We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Car Theft attempt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Gold Coast Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrara
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Car Theft attempt”
Reviewed January 3, 2008

I left a car I rented in the hotel car park one night, and someone tried to steal it, without success, the problem was, that they damaged the locks which cost me AU$ 475 to fix it, and the hotel did not respond. It is a very unsecure hotel.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lomaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Mercure Gold Coast Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2008
Radisson Resort provides undercover parking facilities at no cost to their guests and endeavors to keep the facility secure however it does remain a public place.

Thankfully due to surveillance, good lighting and regular patrols I am not aware of one car theft in my eight years as General Manager and incidents of damage to vehicles have been very rare.

We remain very disappointed that anyone would lose a security deposit for damage that occurred whilst staying at our property and hope that the behavior of others would not affect the reputation of an establishment that works hard on its customer satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    529
    174
    62
    38
See reviews for
335
426
51
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2007

Some rooms have lovely views over the excellent golf course. Avoid rooms near the pool (these are also near the hotel entrance and are very noisy). Sound proofing is poor - if you get noisy neighbours, you will be kept up all night. Make sure you don't get a ground floor room (these have no view, are overlooked, dark and lack privacy)
Rooms are small and of mediocre quality for the price you pay.
Pool is O.K but nothing special.
Hotel is a long way from restaurants, so you need to drive if you don't want to eat there. All in all, only worth going if you're playing golf and you're prepared to be selective about your room.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Chortlepuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2007

I went there last week for a wedding. We paid $170 per night I think and for that I expected a pretty nice resort and room as for that same amount you can stay somewhere like the Swisotel on business rates in Sydney.

Arrived at the front desk at 11pm after a flight from Sydney. Reception looked nice and minimal delays at check out. Then we went to find our room which was about 200 meters away on the third level - with NO LIFT! So 5 minutes later after lugging our bags up the stairs we get into the room and decide that we need some food as we both had nothing to eat all day. Called room service after looking at the menu...ring ring...ring ring...nothing. Rang the front desk - "I'm sorry room service finishes at 10:30" What the hell! I stayed in rural towns on business and they can still organise you a club sandwich past midnight!

The rooms were nice enough but contained two of my pet peeves. A bath/shower not separate and the worlds smallest shower head! Otherwise the room is OK. But I must say the beds are very hard and comfortable - top marks there.

Down to breakfast in the morning - starving after nothing to eat yesterday. The buffet is average to poor. Fruit is minimal and cut up by Stevie Wonder - skin left on everywhere. You have to wait about an hour for someone to organise a coffee or tea for you if your lucky and the other items regularly run out.

After staying two nights I lugged my bags back down the stairs checked out and headed home, only to leave behind my mobile charger. Now usually when I do something like this the hotel goes out of its way to help me out. The Radisson said they could organise to send it COD to me in a weeks time??!! Talk about penny pinching.

Overall an average room in an average resort. Below average food with below average service in a location that is a long way from civilisation so ensure you have a car as another couple waited an hour for a cab! OK resort if you love your golf, but don't care about the room or for families who literally want to be in the pool all day. Disappointment for a Radisson Hotel.

  • Liked — The Bed
  • Disliked — Service Service Service
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank rmdarnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2007

I know everyone has different tastes but how anyone could have a negative review for this resort is beyond me. It's the perfect golfing resort. It's such a relaxing place. You can lounge by the pool and even order food whilst your relaxing. You can play tennis on few courts they have or stroll around to the residential area. They even have little lizards (harmless) running around which are so cute...
Our room had 2 queen beds which were maintained beautifully. The bathroom has a corner spa, shower and toilet and was also well maintained and clean.
The room had a mini fridge and table and even a private balcony to hang out in.
The only con was that the restaurant is rather pricey but we caught the hotel shuttle into surfers daily ($12 for 2) which took around 15 minutes.
The staff were friendly enough and i would certainly recommend anyone stay here if a golfing retreat is what they are after.
FANTASTIC PLACE

  • Liked — clean and easy to get into town
  • Disliked — the price of the restaurant
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank winnie2078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wairarapa NZ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2007

Our golfing group went over for the masters in October 2006 the standard resort rooms were horrible moldy bathroom fan that didnt work 3 people squashed into one room after complaining they did not move my family until I arrived 3 days later when we were upgraded to a refurbished room found the location to far from broadbeach Taxi's not that keen to come out that far. Breakfast was very good and service from staff was great. the porters at the front of the hotel were the best I have ever come across a real asset to the Hotel. Wouldnt stay here again.

  • Liked — The front porters
  • Disliked — the rooms
  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GolfersWairarapaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2007

We stayed here for 7 nights with our 6 year old daughter. The hotel itself was pretty nice. The room clean and comfortable although there was a bit of a musky smell from the air con (which also broke down and had to be fixed). I have to admit that I was glad to be on the 1st floor, as opposed to the ground floor (I wouldn't have been happy with this). The pool and spa were nice - we were only in this one day because it was a little cool. The spa however was a little dirty (crisps etc floating in this but this may have been cleaned in the morning and the people in it prior to us may have made a mess??) The pool itself was clean but it was a salt water pool and because of this, a few times I looked and saw ducks swimming in it!! The buffet breakfast was nice but a little expensive. We didn't have dinner at the hotel because (as someone else has mentioned) the menu was limited and it was over-priced. Also, as someone else mentioned too, the hotel is a good 10 minute drive to Surfers Paradise and hence you would definately need a car if you wanted to stay here. There are a number of good restaurants in Broadbeach and if you do visit then go to the Bluefire Grill in the shopping Plaza in Mainbeach on a Tuesday night because they split the bill and it's fantastic value for money and terrific food!!

This hotel is good if you are looking for a quiet break and/or to play golf. I wouldn't recommend it if you want to be in the 'hub' of it all or if you don't have a car.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jills12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChCH
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2007

I stayed at the Radisson for 4 nights in May with my brother. We had a bad start when we were given a room with only one bed, this was easily fixed by going back to the front desk who then gave us another room albeit on the ground floor with no view.

The room was nice, clean and quite modern, the bed was comfortable, the only downside was the poor dull lighting in the bathroom. New lights or brighter light blubs are needed. The air conditioning was great and after a long day at theme parks in the heat it was great to come back to a nice cool room.

We did get annoyed by the rather longish walk from our room to the underground car park, it was maybe a 3-4 minute walk.

We didn't use the pool/spa at all but it looked very nice.

The Radisson is a fairway (excuse the pun) from anywhere, its about 10-15 minutes drive to Jupiters Casino, Draculas and Pacific Fair and then another 5 minutes to Cavel Ave and its about 30-40 minutes drive to the theme parks but that is normal and its a very easy drive to get to the parks. The bonus it does have is that it is in a quiet area.

Overall, it was ok, but I would prefer something a little more central to the Gold Coast next time.

  • Liked — Clean modern rooms, air conditioning.
  • Disliked — Distance from Gold Coast central, poor lighting in bathroom
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Beamaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrara
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,639 reviews
3.6 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
433 reviews
3.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,775 reviews
1.7 mi away
RACV Royal Pines Resort
3.8 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gold Coast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gold Coast Resort

Property: Mercure Gold Coast Resort
Address: Palm Meadows Drive | Palm Meadows, Carrara, Gold Coast, Queensland 4211, Australia (Formerly Radisson Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Carrara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gold Coast Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of it all - just minutes from beautiful Gold Coast beaches and renowned golf courses, Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, world class shopping and sporting stadiums - Mercure Gold Coast Resort is perfectly positioned for your business trip or next holiday. This beautifully appointed resort is one of the top choices on the Gold Coast for relaxing, unwinding and rejuvenating away from the hustle and bustle of the city. When planning where to stay on the Gold Coast, for a fun family holiday with the kids, sneaking away for a romantic couples' escape or teeing off on a golf weekend - no hotel makes you feel more at home than Mercure Gold Coast Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Gold Coast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Resort Gold Coast Hotel Carrara
Radisson Gold Coast
Radisson Hotel Carrara
Radisson Carrara
Carrara Radisson
Mercure Gold Coast Resort Carrara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing