We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Apartments
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Labrador
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights, originally for the Gold Coast Marathon. It's on the route so we could watch the runners from the balcony.

We had a "sea view" room with a nice view over the water. There was a great lagoon for our kids across the road with some playgrounds in the park. The kids were down there every morning! The room caught the winter sun being north-east facing, so it was nice and warming in the morning.

The hotel does have a pub and restaurant downstairs, so it was noisy on Friday and Saturday nights. We requested a higher apartment by email and they responded the next day and place us on level 10. We could still hear the street noise in the early hours or the morning, but not too loud. I would not like to have been on the lower levels... mid-week was fine as the pub is quiet.

The second bedroom does not have a proper door/wall, just sliding shutters. They can be closed, but you can't make too much noise when the kids are in bed.

All-in-all a nice relaxing stay. Staff were friendly and location was better that expected due to the lagoon and park across the road. There were also a few restaurants, an ice cream shop and a "7-11" about 5 mins walk south which was handy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim_Aussie_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 149 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2012

Using The Grand as a base for work for the last 3 months has been very successful. Mostly only staying Sun to Friday we have been allocated atleast 10 different rooms on different floors, all identical exept for the view. Some are in need of appliance replacement ie. broken fridge shelves, noisy clothes dryers, but on the whole very tidy.
A great location, slightly away from the chaos of Surfers, but a short taxi ride from the rank below if you desire, it also has the bonus of the hotel below with entertainment every night, good well priced food & bottle shop. Several other restaurants are within a 5 min walk. Good facilities- pool, spa, gym sauna etc.
Staff have always been pleasant & helpful. In regards to noise, try staying in surfers or shut the door.
Very good pricing, highly recommend.

Room Tip: North facing rooms have water views by day, south facing rooms have better views over Surfers lights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mooneeworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We just wish to share a wonderful experience, we stayed last weekend to celebrate my Birthday,
we booked a 1 bedroom apartment on the 9th Floor, Water view, the rooms were modern, spacious & lovely, very comfortable fittings and furniture, large private veranda,Large well equipped bathrooms. These also have a spare single bed in a room that can be closed off. Very good value accommodation.
We did not experience any street or Pub noise, self contained Units. also the food at the onsite Restaurants was wonderful,and well priced, The Grand Hotel has been a favourite Pub for many years.
overall it was just a wonderful weekend, we wish we could have stayed longer & we cannot wait to come back and stay again.

Room Tip: It is a good idea to get a room a little higher on weekends as there is a popular Pub below, and liv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caravangirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

After staying at these units are a recommendation from a relative, I can confirm that you DO NOT want to stay at these apartments. We stayed for a Friday and Saturday night for a long weekend and after finding the food to be okay, we retired to our room only to have to spend 5 hours listening to fighting, swearing and ambulances. There was a car accident outside the units which attracted cheering and yelling however no one offered to assist. Avoid these units at all costs.

Room Tip: Dont stay here EVER.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 4kids_getmeoutofhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Our family have just got back from spending 7 days at the Grand Apartments. Overall we enjoyed it there. The location is great, just across the road from a manmade lagoon which the kids enjoyed daily. Being in Labrador means it is a lot less hectic than Surfers, but only a short drive from there.

Very close to the theme parks if that is your thing.

Started off on the third floor, just above the bar. A bit noisy there so we got a transfer to level 12. Much better for sound though not as nice an apartment. However it was spotless and comfortable for our stay. Overall we thought the level of cleanliness was good throughout the complex.

There is a bit of a design flaw with the rooms in that the second bedroom does not have a full wall but has louvered shutters that stop short of the ceiling leaving a gap at the top. This means that lounge light and sound go straight into the second bedroom which can disturb those sleeping there.

Staff on reception were very nice and helpful, very welcoming.

Yes there were loud (mainly drunk) people in the carpark across the road at night but as this has nothing to do with the apartments (Its a public carpark for the boatramp and local fish shop) there is nothing that can be done about that.

I'd stay here again, for the location more than anything. Make sure you go for a room on a higher floor with an ocean view.

Room Tip: Book a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwi_acct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel 10 years ago and we were impressed back then as it was fairly new. Went back last week and were pleasantly surprised. Beautifully looked after, reception staff very friendly and heard no noise that others have previously mentioned as we were on the 12 th floor. Magnifcent location with everything on the doorstep. Highly recommend ..

Room Tip: Book on one of the higher floors as noise could be a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzie789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I have 2 young children 10 and 9 years old. We were there for new years so I did not want to be right in Surfers Paradise. We had a 2nd floor apartment above the nightclub and pub. After reading the reviews I was really worried I had booked something that was going to be trouble. This was not the case at all. It is a beautifull place with very kid friendly surroundings and only a short drive to broadbeach for a surf. The noise was not an issue and we were facing the road looking over to the beach. Not much a view from the 2nd level but we had a huge balcony wich we loved. Very spaceous unit that was modern and clean. We loved it and will go there again.

Room Tip: The ocean views are spectacular. From level 3 facing the ocean is a good view and only gets better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Labrador
2.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
4.6 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,768 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
529 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Pacific Resort
Royal Pacific Resort
#2 of 4 in Biggera Waters
159 reviews
1.1 mi away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Apartments

Address: 352-360 Marine Pde, Labrador, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Labrador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Labrador
Price Range: $98 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grand Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the shores of the magnificent Gold Coast Broadwater, the Grand Apartments have uninterrupted views of the Gold Coast Skyline and lush tropical hinterland. The spacious one and two bedroom apartments are perfect for families as well as longer staying guests looking for a contemporary home away from home on the Gold Coast. Conveniently located in a tranquil beachfront position, just north of Surfers Paradise, the Grand Apartments are just a short drive or bus ride to the Gold Coast’s famous surf beaches, theme parks, attractions and major shopping centres. Within strolling distance of the resort is a myriad of cafes and restaurants, scenic beach side boardwalks, parks and an all-season swimming lagoon. But you don’t have to leave the grounds for a great holiday experience. The Grand Apartments feature a breathtaking infinity-edge swimming pool with heated spa, decorative waterfall and stunning Broadwater views. There’s also a fully equipped gymnasium, sauna, steam room and games room for the children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Apartments Hotel Labrador
Grand Apartments Labrador
Grand Apartments Hotel Labrador
The Grand Apartments Labrador, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing