We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Shores Holiday Club
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Labrador
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Being in Labrador was perfect - close enough to all the attractions of the Gold Coast without being caught up in all the noise and chaos! Surprisingly busy and noisy road though.

We were due to arrive outside of office hours and very efficiently and effectively, they kindly arranged the collection of keys etc for us and we then "checked-in" the following morning.

Accommodation was basic but comfortable and reasonably clean. (Kind of like CentreParcs)

There is a pool, spa pool (mis-used every day by kids while we were there), games room, and bikes / kayaks to hire for free. It was a great shame that everything was shut so early (pool, bikes etc). No evening use at all - not even just for adults.

The internet was appalling. It was through "iROOM" who, I think, do a lot of internet provision for hotels etc. It was really poor and we learned that several other people had complained that week - so much so that we believe the resort is going to consider alternative arrangements. (The resort does have its own internet kiosk in the club lounge which is separate and coin operated). 40$ AUS
for the week.

There are plenty of leaflets and vouchers for nearby attractions.

Car parking is in a secure basement. Lots of stairs (no lifts) if you're on the top floor! Lovely views over the water from the private balconies (one from the lounge area, one from master bedroom) with chairs and tables - breakfast outside in the sun!

Laundry washing liquid sachets was provided which was a really nice touch (washing machine and dryer in the bathroom). Separate toilet - fantastic idea!!!!

Could have done with an extra set of drawers in the master bedroom.

Room Tip: Top floor for the views (if you don't mind the stairs!)
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caterham7owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Golden Shores Holiday Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Hi caterham7owner
Loved hearing that you enjoyed your stay with us at the resort. We are currently looking into the internet service as you mentioned and hope to have a solution in place soon. Can’t wait to have you come and stay again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Golden Shores Holiday Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 58 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed for 2 weeks during the school holidays and had a terrific time. Check in was a breeze and the staff were all helpful and polite even though they were hard at it across the Easter long weekend!
The BBQ area has been upgraded from these photos with a solid outdoor covering with shade cloth with enough seating for 4-5 families. This area overlooks the pool and spa area which we loved. Although the building to the north does block the sun from about 12.30pm in April, the shade does make swimming a little more comfortable for kids out of direct sun light. It arrives again from about 4-5pm.
The room was clean and tidy with a fully equipped kitchen including an oven, cook top, microwave and a holiday must, the dishwasher! The bathroom has a top loading washing machine and dryer and the balcony was a great spot to put our clothes line with things drying naturally in no time with the morning sun.
Bedrooms were more than adequate with ample cupboard space. We stayed at the rear of the complex and it was wonderfully quiet.
The bikes can be used free if charge and although our kids are only 6 and 4 the games room will keep older kids entertained with ping pong and pool tables.
The location is terrific with a park and the Broadwater across the road. The park has play equipment and numerous picnic tables and public bbqs. Cafés, restaurants and basic supplies are all within a 1km walk and the kids enjoyed evening strolls along the Broadwater path for about 800m to baskin robins for an evening ice cream!
Shopping centres are all within an easy 5 minute drive for more comprehensive groceries and between Runaway Bay, Australia Fair and Harbour Town you can get everything you need. Parking is underground and plentiful as well as being secure.
All in all, a terrific venue for families with children in primary school. Although there isn't a lift it wasn't an issue at all for us even though we were on the top floor. There is plenty to keep the kids amused, theme parks within easy reach, shopping just a short trip away and plenty of lounges by the pool. We'll see you all next April. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Golden Shores Holiday Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Hi Mike C

Thanks so much for the great review. We are really pleased to hear you had a great stay with us at the resort over the holidays. We look forward to having you come and stay with us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We've previously stayed at Sandy Point so this resort had something to live up to as we really liked that place.

Although overall this is a smaller resort and unit size a lttle smaller, can't quite put a finger on it but it just felt so good. The location is excellent - overlooking a park and can see Seaworld on the other side of Broadwater and not that far from other places.

The place was very clean and pretty well looked after (the odd mark/stain obviously caused by those who stayed in the past but not that bad).

If I were to pick one fault is there's no lift but it's no big deal as there's only 20 stairs to first floor, another 20 to top (2nd) floor.

We were so lucky to get a unit with two balconies both overlooking the park view (unit 6).
I am glad I didn't change to a ground floor unit (as had recent back surgery). Thank you to Donna for assistance with that and everything else. She is so nice to talk to! We also met Veronica on 7th October, she is usually at Sandy Point, also nice to talk to. We, unfortunately, "lost" a day and a half of our holiday which was a great shame as we would have loved the full week there (no fault of Golden Shores, blame Tiger Airways!).

Trust me, you will enjoy a stay there too.

Room Tip: Unit 6 (or the one above - don't know number) has excellent views
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank simplyjewelry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Golden Shores Holiday Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hi simplyjewelry,
We’re very grateful for your wonderful review and are pleased we were able to live up to your holiday expectations! We think we do have pretty fabulous views and a great location to boot! We’ll pass your positive feedback on to Donna and Veronica, I’m sure they’ll be happy to hear it. Look forward to seeing you for a full week next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have stayed here 3 times and love the location.
Donna on the front desk is the most beautiful, friendliest, helpful staff member.
Nothing is too much trouble.
A downside is having only 1 bathroom.
The laundry is also in the bathroom which is a bit of a pain.
The location is perfect - easy access to all the theme parks.
The pool and BBQ are great to relax.
Well equipped self contained units.
No lifts so ask for ground floor if stairs are difficult.
Undercover parking is a plus.
Straight across the road from the broad water.

Room Tip: No lifts so ask for ground floor if stairs are difficult.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweetlady1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Golden Shores Holiday Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Hi Sweetlady 1968,

We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday experience with us! Thanks so much for the great review and we will be sure to pass your comments onto Donna on the front desk. Looking forward to seeing you again really soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in 2 units, one on the top floor and one on the bottom. Both were clean, and a great size for our family. Pool was freezing - even on a 32C day. But the spa was awesome and we went in everyday!
Car parking was great and safe - locked under building ... Close to everything. No more than a 15 min drive to get anywhere we needed, casino, theme parks, restaurants, shopping.
Lovely stay , thank you.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank RollyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Golden Shores Holiday Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Hi RollyNZ,

You're quite welcome! We’re glad you had such a great time staying with us at Golden Shores. It sounds like you had a lovely holiday making the most of what our location has to offer. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at the Golden Shores for a week we found the rooms excellent and very well equipped, staff were very friendly and helpful, unfortunately all the restaurant were downs the other end of the street but as we had a rental car it wasn't a problem we would definitely recommend Kokonut Willies for a meal, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Golden Shores Holiday Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Hi Rita T,

We're very glad to hear that you had an excellent stay at our resort. We'd love to welcome you back on your next trip to the Gold Coast, please let us know if we can assist with your booking in any way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Golden Shores was a very welcoming resort to arrive at for our weeks holiday on the Gold Coast. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We were pleased we hired a car to get around as it was slightly further away from the shops etc when staying in a self contained unit. Buses did seem regular on the nearby Gold Coast highway though. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was very clean and plenty of space. However for a winter holiday (June) the sun left the front balcony at approx 9.30am so was very cold to come home to after being out and about most of the day. There was a heat pump but we were not meant to turn it up above 25 degrees C so it didn't warm the place up very well. Kitchen etc was well appointed with everything you need and the spa pool was nice at the end of a cool day. Bikes were available to use free of charge.

Room Tip: If travelling in winter, rooms closer to reception side get more sun.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BuzzyBees18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classic H, Manager at Golden Shores Holiday Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear BuzzyBees18,
Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts with us about Golden Shores Holiday Club. Great to hear that you had a car for a little more freedom but for those that don’t, the bus stop is only block away on the Highway where the buses run 24/7 all over the Gold Coast.
Buzzy we are happy to hear that you did enjoy your time with us and please let us know if we can help you with any further bookings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Labrador
0.6 mi away
Sandy Point Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
1.5 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,226 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Apartments
The Grand Apartments
#3 of 6 in Labrador
145 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Shores Holiday Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Shores Holiday Club

Address: 210 Marine Pde, Labrador, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Labrador
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Labrador
Price Range: $135 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Shores Holiday Club 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Overlooking the fabulous Broadwater" Golden Shores Holiday Club is located on the fabulous Broadwater. The resort itself consists of 16 spacious fully self contained two bedroom apartments and is only minutes from Surfers Paradise, cinemas, shopping centres, restaurants and Gold Coast Theme Parks. If you prefer to relax, you can soak in the sun by the pool or take a stroll through the Friday night beach markets in Surfers Paradise. For the more adventurous holiday makers, a Bungee Jump or hike through the Hinterland may be more your style. The dedicated resident managers will ensure that your holiday is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Golden Shores Holiday Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Shores Holiday Club Hotel Labrador
Golden Shores Holiday Club Labrador, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing