We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fantatsic!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandcastles on the Broadwater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandcastles on the Broadwater
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantatsic!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed in this resort for 14 nights Feb-Mar 2012. Stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment wich was very roomy and great views of the Broadwater and overlooked the pool area. Absolutely loved it. Perfect location for families with kids, with the swimming lagoon and playground across the road. The facilities of the room are excellent, very clean and well maintained resort.

The staff were very very freindly and more than willing to assist you. Would recommend this complex to anyone who wanted to stay out of the hustle and bustle of Surfers. Definately will be staying again.

Room Tip: Higher floors probably would have less noise from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dagobah69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    67
    19
    15
    7
See reviews for
96
27
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed here with friends and admittedly, it was the price & location to the "worlds" that got us in!

The girls at reception are fantastic and that's where any positivity ends!

We arrived to a great welcome, then got overcharged & after a couple of uncomfortable phone calls & proving the rate quoted in an email to them they refunded the money, but were made to feel like WE had to prove we were right.

We then had to lug all our cases & shopping up 4 flights of stairs from the basement in the heat at the end of a day of traveling....with kids!

Our room 311, was lovely upon arrival but noticeably hot & the bathroom drains all smelt awful. There was an a/c downstairs and one in the main bedroom, but the other 2 rooms remained hot. Our apt had views over the Broadwater but never sat out on the balcony due to the loud traffic noise (on a bend AND traffic lights) the noise was very loud day and night.
Our main bedroom only had thin vertical blinds which kept out ZERO light and our room was in bright sunshine by 5.45 EVERY morning! Makes for a very long day. Our bed was also less then satisfactory with it sagging in the middle. Our toilet also continually "ran" unless you opened the cistern lid and fixed the float.
The kitchen was nice but dishwasher was dodgey. The laundry located in the kitchen.
We had a major issue when our friends staying in the apt next door had a massive water leak, we're talking a waterfall down the wall, the "maintenance" guy came to look at it & said they could get a plumber out on Monday....this was SATURDAY 8AM! The water had caused a large puddle in the kids bedroom, over their bed, over an electric fan and was very close to the meter/fuse box!! He then verbally abused our friend after the family requesting they be moved to another apt, it was appalling! This was in front of our kids too! After ringing reception to speak to them about the situation, we found out that it was actually the manager! Absolutely appalling!
We then decided that we would find somewhere else to stay for the remainder of our holiday & request a refund. Both of which happened.

1. If it's a cheap nightly rate, it's FOR A REASON.
2. Too far Out from any shops etc
3. Management while friendly, need to learn some basic customer service rules.

Won't be back and definitely won't be recommending Sandcastles to ANYONE!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

The staff at sandcastles on the broadwater are great! And the pool and spa is large. The in room spa only fit 3 ppl comfortably but was great fun since it was raining on our stay. My only issue is that the carpet is shabby and there was a stain at the top of the stairs however my friends and I did not mind as the facilities like laundry and dishwasher were all modern appli

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kady1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

We are a couple & stayed in 3 bedroom apartment with another couple & their child. The room was great. Clean & comfortable. Staff were lovely. We didnt get a chance to use the pool, and the weather wasnt favourable but the hot tub on the balcony was a treat. Don't stay here if you have trouble walking up stairs or lugging your luggage though. No lifts. Great base for theme parks & is on the same road as Harbour Town.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRS_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Very comfortable 2BR Apartment. Staff are great. Great location away from the hustle and bustle of Surfers but still close enough to Shopping Centres, Harbour Town and the Theme Parks. Family friendly Resort :-) Very happy and planning our next trip already!!

Only drawback was the lack of air-con & fans in bedrooms.
No lift either but we knew that when we researched and booked the accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Staff could not have been more helpful, room the second one was great, location terrific, will certainly be recommd to all visiting the gold coast

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dora72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed for two nights in a three bedroom apartment. Needed aircons in the two rooms, especially on summer days. Fans inside the wardrobe full of dusts + all screen doors are all dusty as well. No lift, not good for elderly or anyone with knee/leg complaints. Excellent pool & bbq facilities though. A bit out of the city centre. I would not recommend this apartment to elderly people.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Labrador
0.3 mi away
Windsurfer Resort
Windsurfer Resort
#3 of 4 in Biggera Waters
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Pacific Resort
Royal Pacific Resort
#2 of 4 in Biggera Waters
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Apartments
The Grand Apartments
#3 of 6 in Labrador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blue Waters Apartments
Blue Waters Apartments
#2 of 7 in Labrador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.0 mi away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastles on the Broadwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastles on the Broadwater

Property: Sandcastles on the Broadwater
Address: 392-398 Marine Pde, Labrador, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Labrador
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Labrador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandcastles on the Broadwater 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sandcastles on the Broadwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastles On The Broadwater Hotel Labrador
Sandcastles On The Broadwater Labrador, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing