We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Choose your steak from the butchery and have it cooked how you like”
Review of Cav's Steakhouse

Cav's Steakhouse
Reserve with
Cav's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 58 Restaurants in Labrador
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cav's Steakhouse has established itself as one of the Gold Coast's most popular restaurants. This award winning hacienda-style restaurant at Labrador is a Gold Coast icon, serving superb meals in a welcoming and relaxed setting. Its premium aged steaks, fresh seafood and other specialty dishes have made it a favourite with discerning overseas and interstate visitors, Gold Coast business people and local families for 30 years. Fully licensed and with ample off-street parking, Cav's is perfect all year round. Located right next door to the restaurant, Cav's Butchery supplies a wide range of premium quality cuts. Customers can take home just about anything that appears on Cav's extensive restaurant menu, including a wide selection of pre-prepared salads and sauces to accompany the chunky fillet steak pies, eye fillets, t-bones, veal cutlets and many other succulent cuts.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
171 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Choose your steak from the butchery and have it cooked how you like”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

This was a real find when we were on Holiday in nearby Broadbeach - worth the 20 minute drive.

The concept is very good as when you first enter it looks like a butchers meat counter. You choose which cut of steak or meat you might like, advise how you want it cooked and let them seat you in the large restaurant area.

Great service, real friendly staff and the front of house manager is amongst the best you will find anywhere. Food was cooked exactly as ordered and arrives with choice of vegetables and side dishes.

We went twice as a family of six and enjoyed both times. Makes a great holiday experience and one we will both definitely recommend and return to in future holidays.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EddieC566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna G, Owner at Cav's Steakhouse, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for the great feedback, and taking your time to let us know about your experience at Cav’s.

We are glad you enjoyed the process of choosing your own steak, as it is one of our main trade marks here at Cav’s Steakhouse.

We take pride in being a family friendly restaurant and making our guests feel at home, we are happy we could show this experience to you and your family.

Thank you once again and hope to see you back when you are in Gold Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    120
    44
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
124 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great winelist but web menu needs to be updated”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We've been coming to the Gold Coast for 20 years and had never eaten at Cav's despite it's reputation as a great steakhouse. we had the calamari & ribs entree and the calamari was excellent. The steak was undercooked - requested medium rare and it was rare and lacked flavour despite being tender. The tomato in the salad had a large bad spot in the middle which was quickly replaced when pointed out but disappointing it wasn't seen when preparing the meal. To us the wine was the best part of the meal and the range of good wines excellent. However I wanted a wine that was listed on the website menu and that wasn't available anymore. Overall a disappointing evening considering it's reputation.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kscott4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna G, Manager at Cav's Steakhouse, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us here at Cav's.

We apologize about your tomato and your steak being under cooked, if you mentioned it the night we would happily fixed it for you.

We are glad you enjoyed everything else especially our calamari and extensive wine list. Appreciate your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Steakhouse on the Gold Coast!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

I've been periodically visiting Cav's over about 16 years, with my latest visit 5/8/14. Their meat quality, to my mind, has been consistently top quality, especially so for my selection of rare eye fillet medallions, cooked to perfection by Michael, who has been the "barbecue-chef-extrodinare" for over 35 years at Cav's.
No, I don't go to Cav's for their salad or steamed veggies! They are primarily a quality steak house that grows its own meat & when ever I'm having a home barby, I'd buy my meat from their butcher shop next to the restaurant.
Their staff are well trained & provide prompt efficient service for the delivery food & beverages.
There is a huge array of meat to select from, in the restaurants' chilled display cabinet, that would have any carnivore drooling at the mouth!!
If you're after a great piece of meat, cooked to perfection, then in my opinion, Cav's is the only place to go to on the Gold Coast!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zeetravella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna G, Human Resources at Cav's Steakhouse, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Wow thank-you for the great feedback on our restaurant we appreciate you taking the time to let us know.

We are so glad you enjoyed your steaks and the fact that you can choose one from our chilled display cabinet.

We are also glad that you frequent the Butchery next door when you are having a bbq.

Thank-you again for your great review and we hope to see you again soon for lunch or dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent in the past, now disappointing”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

My wife and I recently had two fillet steak medallions, one medium to well, the other medium rare. The first was very tough and sinewy, the second not tender like good fillet; neither seemed to be competently grilled. This was very disappointing after several excellent experiences over a number of years.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rod_MG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna G, Manager at Cav's Steakhouse, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank-you for letting us know of your experience and we do hope that you accept our apologises in regards to your steaks.

We do hope that you mentioned this to the wait staff or the management on the night as we would have cooked two new steaks for you to enjoy.

We do hope that you come back and give us another chance.

Thank-you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Still my favourite steak place after 5 years!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

My husband and I first went to Cav's steakhouse five years ago when we were travelling then before we even got engaged. I fell in love the the Medallion of the Eye steak, and can never forget the flavor and texture of it since then.

This year in July, we went back to the same place again but this time with both our families, and I must say we had an enjoyable dinner. It was a good meal, and I'm still loving the steak.

The wait for the food can be quite long, but they'll serve some bread rolls for you and those are pretty delicious too. Love the flavor of the butter as well.

When my sister in law was caught stealing my brother in law's chocolate mint by one of the waitress, she was so nice to bring us a small dish of it so all of us could have a taste. Was quite hilarious but it's little gesture like this that makes it memorable.

We'll definitely go back again if we have the chance! :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Njerlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna G, Manager at Cav's Steakhouse, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to review us at Cav's Steakhouse and we are so glad it is still your favorite place. We are glad you still loved the steak and the breadrolls that we offer.

We will let the waitress know how much you appreciated the gesture and we would love to see you back for lunch or dinner if you get the chance.

Thank-you again for letting us know of your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cav's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Cav's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing