We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better sushi than most”
Review of Heiroku Sushi - CLOSED

Heiroku Sushi
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
Description: Try the most Japanese authentic sushi on Gold Coast.
Restaurant details
Description: Try the most Japanese authentic sushi on Gold Coast.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The service here can be annoying as I have had to argue on more than one occasion to use the booth with a friend while the place has been dead lunch time mid week. We have always been happy to move if more people come but during the week they never seem to :/ forgetting that, this place has a lot more Japanese customers which is always a good sign. The Japanese music on play (as opposed to hip hop or jack Johnson in every sushi train I go to) also makes it feel like a proper Kaiten-zushi. The sushi bests all the other places on the coast I've eaten at so far!

Thank Kintamasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 21 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

This WAS the best sushi place in town! A few months ago the managers/propretors ( don't know which) changed and this place is on a downward slide.

Tonight, Wednesday at 7.15pm after the peak rush, we entered the restaurant to the obvious smell of burnt cooking oil. We waited to be seated without success, so one of the chef's directed us to the single seat area.

As regulars we were aware of the 3 x person rule for a booth but it was 7.15pm mid-week. AS we approached the single seat bar area, it was covered in dirty plates, glassses etc. We were then told to stand aside whilst some staff came out to clean up.

Not happy with this poor effort , we took a seat in the booth only to be EVICTED by the 3 x person rule. What was not acceptable, was 2 x adults + 1 x very, very, very small child seating happily in the adjioining booth.

My wife and I left the shop never to return - WHY ? not only being treated to Faulty Towers service, we had noted a deterioration in food quality during our past few visits.

Please read our previous review of the lovely Daiki Sushi Restaraunt just up the road.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GILLRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healthy_Choice4215, Owner at Heiroku Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for visiting our restaurant.
As you mentioned, we have a booth seat rule so we strongly suggest that customers who are less than three people in a group take their seats at the bar counter. It is because we have only five booth seats and we would like to give priority to family with little kids. However we will extend seating area to outside in a few months in order to solve this problem.
We are really sorry for your incovenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were visiting the Gold Coast and went here after reading some good reviews. Fresh, good range, friendly staff. Being a sushi train it is a fun and casual place to eat. Open early so great when you want an early dinner or even an afternoon snack. Very happy to make up individual dishes. Very nice ginger and delicious sauces. I gather the prawns were really good, my son ate them all while I was enjoying some salmon.
Most of the food is actually prepared in the middle of the tracks so you can see them at work which is nice.
Only think we didn't like was the squid which was rubbery (however 11 yo son still ate it with gusto). Will happily eat here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Loranell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healthy_Choice4215, Owner at Heiroku Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for visiting our restaurant.
You must enjoy our $2 salmon sushi and Abri(grilled) salmon. Some other sushi restaurants use frozen salmon, but our salmon is fresh, not frozen. We also have nice salmon miso soup which makes you warm.
We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

If you love sushi this is definitely the best place on the coast! The staff are friendly and very accommodating and the food is delicious I strongly suggest the teriyaki chicken and avocado rolls!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ali J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healthy_Choice4215, Owner at Heiroku Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for visiting our restaurant.
One of popular dishs is Teriyaki Chicken with Avocado Roll. We spend a few hours to simmer teriyaki chicken so it absorbs ingredients well. It has a good combination with Japanese mayonaise too.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Absolutely fresh great value excellent service The staff so friendly and the cleaniness f the place of high quality

Thank JosieG66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healthy_Choice4215, Owner at Heiroku Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for visiting our restaurant.
We are happy to receive your review. Please let us know you are the writer of this review and have a chat when you visit us next time.
We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heiroku Sushi also viewed

Labrador, Gold Coast
Labrador, Gold Coast
 
Labrador, Gold Coast
Labrador, Gold Coast
 
Labrador, Gold Coast
Labrador, Gold Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing