We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Steak”
Review of Cav's Steakhouse

Cav's Steakhouse
Reserve with
Cav's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 58 Restaurants in Labrador
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cav's Steakhouse has established itself as one of the Gold Coast's most popular restaurants. This award winning hacienda-style restaurant at Labrador is a Gold Coast icon, serving superb meals in a welcoming and relaxed setting. Its premium aged steaks, fresh seafood and other specialty dishes have made it a favourite with discerning overseas and interstate visitors, Gold Coast business people and local families for 30 years. Fully licensed and with ample off-street parking, Cav's is perfect all year round. Located right next door to the restaurant, Cav's Butchery supplies a wide range of premium quality cuts. Customers can take home just about anything that appears on Cav's extensive restaurant menu, including a wide selection of pre-prepared salads and sauces to accompany the chunky fillet steak pies, eye fillets, t-bones, veal cutlets and many other succulent cuts.
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Delicious Steak”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This Restaurant is a must for Gold Coast Tourists who love steak. The Restaurant is beside Cav's Butcher. Quality defines both the Butcher Shop and Restaurant. Cav's presents in a pleasant atmosphere whether for groups, couples or pop in for a great meal on the run.
I have dined here both lunch and dinner and always found the service friendly and efficient. The guest chooses which steak they wish from a display cabinet and it is cooked to perfection. There are also oysters and other choices for entrée. However, I feel if I go to a Steak Restaurant I want to eat steak cooked to perfection. I have not been disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavsSteakhouse, Human Resources at Cav's Steakhouse, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Wow thank-you very much for taking the time to review us here at Cav's Steakhouse and for your excellent review.

We are so glad that you have received quality from both the restaurant and the Butchery and the service has always been friendly and efficient.

We are also glad you mentioned the atmosphere and how it suited all types of parties.

Again thank-you and we look forward to seeing you again soon for lunch or dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    120
    44
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Steak cooked to perfection!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

As locals we visit Cav's Steakhouse often - and can say we've never been disappointed. The steak is always cooked to perfection. I hate ordering a steak cooked medium and then when it arrives it's more like well done. This is definitely not the case at Cav's - the chef does a great job. They are also happy to accommodate any special requests without any complaints - sauce on the side, vegetables instead of salad etc.
I can highly recommend the eye fillet - it just melts in your mouth. I also like that you can walk up to the window and choose exactly which piece of steak you would like for your meal.
Cav's also have a butchery next door where you can purchase the same meat that's used in the restaurant - and the steak's we buy from here are always top quality and great on the BBQ at home too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavsSteakhouse, Human Resources at Cav's Steakhouse, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to review us here at Cav's Steakhouse.

It is great to know that you are locals and the fact that you have never been disappointed really makes us happy.

We are so glad you like the fact that you can choose your own steak and it is great to know that you also frequent our Butchery next door.

We really appreciate your great feedback and we hope to see you again soon for lunch or dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best steak I've ever eaten”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My boyfriend and I went to Cav's for dinner and some drinks. We had a great experience. The staff were friendly and very hospitable.

We started off with a beer and a vodka, then had some oysters kilpatrick for our entree. They oysters came out piping hot and the sauce was delicious - definitely some of the best.

For my main I had the ribs. I couldn't believe the size of them when they came out. The meat was tender and fell away from the bone easily, and the bbq rib sauce was tangy and smoky. YUM!!

My boyfriend got the rib eye fillet steak. We tend to share a bit when we got out - the steak was juicy and almost melted in your mouth. Also, it was nice to finally go somewhere where a medium rare steak actually comes out medium rare.

As a side we got some onion rings - these were awesome! They were massive, and had a great sauce that accompanied them.

The price was a bit expensive but we left full and neither of us could finish our meals. We paid $130 but that also included a few vodkas and coronas (and taking into account the oysters for an entree). A bill that you could rack up easily at Hog's Breath for a meal not half as good.

The restaurant has a pretty cool vibe - seems very social. Probably not the best place if you're interested in an intimate candle-lit dinner but still decent enough for a date night. I could imagine having a big table of friends and enjoying some drinks here after finishing our meals. The restaurant is also family friendly.

We will definitely be returning to Cav's.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizzielemon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavsSteakhouse, Manager at Cav's Steakhouse, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank-you for your wonderful review it means alot to us that you would take the time to provide us with your feedback and we all feel very proud of our restaurant when we read reviews like the one that you have provided for us.

It is great to know that you enjoyed all the food and the staff were friendly and that you did enjoy the vibe.

We look forward to seeing you when you come back.

Thank-you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“night out with surprise”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Steak was cooked to perfection, The chef is obviously passionate about what he does,
I can certainly recommend this place, Do yourself a favour and try them!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VickieSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavsSteakhouse, Manager at Cav's Steakhouse, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to review us here at Cav's Steakhouse.

We are so glad your steak was cooked to perfection and that you would recommend us.

We do hope to see you again soon for lunch or dinner.

Thank-you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
305 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Service was good and efficient. The setting was ok but very noisy. The prices were fair if the food had of been good but it wan't. I had a rib fillet and asked for it to be medium it was closer to well done but still tasted ok. My husband had a king rump that he also ordered medium and it was a bit under and a little tough. The sauces (both pepper) were tasteless, the coleslaw was watery and bland and the potato was mushy and inedible. Not a great experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 123free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavsSteakhouse, Human Resources at Cav's Steakhouse, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to review Cav's Steakhouse your feedback is very important to us.

We are so glad you found the service to be good and efficient and we are sorry about the noise. We are not sure where you were sitting but we have a quieter area inside which is usually not so noisy we would have been more then happy to move you to this area if you had of alerted staff to the fact that it was to noisy for you to enjoy your night.

We are very disappointed to hear about steak we do hope that you alerted your wait staff to this fact as we would have been more then happy to replace your steaks for you so that it was cooked to your liking.

We are also very disappointed to hear about the coleslaw, sauce and potato and it is very unusual for this to be the case.

We are so sorry to hear that your experience was not great and if you are on the Gold Coast we would love you to come back and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cav's Steakhouse also viewed

 
Gold Coast, Queensland
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Cav's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing