and incidents of damage to vehicles have been very rare.

We remain very disappointed that anyone would lose a security deposit for damage that occurred whilst staying at our property and hope that the behavior of others would not affect the reputation of an establishment that works hard on its customer satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2007

Some rooms have lovely views over the excellent golf course. Avoid rooms near the pool (these are also near the hotel entrance and are very noisy). Sound proofing is poor - if you get noisy neighbours, you will be kept up all night. Make sure you don't get a ground floor room (these have no view, are overlooked, dark and lack privacy)
Rooms are small and of mediocre quality for the price you pay.
Pool is O.K but nothing special.
Hotel is a long way from restaurants, so you need to drive if you don't want to eat there. All in all, only worth going if you're playing golf and you're prepared to be selective about your room.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Chortlepuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrara
3.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
3.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
1.7 mi away
RACV Royal Pines Resort
3.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gold Coast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gold Coast Resort

Property: Mercure Gold Coast Resort
Address: Palm Meadows Drive | Palm Meadows, Carrara, Gold Coast, Queensland 4211, Australia (Formerly Radisson Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Carrara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gold Coast Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of it all - just minutes from beautiful Gold Coast beaches and renowned golf courses, Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, world class shopping and sporting stadiums - Mercure Gold Coast Resort is perfectly positioned for your business trip or next holiday. This beautifully appointed resort is one of the top choices on the Gold Coast for relaxing, unwinding and rejuvenating away from the hustle and bustle of the city. When planning where to stay on the Gold Coast, for a fun family holiday with the kids, sneaking away for a romantic couples' escape or teeing off on a golf weekend - no hotel makes you feel more at home than Mercure Gold Coast Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Gold Coast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Resort Gold Coast Hotel Carrara
Radisson Gold Coast
Radisson Hotel Carrara
Radisson Carrara
Carrara Radisson
Mercure Gold Coast Resort Carrara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing