We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a hidden treasure”

Madam Tojo's Coffee Palace
Ranked #3 of 7 Coffee & Tea in Labrador
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian, Delicatessen, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a hidden treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

firstly, the cakes are to die for! the decor is quirky and intruiging, and the menu is nothing short of amazing. the hidden treasure in labrador is a must try for everyone

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Redlerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    13
    3
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have been meaning to visit this place for a long time, and whilst up from Brisbane, we dropped in for a spot of breakfast. The decor of this place is amazing! You will never tire of things to look at. The menu was short (about 8 things for breakfast), and yet I was struggling to choose what to order, as every dish sounded great! The staff were friendly, we met the owner who was also very friendly and welcoming. I enjoyed the music, but if was the food that was fantastic! There were interesting and different drink choices which we enjoyed. My only very small complaint, don't be in a hurry for your food, good things take time. However, that didn't bother me when the end result was of such delicious quality. I will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Interesting Delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

This place is outrages in many ways the cakes and cocktails are amazing especially for the designated driver. The way everything looks is unique furniture and feel it is like Paris a long time ago. Way to go

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Princesschandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to kick back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Step off the street in Chirn Park Southport and step into another world. Antionette has created an amazing little haven where you can truly relax, enjoy good coffee, food and company. Really friendly staff and a hands on owner who obviously loves what she does. We love the place.

Phil & Karen

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Time to be Inspired”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

As you enter this world of surrealism and nostalgia, being overwhelmed with a sense of convalescence and antiquity swimming together with post modernism your mind tends to splinter into a thousand different veins of transgressions to times gone by or even a virtual experience of what is yet to transpire in an immediate future. After the initial and welcoming shock of entering a place that has no geographical sense, you will find a very individual and delightfully irresponsible menu that imitates the very surroundings that mocks your presence, a visit from the colourful and internationally selected staff member after you have seated yourself amongst modern and retro furnishings is always pleasing , as they come bearing gifts of effervescent personalities and social gracious. And when presented with your culinary delights, you most certainly wont be disappointed, as the food at Madam Tojo's is inspiring, appetising, salivating and sublime. However the only trouble is time. Countless minutes can go by untill you are recognised as a mortal being defined in contrast from the backdrop of Betty boo and bolster wood replicas of the Red Barron's Fokker, the location of where you choose to sit and possibly how your are attired has a whimsical irony associated with the table service time frame. Speaking for myself I have waited up to 45 minutes to be asked if i was interested in ordering anything, ( I would have been happy to idolise the abstract decor for hours but indeed the purpose of my visit was to eat something). SO in a brief synopsis Yes Madam Tojos is a fantastic experience, Yes the Staff are friendly and multi cultural and the decor is a surreal and convoluted and uplifting, and the menu is most certainly disparate and poles apart from the norm. BUT the biggest disappointment and I don't know if this is part of the theme , is the actual wait time, which is unpredictable and disappointing and sadly very frustrating which is why i will never go back. SO So so so Sorry. love the place but I cant wait that long to be inspired . :((((

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheekybuggeryouhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madam Tojo's Coffee Palace also viewed

 
Labrador, Gold Coast
Southport, Gold Coast
 
Southport, Gold Coast
 

Been to Madam Tojo's Coffee Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing